Scoping reports

The scoping report defines the research question in concrete terms and develops the methodology for the assessment.

The scoping reports that have been completed are shown below.

Procedure

The FOPH prepares a pre-scope in the form of an initial analysis and a precise definition of the questions asked in relation to the selected theme. On this basis the contractor drafts the actual scoping report. This is submitted to a group of reviewers consisting offour to five independent experts who assess the scientific quality of the report. The report is then submitted to stakeholders and finalised.

Infliximab reference product versus biosimilar for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis

Infliximab is a monoclonal antibody for the treatment of autoimmune diseases, such as rheumatoid arthritis. In 2016, infliximab was the costliest active substance in Switzerland, generating direct drug costs of over CHF 128 million. For biologics such as infliximab, biosimilars are available, which are sufficiently similar to an approved biological medicinal product (reference product) and are available for a cheaper price. The aim of the HTA is to review the efficacy, safety, cost-effectiveness and budgetary implications of

  1. treating a patient suffering from rheumatoid arthritis with an infliximab biosimilar instead of the infliximab reference product;
  2. switching a patient suffering from rheumatoid arthritis from treatment with the infliximab reference product to treatment with an infliximab biosimilar (or vice versa).

Vitamin D Testing

The Health Technology Assessment (HTA) intends to review the efficacy, safety, cost-effectiveness and budgetary impact of the use of vitamin D testing in risk groups as defined by the Swiss Federal Nutrition Commission (people with bone disease, older adults, obese individuals, pregnant women, people with dark skin and athletes). It will also analyse evidence regarding the clinical effects of vitamin D supplementation in these risk groups.
The feasibility of a full HTA has been determined on the basis of the scoping report. A full HTA is not justified at this stage, as no clinical studies are available that would enable evaluation of vitamin D tests. This issue could be revisited once such studies are available.

Medical cannabis for treating various symptoms in Switzerland

Health Technology Assessment (HTA) is designed to assess the efficacy, safety, cost-effectiveness and budgetary impact of therapy with cannabis as compared with placebo, no therapy or standard of care in patients with various symptoms (pain, spasticity, vomiting and nausea in cancer patients, unintended weight loss).
This scoping report will be used to determine the feasibility of a full HTA.

Palbociclib (Ibrance®) as a treatment for advanced breast cancer

CDK4/6 inhibitors, such as palbociclib, ribociclib and abemaciclib, are a new class of drugs that are used in combination with endocrine therapy to treat advanced hormone receptor-positive, HER2 receptor-negative breast cancer. Results from clinical trials suggest that some of these new compounds may cause severe side effects. There is also evidence that not all CDK4/6 inhibitors contribute equally to prolonging the survival of burst cancer patients and improving their quality of life. The aim of the health technology assessment (HTA) is therefore to evaluate the efficacy, safety, cost-effectiveness and budgetary impact of treatment with CDK4/6 inhibitors in comparison with each other and with standard therapy.

Surgical intervention in shoulder impingement syndrome

The FOPH is re-evaluating subacromial decompression due to recently published evidence that suggests the procedure has limited efficacy. This scoping report aims to identify literature pertaining to the safety, efficacy, effectiveness, cost-effectiveness and budgetary impact of subacromial decompression in patients with subacromial pain, to establish the feasibility of conducting a health technology assessment of subacromial decompression.

The treatment of primary hypercholesterolaemia and mixed/combined hyperlipidaemia with ezetimibe-containing medicines

The aim of the Health Technology Assessment (HTA) is to evaluate the efficacy, safety, cost-effectiveness and budgetary impact of ezetimibe-containing medicines compared to statins or fenofibrate in patients with primary hypercholesterolaemia or mixed/combined hyperlipidaemia.
The feasibility of an HTA is determined by means of a scoping report.

Statins in the primary prevention of cardiovascular events and mortality in Switzerland

The aim of the scoping report is to determine the feasibility of a Health Technology Assessment (HTA) report on statins in the primary prevention of cardiovascular events and mortality in Switzerland. This is in response to the identified quantity and quality of the primary literature.
The HTA report will review the efficacy, safety, cost efficiency and budgetary impact of statin treatment in adults with no proven cardiovascular disease and with a low, moderate or high cardiovascular risk compared with no treatment and/or a change in lifestyle. Its basis for doing so will be the scoping report.

