Reimbursement for the cost of medicinal products in individual cases

Provided certain conditions are met, compulsory health insurance may reimburse the cost for medicinal products in individual cases even if they are not included in the list of pharmaceutical specialties (LS).

Statutory foundation

According to articles 71a–71d of the Ordinance of 27 June 1995 on Health Insurance (HIO), basic insurance reimburses the cost for medicinal products in individual cases,

  • if they are included in the LS but were dispensed outside the specialist information approved by Swissmedic or the LS limitation;
  • if they are not included in the LS but have been approved by Swissmedic;
  • if they are not approved by Swissmedic but are imported from a country with an authorisation system considered by Swissmedic to be equivalent and which has approved the products in question for the corresponding indication.

 

Conditions

In order for the cost of a medicinal product to be reimbursed in an individual case, one of the following criteria must be met:

  • If use of a medicinal product represents an indispensable precondition for the provision of another, essential treatment that is covered by compulsory health insurance, and if such treatment is clearly paramount, compulsory health insurance will also cover the medicinal product even though it is not included in the LS (a so-called treatment complex).
  • If it’s not a treatment complex, compulsory health insurance expects the use of the medicinal product (and the reimbursement of its cost by the compulsory health insurance) to result in a significant treatment benefit against an illness that may be fatal for the insured person or entail severe and chronic health impairment. Furthermore, there is no other effective and authorised treatment option available that is included in the LS.

Compulsory health insurance reimburses the cost of a medicinal product in individual cases only upon specific recommendation by the insurance provider after consultation with the medical examiner. The insurance provider agrees with the Swiss authorisation holder of the medicinal product on the amount to be reimbursed and verifies that the cost covered by the compulsory health insurance is proportionate to the therapeutic benefit.


Cost reimbursement form

The treating physician must submit the application for cost reimbursement to the insurance provider before the start of treatment. The Swiss Society of Medical Examiners makes standardised cost reimbursement forms available on its website for the purpose of assessing applications regarding the reimbursement of costs for medicinal products in individual cases. These forms ensure consistent implementation of the regulations. The cost reimbursement forms can be accessed via the link below.

Further information

No results found

Last modification 04.07.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Health Care Services
Pharmaceuticals Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 90 35
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Arzneimittel/verguetung-arzneimittel-im-einzelfall.html

Vergütung von Arzneimitteln im Einzelfall

Sofern die Voraussetzungen dazu erfüllt sind, kann die obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) ein Arzneimittel im Einzelfall vergüten, obwohl es nicht auf der Spezialitätenliste (SL) aufgeführt ist.  

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Die OKP vergütet nach Artikel 71a bis 71d der Verordnung vom 27. Juni 1995 über die Krankenversicherung (KVV) Arzneimittel im Einzelfall,

  • die auf der SL aufgeführt sind, jedoch ausserhalb der von Swissmedic genehmigten Fachinformation oder SL-Limitation abgegeben werden.
  • die nicht in die SL aufgenommen wurden, aber von Swissmedic zugelassen sind.
  • die von Swissmedic nicht zugelassen sind, aber aus einem Land mit einem von Swissmedic als gleichwertig anerkannten Zulassungssystem importiert werden und dort für die entsprechende Indikation zugelassen sind.

Voraussetzungen

Damit eine Vergütung von Arzneimitteln im Einzelfall erfolgen kann, muss eines der folgenden Kriterien erfüllt sein:

  • Bildet der Einsatz eines Arzneimittels eine unerlässliche Voraussetzung für die Durchführung einer anderen von der OKP übernommenen Pflichtleistung und steht diese eindeutig im Vordergrund, so übernimmt die OKP auch das Arzneimittel, obwohl es nicht in der SL gelistet ist (sog. Behandlungskomplex).
  • Liegt kein Behandlungskomplex vor, so wird für die Vergütung eines Arzneimittels im Einzelfall durch die OKP vom Einsatz des Arzneimittels ein grosser therapeutischer Nutzen gegen eine Krankheit erwartet, die für die versicherte Person tödlich verlaufen oder schwere und chronische gesundheitliche Beeinträchtigungen nach sich ziehen kann, und wegen fehlender Alternativen ist keine andere wirksame und zugelassene in der SL gelistete Behandlungsmethode verfügbar.

Die OKP übernimmt die Kosten eines Arzneimittels im Einzelfall nur auf besondere Gutsprache des Krankenversicherers nach vorgängiger Konsultation der Vertrauensärztin oder des Vertrauensarztes. Der Krankenversicherer bestimmt nach Absprache mit der Zulassungsinhaberin, die das Arzneimittel in der Schweiz vertreibt, die Höhe der Vergütung und überprüft, ob die von der OKP übernommenen Kosten in einem angemessenen Verhältnis zum therapeutischen Nutzen stehen.

Kostengutspracheformular

Das Gesuch um Kostengutsprache muss vom behandelnden Arzt oder der behandelnden Ärztin vor Therapiebeginn beim Versicherer eingereicht werden. Die schweizerische Gesellschaft der Vertrauens- und Versicherungsärzte (SGV) stellt für die Beurteilung von Gesuchen betreffend die Vergütung von Arzneimitteln im Einzelfall auf ihrer Homepage standardisierte Kostengutspracheformulare zur Verfügung. Diese Formulare zur Einreichung von Gesuchen um Vergütung eines Arzneimittels im Einzelfall dienen der einheitlichen Umsetzung der Bestimmungen. Die Kostengutspracheformulare sind über den unten aufgeführten Link abrufbar.

Weiterführende Themen

Evaluationsberichte Kranken- und Unfallversicherung

Hier finden Sie Evaluationsberichte zum Themenbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung.

Letzte Änderung 04.07.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Sekretariat EAK
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 90 35
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Arzneimittel/verguetung-arzneimittel-im-einzelfall.html