Treatment abroad for policyholders resident abroad

Persons insured in Switzerland and resident abroad are entitled to be treated in their country of residence. The conditions for reimbursement of the costs vary, depending on the country (EU/EFTA or elsewhere) and the persons’ status (stay/residence).

Residence (stay) in an EU/EFTA country

Persons who are insured in Switzerland and resident in an EU/EFTA country will receive an S1 certificate (previously forms E106, E109, E121) from their health insurer. This must be submitted to the health insurance organisation of the country of residence. They will then be registered as eligible for treatment and will subsequently be treated as if they were insured in their country of residence.

Policyholders who maintain their legal residence in Switzerland (e.g. workers posted to an EU/EFTA country) can be treated in the country where they are staying if they present their European Health Insurance Card (EHIC). They are then entitled to receive treatment considered medically necessary given the type of treatment and expected length of their stay.

Temporary stay in another EU/EFTA country

A European Health Insurance Card is also issued by Swiss health insurers to policyholders who are resident in an EU/EFTA country. This enables them to receive treatment during a temporary stay in another EU/EFTA country. In the event of illness, accident or maternity, they are entitled to receive all benefits in kind considered medically necessary given the type of treatment and expected length of their stay.
For more information, see “Temporary stay in an EU/EFTA country” (available in French/German/Italian) on the website of the Common Institution under the KVG (Swiss liaison body).

Temporary stay in a non-EU/EFTA country

During a temporary stay in a country outside the EU/EFTA, the costs of emergency treatment for illness or accident (in cases where a return to Switzerland is not possible for medical reasons) will be reimbursed by the health insurer up to a maximum of twice the amount that it would pay if the treatment were provided in Switzerland. In the case of inpatient treatment, this means that the insurer will reimburse no more than 90% of the costs that would have arisen for hospitalisation in Switzerland. This is because, in the case of hospital treatment in Switzerland, at least 55% of the costs are borne by the cantons, which is not the case for hospital stays abroad.

Other medical treatments abroad are not generally covered by compulsory health insurance.

In the case of posted workers and Swiss public servants, the reimbursement of costs for medically necessary treatments is based on the tariffs and prices applicable at their last place of residence in Switzerland.

Further information

Health insurance: EU/EFTA premiums and premium subsidies

Persons insured in Switzerland pay the EU/EFTA premiums applicable for their country of residence. Those on low incomes are entitled to premium subsidies.

Health insurance: Co-payment for persons insured in Switzerland

For persons insured in Switzerland, the co-payment for treatment abroad varies, depending on the country where treatment is received.

Last modification 26.05.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Insurance Supervision Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Leistungen-im-Ausland/Behandlungen-im-Ausland-fuer-Versicherte-mit-Wohnsitz-im-Ausland.html

Leistungen im Ausland für Versicherte mit Wohnsitz im Ausland

In der Schweiz versicherte Personen, die im Ausland leben, haben das Recht, sich im Wohnland behandeln zu lassen. Die Voraussetzungen für die Kostenübernahme unterscheiden sich je nach Land (EU/EFTA oder anderes Land) und Status (Aufenthalt/Wohnsitz).

Wohnsitz (Aufenthalt) in einem EU-/EFTA-Staat

In der Schweiz versicherte Personen, die ihren Wohnsitz in einem EU- oder EFTA-Staat haben, erhalten von ihrer Krankenversicherung eine S1-Bescheinigung (früher Formulare E106/E109/E121). Diese ist der Krankenversicherung des Wohnlands einzureichen. Sie werden dann als Leistungsberechtigte registriert und danach so behandelt, wie wenn sie in ihrem Wohnsitzland versichert wären.

Versicherte, die ihren Schweizer Wohnsitz behalten (z. B. in einen EU-/EFTA-Staat entsandte Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer), können sich im Aufenthaltsstaat behandeln lassen, wenn sie die europäische Krankenversicherungskarte (EKVK) vorweisen. Damit haben sie unter Berücksichtigung der Art der Leistungen und der voraussichtlichen Aufenthaltsdauer Anrecht auf die medizinisch notwendige Behandlung.

Aufenthalt in einem anderen EU-/EFTA-Staat

Die europäische Krankenversicherungskarte wird von den Schweizer Krankenkassen auch Versicherten abgegeben, die ihren Wohnsitz in einem EU-/EFTA-Staat haben. Sie erlaubt es der versicherten Person, sich während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthalts in einem anderen EU-/EFTA-Staat behandeln zu lassen. Sie berechtigt bei Krankheit, Unfall oder Mutterschaft zum Bezug von Sachleistungen, die sich unter Berücksichtigung der Art der Leistungen und der voraussichtlichen Aufenthaltsdauer als medizinisch notwendig erweisen.

Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie auf der Internetsite der schweizerischen Verbindungsstelle, der Gemeinsamen Einrichtung KVG in Solothurn, unter «Aufenthalt in der EU/EFTA».

Auslandsaufenthalt (ausserhalb der EU/EFTA)

Während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthalts im Ausland (ausserhalb der EU/EFTA) übernimmt die Krankenversicherung für Notfallbehandlungen (Krankheit oder Unfall, wenn aus medizinischen Gründen die Rückkehr ins Wohnland nicht möglich ist) höchstens den doppelten Betrag der Kosten, die sie vergüten würde, wenn die Behandlung in der Schweiz stattgefunden hätte. Im Fall von stationären Behandlungen bedeutet dies, dass höchstens 90% der Kosten übernommen werden, die diese Hospitalisation in der Schweiz kosten würde (Grund: Bei Spitalbehandlungen in der Schweiz übernehmen die Kantone einen Anteil von mindestens 55% der Kosten, was bei Hospitalisationen im Ausland nicht der Fall ist).

Weitere im Ausland erbrachte medizinische Leistungen sind grundsätzlich nicht durch die Grundversicherung gedeckt.

Bei entsandten Arbeitnehmenden und Personen im Schweizer öffentlichen Dienst erfolgt die Kostenübernahme für medizinisch notwendige Behandlungen auf der Grundlage der Tarife und Preise, die an ihrem letzten Wohnort in der Schweiz gelten.
 

Weiterführende Themen

Krankenversicherung: Prämien und Prämienverbilligung EU/EFTA

Die in der Schweiz versicherten Personen bezahlen die EU-/EFTA-Prämien, die für ihren Wohnsitzstaat gelten. Versicherte, die in bescheidenen wirtschaftlichen Verhältnissen leben, haben Anrecht auf Prämienverbilligung.

Kostenbeteiligung der in der Schweiz versicherten Personen

Für in der Schweiz versicherte Personen ist die Kostenbeteiligung für Behandlungen im Ausland je nach Land, in dem die Behandlung erfolgt, unterschiedlich.

Letzte Änderung 27.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Abteilung Versicherungsaufsicht
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Leistungen-im-Ausland/Behandlungen-im-Ausland-fuer-Versicherte-mit-Wohnsitz-im-Ausland.html