Health insurance: Risk equalization

Risk equalization evens out the financial risk between health insurance providers with different risk structures. It currently takes the following indicators into account: “age”, “sex”, “stays in hospital or nursing home during the previous year” and “cost of pharmaceuticals dispensed in the previous year”.

Compulsory health insurance is financed through uniform premiums. This means that each insured person – irrespective of their age, sex or any other indicator of their state of health – pays the same premium to the same health insurance provider in the same canton, or the same premium region, for the same insurance model. This uniform premium does not, however, correspond to the effective risk of an insured person becoming ill and incurring costs for the compulsory health insurance.

Risk equalization was introduced in order to counter the incentive for health insurers to insure only healthy persons as far as possible, i.e. to engage in risk selection. It provides financial equalization to offset the insurers' different risk structures. Insurers who insure only a small number of high risks (i.e. persons with a high risk of falling ill) pay levies into the risk equalization scheme. Insurers who insure a large number of high risks receive contributions from the risk equalization scheme.

Calculation of risk equalization

The Gemeinsame Einrichtung KVG performs the risk equalization. The risk equalization is calculated on a cantonal basis and takes the following indicators into account: “age”, “sex”, “stays in hospital or nursing home the previous year” and “cost of pharmaceuticals dispensed in the previous year”.

The insured persons are divided into risk groups for the calculation based on these indicators. The average costs are established for each risk group (group average). These are then compared with the overall average costs. For insured persons in risk groups with a group average that is below the overall average, the insurers pay a levy equivalent to the difference. For insured persons in risk groups with a group average that is higher than the overall average, the insurers receive a contribution equivalent to the difference. 

The total levies paid into the risk equalization scheme correspond to the total contributions paid out of it (zero-sum situation).

The prospective nature of the risk equalization scheme means that it effectively evens out the risks and not the cost differences.

Relief for young adults in the risk equalization scheme

On 17 March 2017, parliament amended the Swiss Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG/LAMal) on the basis of two parliamentary initiatives, 10.407, “Waiver of premiums for children”, and 13.477, “KVG/LAMal. Change in premium categories for children, young people and young adults”. Up to that point young adults (aged 19 to 25) had been treated as adults for the purposes of risk equalization. Now the risk equalization scheme grants insurers relief for young adults, with their payments into the risk equalization scheme reduced by 50 per cent. This enables insurers to offer young adults lower premiums than would be possible without this relief. The relief is funded equally via an increase in the levies paid into the risk equalization scheme and a reduction in the contributions paid out of it for insureds aged 26 and over. The formula for calculating risk equalization in the ordinance governing the risk equalization scheme (VORA/OCoR) has been ad-justed accordingly.
The Federal Council passed this amendment on 11 April 2018, and thus also put the above-mentioned change in the law relating to premiums for young adults into force. The changes enter into force on 1 January 2019.  

Reduction in risk selection incentives for insurers as part of the Health2020 strategy

Reducing risk selection incentives for the insurers constitutes part of the equal opportunities field of action in the Health2020 strategy. With the further refinement of the risk equalization scheme, the incentive to engage in risk selection is to be reduced still further. In this way, competition between the insurers is to be located at the point where the legislator originally intended it to be, namely in the:       

  • quality of the insurance offerings,
  • services,
  • cost control.

Refinement of risk equalization

The FOPH has commissioned various studies over the past few years with a view to further refining the risk equalization scheme.

In its 2011 report compiled in response to Postulate 07.3769 “Inclusion of a further morbidity factor in risk equalization”, the Federal Council states that, over the medium term, the risk equalization scheme is to be refined through “pharmaceutical cost groups” (PCG). In view of the long preparatory period, a transitional solution is also proposed.

Since then, a start has been made on refining the risk equalization scheme: the “cost of pharmaceuticals dispensed in the previous year” is included in the risk equalization as an additional indicator in 2017 already. In this way, expensive insured persons who receive outpatient treatment, in particular, can be better captured and their insurers better compensated. In 2020 this indicator will be replaced by indicators based on PCG. These indicators have advantages over the transitional solution, especially from the incentive point of view. 

Last modification 04.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Premiums and Solvency Oversight Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherer-aufsicht/risikoausgleich.html

Krankenversicherung: Risikoausgleich

Der Risikoausgleich schafft einen finanziellen Ausgleich zwischen Krankenversicherern mit unterschiedlicher Risikostruktur. Aktuell berücksichtigt er die Indikatoren «Alter», «Geschlecht», «Aufenthalt in einem Spital oder Pflegeheim im Vorjahr» und «Arzneimittelkosten im Vorjahr».

Die obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) wird mittels Einheitsprämien finanziert. Das heisst, dass jede versicherte Person unabhängig von ihrem Alter, ihrem Geschlecht oder einem anderen Indikator für den Gesundheitszustand beim gleichen Krankenversicherer im gleichen Kanton respektive der gleichen Prämienregion für das gleiche Versicherungsmodell dieselbe Prämie bezahlt. Diese Einheitsprämie entspricht jedoch nicht dem effektiven Risiko einer versicherten Person, zu erkranken und Kosten zulasten der OKP zu verursachen.

