Rare diseases

Orphan (rare) diseases affect fewer than five people in every 10,000. They are hard to diagnose, and it is often a long time before patients get the right care. Switzerland has adopted a national rare disease policy designed to improve the situation for those affected.

There is broad consensus on the general goals: diagnoses should be made in reasonable time, and patients should receive good quality care throughout the course of the disease. The idea is to support and bolster the resources available to patients and their families. Patients should receive socio-professional support with administrative matters. Furthermore, Switzerland’s active, targeted involvement in international research should be promoted.

Find out more here.

Numerous rare diseases with many people affected

Estimates put the number of people with a rare disease in Switzerland at more than half a million.

National Rare Disease Policy

The National Rare Disease Policy is the Swiss Federal Council’s response to postulate 10.4055 on national strategy to improve the health situation of people with rare diseases and postulate 11.4025 on the health hardship commission.

Projects and measures under the National Rare Disease Policy

19 measures designed to make life easier for people with a rare disease and provide them with optimum care.

National Rare Disease Policy: stakeholders involved

Only joint efforts lead to improvement

Last modification 03.01.2017

Top of page

Seltene Krankheiten

Seltene Krankheiten betreffen weniger als 5 von 10 000 Menschen. Sie sind schwer zu diagnostizieren. Oft dauert es lange, bis Patientinnen und Patienten optimal versorgt werden. Das Nationale Konzept Seltene Krankheiten soll die Situation für die Betroffenen verbessern.

Breiter Konsens herrscht über die allgemeinen Ziele: So soll die Diagnose innert nützlicher Frist gestellt und eine qualitativ gute Versorgung über den gesamten Krankheitsverlauf sichergestellt werden. Es gilt, die für Patientinnen und Patienten und ihre Angehörigen verfügbaren Ressourcen zu unterstützen und zu verstärken. In administrativen Belangen sollen die Patientinnen und Patienten sozioprofessionelle Unterstützung erhalten. Ausserdem soll eine aktive und gezielte Beteiligung der Schweiz an der internationalen Forschung gefördert werden.

Informieren Sie sich hier.

Zahlreiche Seltene Krankheiten und viele betroffene Menschen

In der Schweiz wird die Zahl der Menschen mit einer seltenen Krankheit auf mehr als eine halbe Million geschätzt.

Nationales Konzept Seltene Krankheiten

Das Nationale Konzept Seltene Krankheiten ist die Antwort des Bundesrates auf die Postulate 10.4055 «Nationale Strategie zur Verbesserung der gesundheitlichen Situation von Menschen mit seltenen Krankheiten» und 11.4025 «Härtefallkommission Gesundheit».

Projekte und Massnahmen des Nationalen Konzepts Seltene Krankheiten

19 Massnahmen, um das Los von Menschen mit einer seltenen Krankheit zu erleichtern und sie optimal zu versorgen.

Nationales Konzept Seltene Krankheiten - Beteiligte Akteure

Nur gemeinsame Anstrengungen führen zu Verbesserungen