Health insurance: Foreign students in Switzerland

Foreign students can apply for exemption from Swiss compulsory health insurance, provided that they have a policy offering equivalent cover. The exemption rules for students from EU/EFTA countries are different from those for other countries. 

Students from EU/EFTA countries

Under the Swiss-EU Agreement on the free movement of persons and the EFTA Convention, students from an EU/EFTA country undergoing education or training in Switzerland are not required to take out Swiss health insurance, provided that they are not working and thus remain insured under the social security system of their country of residence. They are entitled to receive medical treatment in Switzerland upon presentation of the European Health Insurance Card (EHIC). However, if they start working, they are required to take out Swiss health insurance (place-of-work principle).

Students and trainees from other countries

Students and trainees from non-EU/EFTA countries undergoing education or training in Switzerland can apply for exemption from Swiss compulsory health insurance, provided that they have private insurance offering cover equivalent to that of a Swiss health insurer. They can be exempted for a period of three years; this can be extended for another three years. Thereafter, they are required to take out health insurance in Switzerland.

Students taking out Swiss health insurance

Students who are subject to compulsory health insurance must obtain cover from an authorised Swiss health insurer. They are then subject to the same rules as persons resident in Switzerland (see below: compulsory health insurance, premiums, co-payment, premium subsidies).

Further information

Mandatory insurance requirement

Anyone settling in Switzerland must obtain insurance within three months after taking up residence.

Premium reductions

People on low incomes are entitled to health insurance premium subsidies.

Premiums and contributions to costs

Insurers set the premiums paid by policyholders.
Services are subject to co-payment by policyholders.

Last modification 20.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/auslaendische-studierende-ch.html

Krankenversicherung: Ausländische Studierende in der Schweiz

Ausländische Studierende können die Befreiung von der Versicherungspflicht beantragen, sofern sie über eine gleichwertige Versicherungsdeckung verfügen. Die Voraussetzungen für die Befreiung sind je nach Herkunftsland (EU/EFTA oder andere) unterschiedlich.

Studierende aus der EU/EFTA

Gemäss dem Freizügigkeitsabkommen mit der EU und dem EFTA-Übereinkommen unterstehen Studierende aus einem EU-/EFTA-Staat, die sich zu Aus- oder Weiterbildungszwecken in der Schweiz aufhalten, nicht der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz, solange sie in der Schweiz keine Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben und somit dem Sozialversicherungssystem ihres Wohnstaates angeschlossen bleiben. Gegen Vorweisung ihrer Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte (EKVK) können sie sich in der Schweiz behandeln lassen. Wenn sie jedoch eine Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben, müssen sie sich in der Schweiz versichern (Erwerbsortsprinzip).

Studierende und Praktikanten/-innen aus anderen Ländern

Studierende sowie Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten aus einem Land ausserhalb der EU/EFTA, die sich zu Aus- oder Weiterbildungszwecken in der Schweiz aufhalten, können die Befreiung von der Versicherungspflicht beantragen, sofern sie über eine private Versicherung verfügen, deren Deckung derjenigen einer Schweizer Krankenkasse entspricht. Sie können für die Dauer von drei Jahren befreit werden, wobei eine Verlängerung um weitere drei Jahre beantragt werden kann. Nach Ablauf dieser Frist sind sie zum Abschluss einer Versicherung in der Schweiz verpflichtet.

Studierende, die sich in der Schweiz versichern

Studierende, die der obligatorischen Krankenversicherung unterstehen, müssen sich bei einer in der Schweiz zugelassenen Krankenkasse versichern. Für sie gelten dann dieselben Regeln wie für Personen mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz (siehe unten: Versicherungspflicht, Prämien und Kostenbeteiligung, Prämienverbilligung).

Letzte Änderung 04.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Rechtliche Aufsicht KV
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/auslaendische-studierende-ch.html