Health insurance

Thanks to compulsory health insurance, anyone living in Switzerland has access to good medical care. We are responsible for ensuring the ongoing development of this important social accomplishment. Find out here about the mandatory insurance requirement, health insurance oversight, benefits and tariffs, premiums and premium comparisons, quality assurance and amendments to the law.

Definitions

In this section you’ll find information on compulsory health insurance, also known as mandatory or basic health insurance. Insurers that provide compulsory insurance (called “Krankenkassen”, “caisses maladie” or “casse malati”) are not profit-oriented and must be recognised by the Swiss Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA). Insurance companies can also offer supplementary insurance (top-up insurance).

Premiums for compulsory (basic) health insurance compared

The site www.priminfo.ch is a neutral premium calculator provided by the FOPH (in German, French and Italian). You can use it to work out your premium for compulsory health insurance for the next year.

The Essentials in Brief

Health insurance is compulsory in Switzerland. What does it cover? How is it funded? How are benefits paid? This section and our brochure give you an overview.

Insured persons resident in Switzerland

If you live in Switzerland, find out here about everything you need to know: the mandatory insurance requirement, premium comparisons, premium reductions, your contribution to costs, special forms of insurance, voluntary daily benefits insurance and your insurance card.

Persons domiciled abroad

Are you moving abroad? Do you commute to work in Switzerland, or are you planning holidays in this country? What do you need to know about Swiss health insurance? You’ll find answers to these questions here.

Insurers and supervision

We at the FOPH are responsible for overseeing insurers that offer compulsory (basic) health insurance. Supplementary insurance plans fall under private insurance law and are overseen by FINMA, the financial market supervisory authority.

Benefits and tariffs

What medical care does compulsory (basic) insurance pay for? What hospital can you go to for treatment? What about maternity benefits? Which tariffs and prices are set by the authorities?

Description of services

Who decides what benefits compulsory (basic) health insurance pays? In this section you can find out who is responsible and the procedures for applying for coverage of new benefits.

Quality and patient safety

Swiss healthcare is of a high quality. But there’s still room for improvement. What is the Federal Council’s strategy? Who is responsible for quality? What information is available on healthcare quality?

Current Revision Projects

Various revisions are under way in the field of health insurance. They affect legislation including the Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG/LAMal), the Health Insurance Ordinance (KVV/OAMal) and the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (KLV/OPAS).

Revision projects adopted

Revisions and amendments have been completed related to medicinal products, oversight, curbing costs, funding nursing care, premiums, the risk equalisation scheme, contributions to the costs of hospital stays, hospital funding, insurance cards, registration and approval. We are expanding the compilation on an ongoing basis.

Krankenversicherung

Dank der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) haben alle in der Schweiz lebenden Personen Zugang zu einer guten medizinischen Versorgung. Wir kümmern uns um die Weiterentwicklung dieser wichtigen Errungenschaft. Informieren Sie sich hier über Versicherungspflicht, Aufsicht, Leistungen und Tarife, Prämien und Prämienvergleiche sowie über Qualitätssicherung und Gesetzesrevisionen. 

Begriffe

Unter dieser Rubrik finden Sie Informationen zur obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP), auch Krankenversicherung oder Grundversicherung genannt. «Krankenkassen» sind Versicherer, welche die OKP anbieten. Sie sind nicht gewinnorientiert und müssen vom Eidgenössischen Departement des Innern EDI anerkannt sein. Die Versicherer können auch Zusatzversicherungen anbieten.

Prämien der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) (Krankenversicherung oder Grundversicherung) vergleichen

Die Seite www.priminfo.ch ist ein neutraler Prämienrechner des BAG. Sie können dort Ihre Prämie für die OKP des Folgejahres berechnen.

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

Die Krankenversicherung ist in der Schweiz obligatorisch. Was bietet sie? Wie wird sie finanziert? Wie werden die Leistungen erstattet? Diese Rubrik und unsere Broschüre verschaffen Ihnen einen Überblick.

In der Schweiz wohnhafte Versicherte

Versicherungspflicht, Prämienvergleiche und -verbilligung, Ihre Kostenbeteiligung, Versicherungsformen, freiwillige Taggeldversicherung oder die Versichertenkarte: Informieren Sie sich hier, wenn Sie in der Schweiz wohnen.

Im Ausland wohnhafte Versicherte

Ziehen Sie ins Ausland? Pendeln Sie zur Arbeit in die Schweiz oder planen Sie hier einen Ferienaufenthalt? Was müssen Sie zur Schweizer Krankenversicherung wissen? Antworten auf diese Fragen erhalten Sie hier.

Versicherer und Aufsicht

Wir haben die Aufsicht über Versicherer, welche die OKP (Krankenversicherung, Grundversicherung), anbieten. Zusatzversicherungen fallen unter das Privatversicherungsrecht. Diese beaufsichtigt die Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA).

Leistungen und Tarife

Welche ärztlichen Leistungen vergütet die OKP (Krankenversicherung, Grundversicherung)? In welchem Spital können Sie sich behandeln lassen? Was gilt bei einer Mutterschaft? Welche Tarife und Preise sind behördlich festgelegt?

Bezeichnung der Leistungen

Wer bestimmt, was die OKP (Krankenversicherung, Grundversicherung) vergütet? Die Zuständigkeiten sowie Antragsprozesse auf Kostenübernahme neuer Leistungen finden Sie unter dieser Rubrik.

Qualität und Patientensicherheit

Das Niveau der Schweizer Gesundheitsversorgung ist hoch. Trotzdem besteht Verbesserungspotenzial. Welche Strategie verfolgt der Bundesrat? Wer ist für die Qualität zuständig? Und welche Informationen zur Qualität gibt es?

Laufende Revisionsprojekte

Im Bereich Krankenversicherung laufen verschiedene Revisionen. Das betrifft u.a. das Krankenversicherungsgesetz (KVG), die Verordnung über die Krankenversicherung (KVV) und die Krankenpflege-Leistungsverordnung (KLV).

Abgeschlossene Neuerungen und Revisionen

Abgeschlossene Revisionen oder Änderungen betreffen: Arzneimittel, Aufsicht, Kostendämmung, Pflegefinanzierung, Prämien, Risikoausgleich, Spitalbeitrag und -finanzierung, Versicherungskarte, Zulassung. Die Sammlung ergänzen wir laufend.

Kostendämpfung

Das Eidgenössische Departement des Innern EDI will die Prämien- und Steuerzahlenden entlasten. Dazu setzt es auf ein Kostendämpfungsprogramm.