Vertebroplasty or Kyphoplasty in Patients with Symptomatic, Osteoporotic Vertebral Compression Fractures

The objective of this HTA is the evaluation of the efficacy/effectiveness, safety, costs, effectiveness and budget impact of percutaneous vertebroplasty and percutaneous balloon kyphoplasty in patients with symptomatic osteoporotic vertebral compression fractures unresponsive to non-surgical treatment.

Olmesartan Mono- and Combination Therapies in Patients with Essential Hypertension

The aim of the Health Technology Assessment (HTA) is to evaluate the efficacy, effectiveness, safety, cost-effectiveness and budget impact of olmesartan mono- and combination therapies compared to all other sartan mono- and combination therapies available in Switzerland in patients with essential hypertension.

Treatment of non-erosive gastroesophageal reflux disease patients with proton pump inhibitors

The aim of the Health Technology Assessment (HTA) is to evaluate the efficacy, effectiveness, safety, cost-effectiveness and budget impact of long-term continuous proton pump inhibitor (PPI) therapy compared to long-term on-demand PPI therapy in patients with non-erosive reflux disease (NERD) and patients with uninvestigated gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD).  

Chondroitin Sulfate in Osteoarthritis

The objective of the HTA is to compare the safety, efficacy and effectiveness of chondroitin sulfate with placebo, on-demand analgesics and anti-inflammatory treatments in patients with osteoarthritis of the hands, knees and hips. In addition, the cost-effectiveness and budgetary impact of chondroitin sulfate warrants investigation.

Removal of osteosynthesis devices (e.g. screws, plates, nails and wires) used to treat bone fractures

Research questions: How does the removal of osteosynthesis material in patients without medical indication (elective or routine removal) affect complication rates, clinical outcomes, health-related quality of life and cost-effectiveness outcomes compared to retention of the osteosynthesis material?

Self-measurement of blood glucose in patients with non-insulin treated diabetes mellitus type 2

Research questions:

  • How does a decrease in HbA1c levels affect clinical endpoints?
  • What is the safety profile of self-measurement of blood glucose?
  • What is the cost-effectiveness of the different possible variations in self-measurement of blood glucose?

Knee arthroscopy for the treatment of degenerative changes

Research question: What is the benefit of knee arthroscopy for patients with symptoms resulting from degenerative changes of the knee in general compared with non-invasive forms of therapy?

Iron replacement therapy for iron deficiency without anaemia

Issue:

  1. The connection between iron deficiency without anaemia and non-haematological clinical disorders
  2. Therapeutic need for and efficacy of iron replacement therapy for iron deficiency without anaemia

Last modification 02.10.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Health Care Services
Health Technology Assessment Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 469 17 33
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-bezeichnung-der-leistungen/re-evaluation-hta/scoping-berichte.html

Scoping-Berichte

Im Scoping-Bericht wird die Fragestellung konkretisiert und die Methodik für das Assessment erarbeitet.

Die abgeschlossenen Scoping-Berichte sind unten aufgeführt.

Vorgehen

Das BAG führt ein Pre-scoping im Sinne einer Voranalyse und Eingrenzung der Fragestellung für die ausgewählten Themen durch. Darauf basierend erstellt der Auftragnehmende den eigentlichen Scoping-Bericht. Der Scoping-Bericht wird einer Review-Gruppe unterbreitet. Diese besteht aus 4-5 unabhängigen Expert*innen, die den Bericht auf ihre wissenschaftliche Qualität überprüfen. Danach wird der Bericht den Stakeholdern unterbreitet und finalisiert.

Infliximab Referenzprodukt versus Biosimilar für die Behandlung von rheumatoider Arthritis

Infliximab ist ein monoklonaler Antikörper zur Behandlung von Autoimmunkrankheiten wie rheumatoide Arthritis. In 2016 war Infliximab der kostenintensivste Wirkstoff in der Schweiz und verursachte direkte Medikamentenkosten von über 128 Mio. CHF. Für biologische Arzneimittel wie Infliximab sind Biosimilars verfügbar, welche eine genügende Ähnlichkeit mit einem zugelassen biologischen Arzneimittel (Referenzpräparat) aufweisen und die zu einem günstigeren Preis als das Referenzpräparat erhältlich sind. Das Ziel des HTA ist die Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und der budgetären Auswirkungen von

  1. einer Behandlung von Patienten mit rheumatoider Arthritis mit einem Infliximab Biosimilar anstelle des Infliximab Referenzpräparats,
  2. einer Umstellung der Patienten mit rheumatoider Arthritis von einer Behandlung mit dem Infliximab Referenzpräparat auf eine Behandlung mit einem Infliximab Biosimilar (oder auch umgekehrt).

