Health insurance: Co-payment for persons insured in Switzerland

Persons insured in Switzerland and resident abroad can be treated either in Switzerland or in their country of residence. The co-payment regulations vary depending on the country where treatment is received. 

Treatment in Switzerland

Co-payment is subject to the provisions of Swiss law. Further information can be found under “Cost participation for persons insured in Switzerland”.

Treatment in the country of residence

Using the S1 form (previously E106, E109, E121) provided by the insurer, policyholders and/or family members can register to obtain benefits in kind from the healthcare institution of their country of residence, which will be reimbursed by the Swiss health insurer. Co-payment is subject to the legal provisions of the country of residence.

Treatment in another EU/EFTA country

With the European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) issued by the health insurer, policyholders, in the event of illness, accident or maternity during their stay, are entitled to receive all benefits in kind considered medically necessary given the type of treatment and expected length of their stay. Co-payment is subject to the regulations of the country where treatment is received and is generally payable directly. Co-payment in Switzerland is then not applicable. Nor is co-payment in an EU/EFTA country taken into account for the Swiss deductible or retention fee. For more information, see “Stay in EU/EFTA” (available in French/German/Italian) on the website of the Common Institution under the KVG (Swiss liaison body).

Treatment in a non-EU/EFTA country

During a temporary stay in a country outside the EU/EFTA, the costs of emergency treatment for illness or accident (in cases where a return to Switzerland is not possible for medical reasons) will be reimbursed up to a maximum of twice the amount that the insurer would have paid if the treatment had been provided in Switzerland. In the case of inpatient treatment, however, this means that the insurer will reimburse no more than 90% of the costs that would have arisen for hospitalisation in Switzerland. Co-payment is based on the Swiss regulations. Further information on this topic can be found under “Cost participation for persons insured in Switzerland”.
Other medical treatments abroad are not generally covered by compulsory health insurance.

Private supplementary insurance

Medical costs in certain countries outside the EU/EFTA (e.g. the US, Canada and Japan) are very high, while co-payment rates in certain EU/EFTA countries (e.g. France) are higher than in Switzerland. It is therefore advisable to take out travel insurance to cover possible co-payment and medical treatment expenses exceeding the amount reimbursed by compulsory health insurance.

Further information

Health insurance: Co-payment for persons resident in Switzerland

Services are generally subject to co-payment by policyholders.

Treatment abroad for policyholders resident abroad

Persons insured in Switzerland and resident abroad are entitled to be treated in the country where they are staying or residing, or in Switzerland.

Health insurance: EU/EFTA premiums and premium subsidies

Persons insured in Switzerland pay the EU/EFTA premiums applicable for their country of residence. Those on low incomes are entitled to premium subsidies.

Last modification 09.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/kostenbeteiligung/kostenbeteiligung-versicherte-ch.html

Krankenversicherung: Kostenbeteiligung der in der Schweiz versicherten Personen

In der Schweiz versicherte Personen mit Wohnsitz im Ausland können sich in der Schweiz und in ihrem Wohnsitzland behandeln lassen. Je nach Land, in dem die Behandlung erfolgt, sind die Regeln für die Kostenbeteiligung unterschiedlich.

Behandlungen in der Schweiz

Für die Kostenbeteiligung gelten die Grundsätze des schweizerischen Rechts. Mehr Informationen zu diesem Thema finden Sie auf unserer Internetseite zur Kostenbeteiligung der Versicherten mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz.

Behandlungen im Wohnsitzstaat

Mit dem vom Versicherer zugestellten Formular S1 (früheres Formular E106 / E109 / E121) können sich die versicherte Person und/oder ihre Angehörigen beim Krankenversicherungsträger ihres Wohnsitzes anmelden, um Sachleistungen der Krankenversicherung auf Rechnung der schweizerischen Krankenkasse beziehen zu können. Für die Kostenbeteiligung gelten die rechtlichen Bestimmungen des Wohnsitzstaates.

Behandlungen in einem anderen EU-/EFTA-Staat

Mit der von der Krankenkasse ausgestellten Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte (EKVK) hat die versicherte Person während ihres Aufenthaltes im Krankheitsfall, bei Unfall oder bei Mutterschaft Anspruch auf alle Sachleistungen, die sich unter Berücksichtigung der Art der Behandlung und der voraussichtlichen Aufenthaltsdauer als medizinisch notwendig erweisen. Die Kostenbeteiligung richtet sich nach den Vorschriften des Landes, in dem die Behandlung erfolgt, und muss in der Regel vor Ort bezahlt werden. Dafür entfällt die Kostenbeteiligung in der Schweiz. Die in einem EU-/EFTA-Staat bezahlte Kostenbeteiligung wird auch nicht auf die Franchise und den Selbstbehalt in der Schweiz angerechnet. Für weitere Informationen siehe die Internetsite der schweizerischen Verbindungsstelle, der Gemeinsamen Einrichtung KVG: «Kostenbeteiligung bei Behandlungen während eines Aufenthalts in der EU/EFTA».

Behandlungen im Ausland (in einem Staat ausserhalb der EU/EFTA)

Während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthalts im Ausland (ausserhalb der EU/EFTA) werden bei einer Notfallbehandlung (Erkrankungen oder Unfälle, die eine Rückkehr in die Schweiz aus medizinischen Gründen nicht erlauben) die Kosten bis maximal zum doppelten Betrag, den die gleiche Behandlung in der Schweiz gekostet hätte, vergütet. Die Kostenbeteiligung ist durch das Schweizer Recht geregelt. Mehr Informationen zu diesem Thema finden Sie auf unserer Internetseite zur Kostenbeteiligung von Versicherten mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz.
Andere medizinische Leistungen im Ausland sind grundsätzlich nicht durch die Grundversicherung gedeckt.

Private Zusatzversicherung

In gewissen Ländern ausserhalb der EU/EFTA (z. B. USA, Kanada, Japan) sind die Gesundheitskosten sehr hoch, während in gewissen EU-/EFTA-Staaten (z. B. Frankreich) die Kostenbeteiligung höher ist als in der Schweiz. Es wird deshalb empfohlen, eine Reiseversicherung abzuschliessen, um allfällige Kostenbeteiligungen und medizinische Behandlungen im Ausland, die den durch die Grundversicherung übernommenen Betrag übersteigen, abzudecken.

Weiterführende Themen

Krankenversicherung: Kostenbeteiligung für in der Schweiz wohnhafte Versicherte

Die Versicherten sind grundsätzlich verpflichtet, sich an den Kosten der von ihnen bezogenen Leistungen zu beteiligen.

Leistungen im Ausland für Versicherte mit Wohnsitz im Ausland

In der Schweiz versicherte Personen, die im Ausland leben, haben das Recht, sich in ihrem Aufenthalts- oder Wohnsitzland sowie in der Schweiz behandeln zu lassen.

Krankenversicherung: Prämien und Prämienverbilligung EU/EFTA

Die in der Schweiz versicherten Personen bezahlen die EU-/EFTA-Prämien, die für ihren Wohnsitzstaat gelten. Versicherte, die in bescheidenen wirtschaftlichen Verhältnissen leben, haben Anrecht auf Prämienverbilligung.

Letzte Änderung 05.02.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Rechtliche Aufsicht KV
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/kostenbeteiligung/kostenbeteiligung-versicherte-ch.html