Neuchâtel Cantonal Hospital: “HygièNE des mains”

An increase in adherence to hand hygiene measures from 61% to 85% within four years – such was the impressive result achieved by the Neuchâtel Cantonal Hospital. For its feat it was awarded the European Hand Hygiene Innovation Award 2017.

Comparison between hospitals as a motivating factor

“HygièNE des mains” (“Hand HygieNE”) is the name of the award-winning programme which was launched in 2012. It involved training, a personal hand hygiene kit for each employee and eye-catching communication tools, as well as personal audits, where a member of the hospital hygiene or the monitoring team observes a treatment sequence and provides expert feedback on hand hygiene. The results of the observation are analysed and regularly published in all five participating hospitals. This opportunity for comparison was a crucial factor for changing the corporate culture and, in connection with the non-judgmental feedbacks, led to the establishment of a minimum standard over time.

Success factors

The fact that hospital management initiated the project and supported it unreservedly was key to its success. Senior employees regularly took up the topic in meetings, and a comprehensive campaign with a broad range of measures was implemented.

Last modification 03.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/good-practice/kantonsspitals-neuenburg---hygiene-des-mains-.html

Kantonsspitals Neuenburg: «HygièNE des mains»

Von 61 auf 85 Prozent innerhalb von vier Jahren – diese eindrückliche Verbesserung in der Einhaltung von Händehygienemassnahmen gelang dem Kantonsspital Neuenburg. Es erhielt dafür den European Hand Hygiene Innovation Award 2017.  

Vergleich zwischen den Spitälern motiviert

«HygièNE des mains» heisst das preisgekrönte Programm, das 2012 lanciert wurde. Neben Schulungen, einem persönlichen Händehygiene-Kit für das Personal und auffällig gestalteten Kommunikationsmitteln umfasst es persönliche Audits. In diesen verfolgt ein Mitglied der Spitalhygiene oder des Beobachtungsteams eine Behandlungssequenz und gibt danach sein fachliches Feedback zur Händehygiene. Die Beobachtungsergebnisse werden ausgewertet und periodisch in allen fünf teilnehmenden Spitälern publiziert. Diese Vergleichsmöglichkeit war ein wesentlicher Faktor für die Veränderung der Betriebskultur. In Verbindung mit den wertungsfreien Feedbacks führte sie dazu, dass sich mit der Zeit ein Mindeststandard etablierte.

Erfolgsfaktoren

Ausschlaggebend für den Erfolg des Projekts war, dass der Anstoss von der Spitalleitung kam, die es uneingeschränkt unterstützte. Führende Mitarbeitende griffen das Thema regelmässig in Sitzungen auf  und es wurde eine flächendeckende Kampagne mit einem breiten Massnahmenfächer umgesetzt.

Letzte Änderung 08.07.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Sektion Infektionskontrolle und Impfprogramme
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/good-practice/kantonsspitals-neuenburg---hygiene-des-mains-.html