Health insurance: Tourists in Switzerland

Tourists from an EU/EFTA member state are entitled to receive medical treatment during temporary visits to Switzerland (for holidays or business trips). Nationals of other countries must have sufficient insurance to cover the cost of any possible healthcare needs.

Tourists from the EU/EFTA

A blue identity card

Persons with statutory health insurance cover from an EU/EFTA member state are entitled to treatment in the event of illness, non-professional accidents and maternity during temporary visits to Switzerland (for holidays or business trips). On presentation of their European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) they are entitled to the medical care appropriate to their condition and the projected duration of their stay in Switzerland. This means that patients must not be required to shorten their visit to Switzerland in order to return home for treatment. Persons who do not have their EHIC with them may request that their health insurer send them a temporary certificate.
For more information, see links below to the Common Institution under the KVG.

Tourists from other countries

Tourists from other countries must ensure they have sufficient health-insurance cover. Additional travel insurance covering medical treatment in Switzerland is recommended.

Persons needing a Schengen visa to visit Switzerland are required to take out medical insurance cover of at least CHF 30,000. Further information on this can be found on the State Secretariat for Migration website, “Short-term stay: entry requirements for Switzerland”.

Entering with the intention of settling in Switzerland

Persons entering Switzerland with the intention of taking up residence (e.g. due to marriage) are subject to compulsory health insurance from the date of their arrival, not their registration with the Residents' Registration Office or the issue of their residence permit (see Federal Supreme Court ruling of 12 January 1999 ATF125 V 76). They must obtain insurance from an approved Swiss health insurer within 3 months after arriving in Switzerland - in which case it will apply retroactively from the date of their arrival. If they fail to do so, they may be automatically enrolled with a health insurance fund – with a premium surcharge for belated admission in the absence of an excuse for the delay – and are required to pay the costs of any medical treatment received prior to the date of admission themselves.

Medical tourism

Persons staying in Switzerland for the sole purpose of receiving medical treatment or to undergo a cure are not permitted to take out cover with a Swiss health insurer.

Further information

Cost participation

Policyholders must participate in the costs of the treatment they receive in Switzerland.

Tourists abroad and globetrotters

Persons travelling abroad remain subject to insurance obligations in Switzerland.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/touristinnen-ch.html

Krankenversicherung: Touristinnen und Touristen in der Schweiz

Touristinnen und Touristen aus EU-/EFTA-Staaten dürfen sich während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthalts in der Schweiz (Ferien, Geschäftsreisen) behandeln lassen. Angehörige anderer Staaten müssen für eine Behandlung in der Schweiz ausreichend versichert sein.

Touristinnen und Touristen aus der EU/EFTA

Eine abstrakte, blaue Karte

Personen, die in einem EU- oder EFTA-Staat einem gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungssystem angehören, dürfen sich während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthaltes in der Schweiz (Ferien, Geschäftsreisen) bei Krankheit, Nichtberufsunfall oder Mutterschaft behandeln lassen.
Mit der Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte (EKVK) haben sie Anspruch auf medizinische Versorgung, die sich unter Berücksichtigung der Art der Behandlung und der voraussichtlichen Aufenthaltsdauer als medizinisch notwendig erweist. Das bedeutet, dass die erkrankte Person ihre Reise in die Schweiz nicht abbrechen muss, um sich in ihrem Wohnsitzstaat behandeln zu lassen. Personen, die ihre EKVK nicht bei sich haben, können ihre Krankenversicherung bitten, ihnen eine provisorische Ersatzbescheinigung mit befristeter Gültigkeit zuzustellen.
Für weitere Informationen siehe die untenstehenden Links der Gemeinsamen Einrichtung KVG.

Touristinnen und Touristen aus anderen Ländern

Touristinnen und Touristen aus anderen Ländern (ausserhalb der EU/EFTA) müssen für eine ausreichende Versicherung sorgen. Es wird empfohlen, eine Reiseversicherung abzuschliessen, welche die Kosten von medizinisch notwendigen Leistungen in der Schweiz übernimmt.

Personen, die für die Einreise in die Schweiz ein Visum für den Schengen-Raum benötigen, müssen eine private Krankenversicherung mit einer Mindestdeckung von CHF 30‘000 abschliessen. Für weitere Informationen siehe die Internetsite des Staatssekretariats für Migration «Kurzfristiger Aufenthalt: Einreisevoraussetzungen in die Schweiz».

Einreise in die Schweiz mit dem Ziel der Niederlassung

Reist eine Person mit der Absicht in die Schweiz, ihren Wohnsitz hierher zu verlegen (z. B. Heirat), beginnt die Versicherungspflicht am Tag der Einreise in die Schweiz und nicht zum Zeitpunkt der Anmeldung bei der Einwohnerkontrolle oder der Ausstellung der Aufenthaltsbewilligung (Rechtsprechung des Bundesgerichtes vom 12.01.1999: BGE 125 V 76). Die Person muss sich innert drei Monaten nach der Einreise bei einer in der Schweiz zugelassenen Krankenkasse versichern lassen. Wird diese Frist eingehalten, so gilt der Versicherungsschutz rückwirkend ab dem Zeitpunkt der Einreise. Wird diese Frist nicht eingehalten, so kann die Person – bei nicht entschuldbarer Verspätung mit einem Prämienzuschlag für verspäteten Beitritt – von Amtes wegen einer Krankenkasse zugewiesen werden und hat für die medizinische Behandlung vor dem Beitrittsdatum selber aufzukommen.

Medizintourismus

Personen, die sich ausschliesslich zur ärztlichen Behandlung oder zur Kur in der Schweiz aufhalten, sind nicht berechtigt, sich bei einer schweizerischen Krankenkasse versichern zu lassen.  

Weiterführende Themen

Krankenversicherung: Kostenbeteiligung für im Ausland wohnhafte Versicherte

Die Versicherten müssen sich an den Kosten ihrer medizinischen Behandlungen in der Schweiz beteiligen.

Krankenversicherung: Touristen/-innen im Ausland und Weltreisende

Personen, die im Ausland reisen, bleiben der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz unterstellt.

Letzte Änderung 27.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Rechtliche Aufsicht KV
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/touristinnen-ch.html