Vitamin D Tests

Das Health Technology Assessment (HTA) hat zum Ziel die Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und die budgetären Auswirkungen des Einsatzes von Vitamin D Tests in Risikogruppen gemäss Definition der Eidgenössischen Ernährungskommission (Personen mit Knochenerkrankungen, ältere Erwachsene, adipöse Personen, Schwangere, Menschen mit dunkler Haut sowie Sportlerinnen und Sportler) zu überprüfen. Ferner wird die Evidenz zur klinischen Wirkung einer Vitamin-D-Supplementierung bei denselben Risikogruppen analysiert.
Aufgrund des Scoping-Berichts wurde die Durchführbarkeit eines vollständigen HTA ermittelt. Ein vollständiges HTA wäre derzeit nicht gerechtfertigt, da es keine klinischen Studien zur Bewertung von Vitamin D Tests gibt. Erst nach Vorliegen solcher Studien könnte das Thema neu behandelt werden.

Medizinalcannabis zur Behandlung verschiedener Symptome in der Schweiz

Das Health Technology Assessment (HTA) hat zum Ziel die Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und die budgetären Auswirkungen einer Therapie mit Cannabisarzneimittel im Vergleich zu Placebo, keine Therapie oder Standard of Care in Patienten mit verschiedenen Symptomen (Schmerz, Spastik, Erbrechen und Übelkeit bei Krebspatienten, unbeabsichtigter Gewichtsverlust) zu überprüfen.
Mit Hilfe des Scoping-Berichts wird die Durchführbarkeit eines HTAs ermittelt.

Palbociclib (Ibrance®) zur Behandlung von fortgeschrittenem Brustkrebs

CDK4/6 Inhibitoren wie Palbociclib, Ribociclib und Abemaciclib sind eine neue Wirkstoffklasse, die in Kombination mit einer endokrinen Therapie zur Behandlung von fortgeschrittenem Hormonrezeptor-positiven, HER2-Rezeptor-negativen Brustkrebs eingesetzt werden. Resultate aus klinischen Studien deuten darauf hin, dass diese neuen Wirkstoffe teilweise starke Nebenwirkungen verursachen können. Zudem gibt es Hinweise darauf, dass nicht alle CDK4/6 Inhibitoren gleichermassen dazu beitragen, das Überleben von Burstkrebspatientinnen zu verlängern und deren Lebensqualität zu verbessern. Das Ziel des HTA ist deshalb die Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und budgetären Auswirkung der Behandlung mittels CDK4/6 Inhibitoren im Vergleich untereinander sowie im Vergleich zu einer Behandlung mittels Standardtherapie.

Chirurgische Eingriffe beim Engpasssyndrom (Impingementsyndrom) der Schulter

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit reevaluiert die subakromiale Dekompression aufgrund kürzlich veröffentlichter Erkenntnisse, die auf eine begrenzte Wirksamkeit des Verfahrens hindeuten. Dieser Scoping-Bericht soll die Literatur zu Sicherheit, Wirksamkeit, Wirtschaftlichkeit und budgetären Auswirkungen der subakromialen Dekompression bei Patientinnen und Patienten mit subakromialen Schmerzen identifizieren, um die Durchführbarkeit eines Health Technology Assessment (HTA) der subakromialen Dekompression zu ermitteln.

Ezetimib-haltige Medikamente zur Behandlung der primären Hypercholesterinämie und der gemischten/kombinierten Hyperlipidämie

Das Health Technology Assessment (HTA) hat zum Ziel die Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und die budgetären Auswirkungen einer Therapie mit Ezetimib-haltigen Medikamenten im Vergleich mit Statinen oder Fenofibrat in Patienten mit primärer Hypercholesterinämie oder gemischter/kombinierter Hyperlipidämie zu überprüfen.
Mit Hilfe des Scoping-Berichts wird die Durchführbarkeit eines HTAs ermittelt.

