Health insurance: Insurance obligation for persons domiciled abroad

In principle, persons leaving Switzerland to live abroad are no longer subject to the compulsory health insurance requirement. People in certain categories must however maintain their Swiss health cover, while others have the option of doing so by means of a private contract.

Leaving Switzerland to live abroad

When a person takes up domicile abroad, their obligation to maintain Swiss compulsory health insurance ends when they leave Switzerland. Exceptions apply for certain groups of people (pensioners, cross-border commuters, posted workers, etc.) by virtue of the bilateral agreements between Switzerland and the EU, the EFTA Convention and other international social-security agreements.

Voluntary health insurance

When a person previously covered under a compulsory healthcare policy leaves Switzerland to live in a non-EU/EFTA country, his or her insurers can continue to provide cover under a private contract governed by Swiss insurance law. In practice, only a few insurers offer this option to their policyholders.

EU member states

Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Croatia*, Latvia, Lituania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary, Cyprus.

* The AFMP has been extended to Croatia on 1 January 2017. The Regulations (CE) No 883/2004 and 987/2009 are therefore applicable to the relations between Switzerland and Croatia.

Members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland

Last modification 13.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht.html

Krankenversicherung: Versicherungspflicht für im Ausland wohnhafte Versicherte

Ins Ausland umziehende Personen unterstehen nicht mehr der obligatorischen Krankenversicherung. Jedoch müssen bestimmte Personenkategorien in der Schweiz versichert bleiben, und andere können ihren Versicherungsschutz auf vertraglicher Basis fortsetzen.

Wegzug ins Ausland

Bei der Wohnsitzverlegung ins Ausland endet die obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung grundsätzlich zum Zeitpunkt der Abreise aus der Schweiz. Aufgrund des Freizügigkeitsabkommens mit der EU, des EFTA-Übereinkommens und anderer internationaler Sozialversicherungsabkommen gibt es jedoch Ausnahmen für gewisse Personengruppen (z.B. Rentnerinnen und Rentner, Grenzgängerinnen und Grenzgänger, entsandte Arbeitnehmende).

Freiwillige Krankenversicherung

Beim Wegzug ins Ausland (ausserhalb der EU-/EFTA-Staaten) können die Versicherer Personen, die der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung unterstellt waren, auf vertraglicher Basis eine Fortdauer des Versicherungsschutzes anbieten. Es handelt sich dabei um einen privatrechtlichen Vertrag nach dem Bundesgesetz über den Versicherungsvertrag.

Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union

Belgien, Bulgarien, Dänemark, Deutschland, Estland, Finnland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Irland, Italien, Kroatien*, Lettland, Litauen, Luxemburg, Malta, Niederlande, Österreich, Polen, Portugal, Rumänien, Schweden, Slowakei, Slowenien, Spanien, Tschechische Republik, Ungarn, Vereinigtes Königreich, Zypern.

* Das FZA wurde am 1. Januar 2017 auf Kroatien ausgedehnt. Ab diesem Datum sind die Verordnungen (EG) Nr. 883/2004 und Nr. 987/2009 deshalb in den Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und Kroatien anwendbar.

Mitgliedstaaten des Europäischen Freihandelsabkommens (EFTA)

Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen, Schweiz

Letzte Änderung 13.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Rechtliche Aufsicht KV
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht.html