Health professions

The Swiss healthcare system needs a sufficient supply of qualified professionals. The FOPH regulates the health professions and assures high standards of quality in training and practice. Find out here about the medical and psychology professions and healthcare professions requiring qualifications offered by universities of applied sciences. You’ll also find information on the recognition of qualifications obtained abroad and the accreditation of basic and advanced training programmes. 

Logo Health 2020

Increasing the number of well-qualified health professionals is a key element in the Federal Council’s Health2020 strategy. Over 90 sub-projects are being run to achieve this aim, and these are described in a series of individual factsheets. Our page "Alle Aktivitäten Gesundheit2020" provides information on each sub-project – background, objectives, implementation status and further steps. Documents are available in German and French. These sub-projects relate to the promotion of qualified health professionals: 

Medical professions

The FOPH is responsible for medical professions requiring university-level study, and runs the register of medical professionals. We work closely with the universities, professional organisations and cantonal authorities. Find out more here.

Psychology professions

The FOPH is responsible for regulating the psychology professions and runs the register of psychology professionals. We work closely with the universities, professional organisations and cantonal authorities. Find out more here.

Foreign diplomas of health professions

The FOPH is responsible for the recognition of foreign university degrees and advanced training qualifications for university-level medical professions and the psychology professions. Find out more here.

Accreditation of health professions

Accreditation is the means by which the FOPH assures a high quality of basic and advanced healthcare training producing well qualified, expert professionals. Find out more here.

Foreign diplomas of health professions

The FOPH is responsible for the recognition of foreign university degrees and advanced training qualifications for university-level medical professions and the psychology professions. Find out more here.

Berufe im Gesundheitswesen

Das Schweizer Gesundheitswesen benötigt genügend und qualifizierte Fachkräfte. Das BAG regelt die Gesundheitsberufe und sorgt für eine hohe Qualität in der Aus- und Weiterbildung sowie bei der Berufsausübung. Informieren Sie sich hier über die Medizinal-, Psychologie- und Gesundheitsberufe der Tertiärstufe sowie über die Anerkennung von ausländischen Abschlüssen und die Akkreditierung von Aus- und Weiterbildungsgängen.

Logo Gesundheit 2020

Das Engagement für mehr und qualifiziertes Gesundheitspersonal ist ein Schwerpunkt der bundesrätlichen Strategie Gesundheit2020. Die Massnahmen von Gesundheit2020 werden in über 90 Teilprojekten umgesetzt, welche in einzelnen Faktenblättern beschrieben sind. Auf unserer Seite „Alle Aktivitäten Gesundheit2020“ finden Sie zu jedem Teilprojekt Informationen über die Ausgangslage, die Zielsetzungen, den Stand der Umsetzung und die weiteren Schritte. Die folgendenTeilprojekte beziehen sich auf die Förderung von qualifiziertem Gesundheitspersonal:

Medizinalberufe

Das BAG ist zuständig für die universitären Medizinalberufe und führt das Medizinalberuferegister. Wir arbeiten dabei eng mit Universitäten, Berufsorganisationen und kantonalen Behörden zusammen. Informieren Sie sich hier.

Psychologieberufe

Das BAG ist zuständig für die Regelung der Psychologieberufe und führt das Psychologieberuferegister. Dabei arbeiten wir eng mit Universitäten, Berufsorganisationen und kantonalen Behörden zusammen. Informieren Sie sich hier.

Gesundheitsberufe der Tertiärstufe

Die Gesundheitsberufe der Tertiärstufe sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Gesundheitssystems. Angesichts der Entwicklung der Gesundheitsbedürfnisse wird in Zukunft die Nachfrage nach diesen Gesundheitsfachpersonen weiter steigen.

Akkreditierung Gesundheitsberufe

Mit der Akkreditierung sorgt das BAG für qualitativ hochstehende Aus- und Weiterbildungen im Gesundheitsbereich, aus denen qualifizierte und kompetente Berufspersonen hervorgehen. Informieren Sie sich hier.

Ausländische Abschlüsse Gesundheitsberufe

Das BAG ist zuständig für die Anerkennung ausländischer Hochschulabschlüsse und Weiterbildungstitel der universitären Medizinalberufe und der Psychologieberufe. Informieren Sie sich hier.