Hospital treatment

People with health insurance basically have a free choice of hospital for inpatient hospital treatment. The cantons and health insurers cover the costs of hospital treatment. Insureds have to pay a share of the costs of hospital treatment themselves.

The following information also applies analogously to birth centres.

What hospital can I go to for treatment?

Choice of hospitals 

The cantons are obliged to do hospital planning to cover their residents' inpatient treatment requirements. On the basis of this planning, the cantons draw up lists of hospitals necessary to assure the scheduled provision of treatment. A canton's list of hospitals can contain hospitals both in the canton itself and in other cantons.

Insureds have a free choice of the following hospitals:

  • Hospitals on the list of the canton in which the insured person lives (listed hospital in canton of residence)
  • Hospitals on the list of another canton (listed hospital in another canton)
  • Hospitals that are not on any cantonal list but have a contract for the reimbursement of mandatory basic health insurance benefits (contractual hospital).

Information on individual hospitals

The FOPH provides information on Swiss hospitals (primarily key figures and quality indicators) to help patients choose their hospital.

What will I pay for hospital treatment?

Cost share paid by the insured person

People with health insurance must pay a share of the costs of the care and services they receive. In the case of inpatient hospital treatment, this cost share comprises the insured person's chosen deductible, the general copayment, and a contribution for each day they are in hospital. The insured person will be billed the corresponding cost share by their health insurer.

The insured's health insurer and canton of residence each pay a fixed percentage of the costs of inpatient hospital treatment (including hospital accommodation and nursing care). The canton of residence pays a minimum of 55 per cent, and the health insurer a maximum of 45 per cent. The hospital usually issues two bills for the inpatient treatment provided: one to the canton (for at least 55 per cent of the total amount), and one to the health insurer (for up to 45 per cent of the total). The insured person receives a copy of the bill sent to and paid by the health insurer (under the so-called third-party payer or tiers payant system).

Additional costs paid by the insured person

Depending on the treatment and chosen hospital, insureds may have to pay additional costs themselves or have them paid by their supplementary insurance.

No additional costs are paid in the following cases:

  • The insured has treatment in an appropriate hospital on the list of their canton of residence.
  • The insured has treatment at a hospital that is not on their home canton's list on medical grounds because there are no hospitals on their home canton's list able to provide the required care. However, in such cases a commitment to provide cover must be sought in advance.
  • The insured has treatment in an emergency at a hospital not on their home canton's list.

Additional costs are most likely to be incurred if the insured chooses a listed hospital that is not on their home canton's list or a contractual hospital, and if neither of the medical grounds described applies (i.e. it is not an emergency or a situation where the treatment cannot be provided by any listed hospital in the home canton).

If the insured chooses a listed hospital in another canton, the rule is that their health insurer and canton of residence share the costs of inpatient treatment up to an amount not exceeding the tariff applicable to a listed hospital in the home canton. If the tariff of the chosen listed hospital in another canton is higher than the tariff for a listed hospital in the canton of residence (c.f. the reference tariffs for hospitalisation outside the canton of residence), the insured must pay the difference themselves or have it paid by their supplementary insurance.

The canton does not pay a share of the costs if the insured chooses a contractual hospital. In this case the health insurer covers up to 45 per cent of the costs of hospital treatment. The remainder must be covered by the insured person or their supplementary insurance.

Last modification 11.03.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Tariffs and Principles Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Spitalbehandlung.html

Krankenversicherung: Spitalbehandlung

Für die stationäre Spitalbehandlung können die Versicherten ihr Spital grundsätzlich frei wählen. Die Kantone und die Krankenversicherer übernehmen die Vergütung der Spitalbehandlung. Die Versicherten haben einen Betrag an die Kosten ihrer Spitalbehandlung beizusteuern.

Die folgenden Ausführungen gelten sinngemäss auch für Geburtshäuser.

In welchem Spital kann ich mich behandeln lassen?

Auswahl an Spitälern  

Zur Deckung des Bedarfs an stationären Spitalbehandlungen ihrer Wohnbevölkerung sind die Kantone verpflichtet, eine Spitalplanung durchzuführen. Hierzu führen die Kantone auf ihrer Spitalliste diejenigen Einrichtungen (sog. Listenspitäler) auf, die notwendig sind, um das entsprechende Angebot sicherzustellen. Auf der Spitalliste eines Kantons können sowohl Spitäler des eigenen als auch von anderen Kantonen aufgeführt sein.