Der Risikoausgleich wurde geschaffen, um dem für die Krankenversicherer bestehenden Anreiz, möglichst gesunde Personen zu versichern, das heisst, Risikoselektion zu betreiben, entgegenzuwirken. Er sorgt für einen finanziellen Ausgleich zwischen Versicherern mit unterschiedlicher Risikostruktur: Versicherer, die wenig hohe Risiken (das heisst Personen mit hohem Erkrankungsrisiko) versichern, bezahlen Abgaben in den Risikoausgleich. Versicherer, die viele hohe Risiken versichern, erhalten Beiträge aus dem Risikoausgleich.

Berechnung des Risikoausgleichs

Die Gemeinsame Einrichtung KVG führt den Risikoausgleich durch. Die Berechnung des Risikoausgleichs erfolgt kantonal und berücksichtigt die Indikatoren «Alter», «Geschlecht», «Aufenthalt in einem Spital oder Pflegeheim im Vorjahr» und «Arzneimittelkosten im Vorjahr».

Die Versicherten werden für die Berechnung aufgrund dieser Indikatoren in Risikogruppen eingeteilt. Pro Risikogruppe werden die Durchschnittskosten ermittelt (Gruppendurchschnitt). Diese werden mit den Gesamtdurchschnittskosten verglichen. Für Versicherte in Risikogruppen mit einem Gruppendurchschnitt, der unter dem Gesamtdurchschnitt liegt, leisten die Versicherer eine Abgabe in der Höhe der Differenz. Für Versicherte in Risikogruppen mit einem Gruppendurchschnitt, der über dem Gesamtdurchschnitt liegt, erhalten die Versicherer einen Beitrag in der Höhe der Differenz.

Die Summe der Abgaben in den Risikoausgleich entspricht der Summe der Beiträge aus dem Risikoausgleich (Nullsummenspiel).

Aufgrund der prospektiven Ausgestaltung werden beim Risikoausgleich effektiv Risiken und nicht Kostenunterschiede ausgeglichen.

Entlastung der jungen Erwachsenen im Risikoausgleich

Am 17. März 2017 hat das Parlament aufgrund der parlamentarischen Initiativen 10.407 «Prämienbefreiung für Kinder» und 13.477 «KVG. Änderung der Prämienkategorien für Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene» das KVG geändert. Bisher wurden die jungen Erwachsenen (19-25 Jahre) im Risikoausgleich wie die Erwachsenen berücksichtigt. Neu werden die Versicherer im Risikoausgleich für die jungen Erwachsenen entlastet. Deren Zahlungen in den Risikoausgleich werden um 50 Prozent reduziert. Dies ermöglicht den Versicherern, den jungen Erwachsenen günstigere Prämien anzubieten, als es ihnen ohne diese Entlastung möglich gewesen wäre. Die Entlastung wird gleichmässig über eine Erhöhung der Risikoabgaben und über eine Senkung der Ausgleichsbeiträge für die Versicherten, die 26 Jahre und älter sind, finanziert. In der Verordnung über den Risikoausgleich (VORA) wird die Berechnungsformel für den Risikoausgleich entsprechend angepasst.Der Bundesrat hat diese Änderung am 11. April 2018 verabschiedet und damit auch die erwähnte Gesetzesänderung betreffend Prämien der jungen Erwachsenen in Kraft gesetzt. Die Änderungen treten am 1. Januar 2019 in Kraft.

Reduktion der Risikoselektionsanreize der Versicherer als Teil der Strategie Gesundheit2020

Die Reduktion der Risikoselektionsanreize der Versicherer ist Teil des Handlungsfeldes Chancengleichheit in der Strategie Gesundheit2020. Mit der weiteren Verfeinerung des Risikoausgleichs soll der Anreiz zur Risikoselektion weiter vermindert werden. Damit soll erreicht werden, dass der Wettbewerb zwischen den Krankenversicherern dort spielt, wo er vom Gesetzgeber ursprünglich gewollt war, nämlich bei:

  • der Qualität der Versicherungsangebote,
  • den Dienstleistungen,
  • der Kostenkontrolle.

Verfeinerung des Risikoausgleichs

Zur weiteren Verfeinerung des Risikoausgleichs hat das BAG in den letzten Jahren verschiedene Studien in Auftrag gegeben.

Der Bundesrat zeigt in seinem Bericht in Erfüllung des Postulates 07.3769 «Einbezug eines weiteren Morbiditätsfaktors in den Risikoausgleich» aus dem Jahr 2011 auf, dass der Risikoausgleich mittelfristig mit pharmazeutischen Kostengruppen (PCG) verfeinert werden soll. Wegen der langen Vorbereitungszeit wird zudem eine Übergangslösung vorgeschlagen.

Seither wurde die Verfeinerung des Risikoausgleichs angegangen: Bereits seit 2017 werden die «Arzneimittelkosten» als zusätzlicher Indikator im Risikoausgleich berücksichtigt. Vor allem ambulant behandelte, teure Versicherte werden so besser erfasst und deren Versicherer besser entschädigt. Ab 2020 wird dieser Indikator abgelöst durch Indikatoren, die auf PCG beruhen. Diese Indikatoren bringen insbesondere aus Anreizsicht Vorteile gegenüber der Übergangslösung.

Letzte Änderung 04.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Prämien und Solvenzaufsicht
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherer-aufsicht/risikoausgleich.html