Health insurance: Health insurance card

The advantages of the health insurance card include greater efficiency in the insurer’s invoicing process and improved levels of quality and safety in medical treatment. In future, the card can be used as identification to access electronic patient records.

The health insurance card used as a billing instrument

Insurers issue the health insurance card at the beginning of the year.

The health insurance card displays visual data and contains data stored on a chip. Service providers can use this information for billing purposes. They can also use the health insurance card to access the insurance company’s online processing system to check whether administrative data is up-to-date. If need be, they can also obtain additional information, such as the term of validity of the card, the insured person’s address, other forms of insurance and supplementary insurance. This simplifies the billing process between the insurer and the service provider.

Storing medical data on the health insurance card

All insured persons can arrange for their doctor, dentist or chiropractor to store their personal or medical data on their health insurance card. This information can be useful during doctor’s visit and may even save lives in an emergency.

Using the health insurance card as identification to access electronic patient records

With the introduction of the new Federal Act of 19 June 2015 on the Electronic Patient Record (EPRO, SR 816.1), it will be possible to use the health insurance card as identification to process data in electronic patient records.

Further information

Stratégie Cybersanté Suisse 2.0

La Stratégie cybersanté Suisse 2.0 vise à introduire, le dossier électronique du patient à l'échelle nationale.

Last modification 17.09.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Health Insurance Benefits Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versichertenkarte.html

Krankenversicherung: Versichertenkarte

Mit der Versichertenkarte wird u.a. die Rechnungsstellung der Versicherer effizienter sowie die medizinische Qualität und Sicherheit der Versorgung verbessert. Künftig kann sie als Identifikationsmittel für das elektronische Patientendossier verwendet werden.

Die Versichertenkarte als Instrument der Abrechnung

Die Versicherer stellen jeweils zu Beginn des Jahres die Versichertenkarte aus.

Die Versichertenkarte enthält Sichtdaten und auf einem Chip gespeicherte Daten. Die Leistungserbringer können diese Informationen für die Abrechnung übernehmen. Zudem ermöglicht die Versichertenkarte den Leistungserbringer, im Online-Verfahren beim Krankenversicherer zu prüfen, ob die administrativen Daten aktuell sind. Allenfalls können sie zusätzliche Angaben wie z.B. Gültigkeit der Karte, Zustelladresse des Versicherten, andere Versicherungsformen sowie Zusatzversicherungen beziehen. Die Abrechnungsprozesse zwischen Versicherer und Leistungserbringer werden so vereinfacht.  

Abspeicherung medizinischer Daten auf der Versichertenkarte

Es besteht für alle Versicherten die Möglichkeit, bei einem Arzt, Zahnarzt oder Chiropraktoren persönliche und medizinische Daten auf der Versichertenkarte speichern zu lassen, die bei einem Arztbesuch nützlich sein und im Notfall sogar Leben retten können.

Die Versichertenkarte als Identifikationsmittel für das elektronische Patientendossier

Mit der Einführung des neuen Bundesgesetzes vom 19. Juni 2015 über das elektronische Patientendossier (EPDG, SR 816.1) wird es neu möglich sein, die Versichertenkarte als Identifikationsmittel für die Bearbeitung von Daten im elektronischen Patientendossier zu verwenden.

Weiterführende Themen

Strategie eHealth Schweiz 2.0

Die Strategie eHealth Schweiz 2.0 bezweckt das elektronische Patientendossier auf nationaler Ebene einzuführen.

Letzte Änderung 17.09.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Abteilung Leistungen Krankenversicherung
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versichertenkarte.html