Health technology assessment (HTA)

Health technology assessment (HTA) involves the systematic evaluation of medical procedures and technologies. HTA is widely regarded as an important tool for evidence-based policy advice and policymaking.

Among the health policy priorities defined in the Federal Council’s Health2030 strategy are the strengthening of medical services and the exertion of influence on cost development. HTA provides a transparent analysis of the efficacy, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness of a medical service. The results can help to ensure that mandatory reimbursement is limited or terminated for services which are not effective or cost-effective. Restricting such services improves the quality and reduces the costs of healthcare.

In 2015, the federal authorities launched an HTA programme to evaluate services currently reimbursed under compulsory health insurance.

The legal basis of this programme is Article 32 of the Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG; SR 832.10), which specifies that medical services covered by compulsory health insurance must meet the criteria of efficacy, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness. Compliance with these criteria is to be periodically reviewed.

The HTA programme focuses in particular on the re evaluation of services which may not meet the relevant criteria. The aim is to eliminate such services from the List of Reimbursable Items or to restrict mandatory reimbursement (disinvestment). In addition, the HTA programme evaluates services which are not currently reimbursable.

Each year, under the HTA programme, we select topics for which, through a systematic process, HTA reports are produced by external contractors. Engagement with national and international HTA networks ensures that the methods employed are continuously adapted to the latest standards. The HTA reports, which support evidence-based policymaking, are published on the HTA projects page.

Last modification 29.03.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health insurance benefits Division
Health Technology Assessment Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 469 17 33
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-bezeichnung-der-leistungen/re-evaluation-hta.html

Health Technology Assessment (HTA)

Der Begriff «Health Technology Assessment» (HTA) steht international für die systematische Bewertung medizinischer Verfahren und Technologien. HTA gilt als wichtiges Instrument der evidenzbasierten Politikberatung und Entscheidungsfindung.

Die gesundheitspolitischen Prioritäten des Bundesrates – Gesundheit2030 – sehen eine Verbesserung der medizinischen Behandlungen und eine Beeinflussung der Kostenentwicklung vor. Mittels HTA wird die Wirksamkeit, Zweckmässigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit einer medizinischen Leistung transparent dargelegt. Die Ergebnisse können dazu beitragen, nicht wirksame oder nicht wirtschaftliche Leistungen in der Vergütungspflicht zu limitieren oder zu streichen. Eine Reduktion solcher Leistungen erhöht die Qualität des Gesundheitswesens und verringert die Kosten.
 
In diesem Zusammenhang hat der Bund 2015 ein HTA-Programm lanciert, das bereits von der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) vergütete Leistungen evaluiert.
 
Die Grundlage dieses Programms bildet Artikel 32 des Bundesgesetzes über die Krankenversicherung (KVG). Danach müssen medizinische Leistungen, die von der OKP vergütet werden, die Kriterien Wirksamkeit, Zweckmässigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit (WZW-Kriterien) erfüllen. Sie sollen periodisch nach diesen Kriterien überprüft werden.

Der Hauptfokus des Programms ist die Re-Evaluation von Leistungen, die möglicherweise die WZW-Kriterien nicht erfüllen. Ziel ist es, diese aus dem Leistungskatalog zu entfernen oder deren Vergütungspflicht einzuschränken («Disinvestment»). Das HTA Programm evaluiert zudem auch Leistungen, für die noch keine Vergütungspflicht vorliegt.

Im Rahmen des HTA-Programms wählen wir jährlich Themen aus, für die wir anhand eines systematischen Prozesses HTA-Berichte durch externe Auftragnehmer erstellen lassen. Durch den Austausch mit nationalen und internationalen HTA-Netzwerken passen wir unsere Methodik stets an die aktuellen Standards an. Die HTA-Berichte dienen der evidenzbasierten Entscheidungsfindung. Wir publizieren diese auf der Webseite «HTA-Projekte».

Letzte Änderung 29.03.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Leistungen Krankenversicherung
Sektion Health Technology Assessment
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 469 17 33
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-bezeichnung-der-leistungen/re-evaluation-hta.html