Point prevalence survey in hospitals

The initial findings of the point prevalence survey conducted by Swissnoso at Swiss hospitals with the support of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) in 2017 show that 5.9 per cent of patients in Switzerland have suffered a hospital infection. 

With 5.5 per cent the mean for the EU, this puts Switzerland around the European average. The data are now being evaluated in more depth to determine the mortality rate and the costs attributable to healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). The results of these analyses will be available in the course of 2019.

13,000 patients in 96 hospitals

Prevalence surveys have a long tradition in hospital hygiene and HAI prevention. In 2017 Swissnoso, with the support of the FOPH, conducted the first nationwide point prevalence survey in Switzerland. The study had threefold aims: to assess the scale of HAIs and the use of antibiotics in Swiss acute care hospitals; to characterise patients, infections and the antibiotics used; to depict procedures for preventing HAIs and antibiotic resistance. The nationwide survey was conducted at 96 Swiss hospitals. Each participating hospital captured data on healthcare-associated infections on one day between April and June 2017, covering around 13,000 patients in total.

Next national survey in 2022

The point prevalence survey is to be repeated several times in the next few years in order to document developments in efforts to tackle avoidable infections in Swiss hospitals. This survey is also a surveillance measure that supports implementation of the minimum structural requirements in the prevention and control of healthcare-associated infections, which were published in 2021. The next national survey, which was initially scheduled for 2020, was postponed to 2022 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Swissnoso is once again responsible for organising it. The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) is also conducting a PPS in 2022. It will therefore be possible to compare the data from Switzerland with data from other European countries.

Between these national surveys, Swissnoso is supplying hospitals that wish to conduct the survey annually – as was the case in 2018, 2019 and 2020 – with tools, such as access to the database, training documents and the survey protocol. 

Last modification 16.12.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programme Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/grundlagen/punktpraevalenz-erhebung-in-spitaelern.html

Punktprävalenz-Erhebung in Spitälern

Erste Resultate der Punktprävalenz-Studie, die Swissnoso mit Unterstützung des Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG 2017 in den Schweizer Spitälern durchführte, zeigen: 5,9 Prozent der Patientinnen und Patienten in der Schweiz erleiden eine Spitalinfektion.

Damit bewegt sich die Schweiz im europäischen Durchschnitt – der Mittelwert der EU liegt bei 5,5 Prozent. Die Daten werden nun vertieft ausgewertet, um die Rate der Todesfälle und die Höhe der Kosten zu bestimmen, die auf healthcare-assoziierten Infektionen (HAI) zurückzuführen sind. Die Ergebnisse dieser Untersuchungen werden im Laufe des Jahres 2019 erhältlich sein.

13'000 Patientinnen und Patienten in 96 Spitälern

Prävalenzerhebungen haben in der Spitalhygiene und in der HAI-Prävention eine lange Tradition. Mit Unterstützung des BAG hat Swissnoso 2017 erstmals eine nationale Punkt-Prävalenzstudie durchgeführt. Die Studie verfolgte drei Ziele: Abschätzung des Ausmasses von HAI und des Einsatzes von Antibiotika in Schweizer Akutspitälern; Charakterisierung der Patientinnen und Patienten, der Infektionen, sowie der angewandten Antibiotika; Darstellung der Abläufe zur Prävention von HAI und Antibiotika-Resistenz. An der nationalen Messung haben 96 Schweizer Spitäler teilgenommen. Sie haben jeweils an einem Tag zwischen April und Juni 2017 bei rund 13‘000 Patientinnen und Patienten Daten zu healthcare-assoziierten Infektionen erhoben.

Nächste nationale Erhebung 2022

Die Punktprävalenz-Erhebung soll in den kommenden Jahren mehrfach wiederholt werden, um die Entwicklung im Kampf gegen vermeidbare Infektionen in Schweizer Spitälern zu dokumentieren. Diese Erhebung ist auch als Überwachungsmassnahme gedacht, um die Umsetzung der 2021 publizierten strukturellen Mindestanforderungen für die Prävention und Bekämpfung von healthcare-assoziierten Infektionen zu unterstützen. Die nächste nationale Erhebung, die ursprünglich für 2020 geplant war, wurde aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie abgesagt. Sie findet im 2022 statt. Die Organisation wird wiederum von Swissnoso übernommen. Das Europäische Zentrum für die Prävention und die Kontrolle von Krankheiten (ECDC) führt 2022 ebenfalls eine PPS durch. Damit wird es möglich, die Schweizer Daten mit denjenigen der europäischen Länder zu vergleichen.

Zwischen diesen nationalen Erhebungen stellt Swissnoso Instrumente wie den Zugang zur Datenbank, Schulungsunterlagen oder das Erhebungs-Protokoll den Spitälern zur Verfügung, welche diese Erhebung jährlich durchführen möchten, wie das 2018, 2019 und 2020 der Fall war.

Letzte Änderung 09.08.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Sektion Infektionskontrolle und Impfprogramm
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/grundlagen/punktpraevalenz-erhebung-in-spitaelern.html