Die versicherten Personen können unter folgenden Spitälern frei wählen:

  • Spitäler, die auf der Spitalliste des Kantons aufgeführt sind, in dem die versicherte Person wohnt (Listenspital des Wohnkantons);
  • Spitäler, die auf der Spitalliste eines anderen Kantons aufgeführt sind (Listenspital eines anderen Kantons);
  • Spitäler, die auf keiner kantonalen Spitalliste aufgeführt sind, jedoch einen Vertrag über die Vergütung von Leistungen der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) mit dem Krankenversicherer abgeschlossen haben, bei der die Patientin oder der Patient versichert ist (Vertragsspital).

Informationen zu den einzelnen Spitälern

Um Patientinnen und Patienten in ihrer freien Spitalwahl zu unterstützen, stellt das BAG Informationen zu den Spitälern zur  Verfügung. Es handelt sich dabei insbesondere um Kennzahlen und Qualitätsindikatoren der Schweizer Spitäler.

Was zahle ich für meine Spitalbehandlung?

Kostenbeteiligung der versicherten Person

Die Versicherten müssen im Rahmen der Kostenbeteiligung einen Betrag an die Kosten der von ihnen bezogenen Leistungen beisteuern. Bei einer stationären Spitalbehandlung besteht die Kostenbeteiligung aus der von der versicherten Person gewählten Franchise, dem allgemeinen Selbstbehalt und einem täglichen Beitrag an die Kosten des Spitalaufenthalts. Die versicherte Person erhält vom Krankenversicherer eine entsprechende Abrechnung.

Die Vergütung der stationären Spitalbehandlung (einschliesslich Aufenthalt und Pflegeleistungen) wird im Normalfall vom Krankenversicherer und vom Wohnkanton der versicherten Person nach einem fixen Finanzierungsschlüssel übernommen. Der Anteil des Wohnkantons an der Vergütung beträgt mindestens 55 Prozent, der Anteil der Krankenversicherer maximal 45 Prozent. Das Spital stellt für die erbrachten stationären Spitalleistungen normalerweise zwei Rechnungen aus: eine Rechnung an den Kanton (über mindestens 55 Prozent des Gesamtbetrags) und eine an den Krankenversicherer (über maximal 45 Prozent des Gesamtbetrags). Die versicherte Person erhält eine Kopie der Rechnung, die an den Versicherer gegangen und von ihm zu bezahlen ist (System des Tiers payant).

Allfällige Mehrkosten für die versicherte Person

Je nach Konstellation bezüglich Spitalwahl und durchgeführter Behandlung hat die versicherte Person selber oder ihre Zusatzversicherung allfällige Mehrkosten zu tragen.

Keine Mehrkosten fallen in folgenden Fällen an:

  • Die versicherte Person lässt sich in einem Listenspital ihres Wohnkantons behandeln.
  • Die versicherte Person lässt sich aus medizinischen Gründen in einem nicht auf der Spitalliste des Wohnkantons aufgeführten Spital behandeln, weil kein Listenspital ihres Wohnkantons die erforderliche Leistung anbietet. Eine vorgängige Kostengutsprache durch den Wohnkanton ist jedoch erforderlich.
  • Die versicherte Person wird auf Grund eines Notfalls in einem nicht auf der Spitalliste des Wohnkantons aufgeführten Spital behandelt.

Mit Mehrkosten ist insbesondere zu rechnen, wenn die versicherte Person ein nicht auf der Spitalliste des Wohnkantons verzeichnetes Listenspital oder ein Vertragsspital ohne Vorliegen einer der beiden oben aufgeführten medizinischen Gründe (Notfall; Behandlungsleistung wird von keinem Listenspital des Wohnkantons angeboten) wählt.

Im Falle eines nicht auf der Spitalliste des Wohnkantons verzeichneten Listenspitals gilt die Regel, dass Krankenversicherer und  Wohnkanton bei stationärer Behandlung die Vergütung anteilmässig höchstens nach dem Tarif übernehmen, der in einem Listenspital des Wohnkantons gilt. Liegt der Tarif des gewählten, nicht auf der Spitalliste des Wohnkantons verzeichneten Listenspitals höher als der Tarif eines Listenspitals des Wohnkantons (vgl. hierzu Referenztarife für ausserkantonale Hospitalisationen), so hat die versicherte Person selbst oder ihre Zusatzversicherung die Vergütungsdifferenz zu tragen.

Bei Vertragsspitälern entfällt der Kantonsanteil. In diesem Fall vergütet der Krankenversicherer höchstens 45 Prozent der Spitalbehandlung. Die übrige Vergütung muss von der versicherten Person selbst oder ihrer Zusatzversicherung getragen werden.

Letzte Änderung 11.03.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Abteilung Tarife und Grundlagen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Spitalbehandlung.html