Statine zur Primärprävention kardiovaskulärer Ereignisse und der Mortalität in der Schweiz

Der Scoping Bericht hat zum Ziel, die Durchführbarkeit eines Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Berichtes zu Statinen zur Primärprävention kardiovaskulärer Ereignisse und der Mortalität in der Schweiz zu ermitteln. Dies erfolgt aufgrund der identifizierten Anzahl und Qualität der Primärliteratur.
Im HTA Bericht wird basierend auf dem Scoping Bericht die Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und die budgetäre Auswirkung einer Statintherapie bei Erwachsenen ohne nachgewiesene Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankung mit geringem, mittlerem oder (sehr) hohem kardiovaskulärem Risiko im Vergleich zu keiner Behandlung und/oder einer Anpassung des Lebensstils überprüft werden.

Vertebroplastie und Kyphoplastie bei Patienten mit symptomatischen, osteoporotischen vertebralen Wirbelkompressionsfracturen

Das Ziel des HTA ist die Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und budgetären Auswirkung von perkutane Vertebroplastie und perkutane Ballonkyphoplastie bei Patienten mit symptomatischen osteoporotischen Wirbelkompressionsfrakturen, die nicht auf eine nicht-chirurgische Behandlung ansprechen.

Olmesartan Mono-und Kombinationstherapien bei Patienten mit essentieller Hypertonie

Das Ziel des HTA ist die Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und budgetären Auswirkung von Olmesartan-Mono- und Kombinationstherapien im Vergleich zu allen anderen in der Schweiz verfügbaren Sartan-Mono- und Kombinationstherapien bei Patientinnen und Patienten mit essentieller Hypertonie.

Behandlung einer nicht-erosiven gastroösophagealen Refluxerkrankung mit Protonenpumpeninhibitoren

Das Ziel des HTA ist die Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit, Kosteneffizienz und budgetären Auswirkung einer kontinuierlichen Langzeittherapie mit Protonenpumpeninhibitoren (PPI) im Vergleich zu einer PPI-Langzeittherapie nach Bedarf bei erwachsenen Patientinnen und Patienten mit einer nicht-erosiven Refluxerkrankung (NERD) oder einer nicht endoskopisch untersuchten gastroösophagealen Refluxerkrankung (GERD).

Chondroitinsulfat bei Osteoarthrose

Das Ziel des HTA ist die Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit von Chondroitinsulfat zu vergleichen mit jenen der Placebo, Schmerzmitteln nach Bedarf und entzündungshemmenden Medikamenten in der Behandlung von Patienten mit Hand-, Knie und Hüftosteoarthrose. Darüber hinaus werden auch die Wirtschaftlichkeit und die budgetären Auswirkungen von Chondroitinsulfat untersucht.

Entfernung von Osteosynthesematerialien (z.B. Schrauben, Platten, Nägel, Drähte), die zur Behandlung von Knochenbrüchen eingesetzt werden

Fragestellung: Wie wirkt sich die Entfernung von Osteosynthesematerial bei Patienten ohne medizinische Indikation (elektive oder Routineentfernung) auf Komplikationen, klinische Endpunkte, gesundheitsbezogene Lebensqualität und Kosteneffektivität aus, im Vergleich zum Belassen des Osteosynthesematerials?

Blutzuckerselbstmessung bei nicht insulin-pflichtigem Diabetes mellitus Typ 2

Fragestellung: Welchen Einfluss auf den HbA1c-Verlauf hat die Blutzuckerselbstmessung bei nicht insulinpflichtigen Patienten mit Typ-2-Diabetes? Wie wirkt sich eine Senkung vom HbA1c-Wert auf klinische Endpunkte aus? Wie ist das Sicherheitsprofil der Blutzuckerselbstmessung? Wie gestaltet sich das Kosten-/Nutzen-Verhältnis für verschiedene Formen der Blutzuckerselbstmessung?

Kniearthroskopie zur Behandlung von degenerativen Veränderungen

Fragestellung: Welchen Nutzen hat ein arthroskopischer Eingriff am Knie bei Patienten mit Beschwerden aufgrund degenerativer Veränderungen am Meniskus und angrenzenden Strukturen im Vergleich zu nicht invasiven Therapieformen?

Eisentherapie bei Eisenmangel ohne Anämie

Fragestellung:

  1. Zusammenhang zwischen Eisenmangel ohne Anämie und nicht-hämatologischen klinischen Störungen
  2. Therapiebedarf und Wirksamkeit einer Eisentherapie bei Eisenmangel ohne Anämie

Letzte Änderung 02.10.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Leistungen
Sektion Health Technology Assessment
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 469 17 33
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-bezeichnung-der-leistungen/re-evaluation-hta/scoping-berichte.html