Baden Cantonal Hospital: SSI Intervention

The Baden Cantonal Hospital participated in the pilot phase of the “SSI Intervention” module for reducing surgical site infections. Ursula Leuenberger, the project manager and an advisor on hospital hygiene, reports.  

Ursula Leuenberger, how did you proceed in introducing “SSI Intervention”?

We formed a task force made up of medical management in the areas of surgery, anaesthesiology, infectiology and hospital hygiene, surgical care as well as the head of risk management. A little later, the head of ward for positioning care was also included.

We first changed our skin antisepsis and hair removal guidelines to conform to the Swissnoso standards. We also merged the anaesthesiology and infectiology guidelines for perioperative antibiotic prophylaxis. All affected personnel were then trained for the new guidelines.

What problems did you run into?

In the past, nursing staff handled hair removal in the operating theatre. According to Swissnoso, that job should be handled in pre-op, so we proceeded to assign it to the positioning care unit. For capacity reasons, the latter initially resisted that change, which meant that responsibilities remained unclear for a bit. But by now everyone has accepted the new process. As is always the case, it takes time and conversations to alter a long-established practice.

What do you attribute the successful implementation of the module to?

It was crucial that the task force involve representatives of all groups involved in the process. Equally important was the support of management, which compelled everyone to cooperate in a constructive manner. This made it easier for me to observe the processes in the surgical area and support infection prevention personnel in making improvements.

Last modification 03.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programme Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/good-practice/kantonsspital-baden--ssi-intervention.html

Kantonsspital Baden: SSI Intervention

Das Kantonsspital Baden nahm an der Pilotphase des Moduls «SSI Intervention» zur Reduktion postoperativer Wundinfektionen teil. Die Projektleiterin Ursula Leuenberger, Beraterin für Spitalhygiene, berichtet von ihren Erfahrungen.

Ursula Leuenberger, wie sind Sie bei der Einführung von «SSI Intervention» vorgegangen?

Wir bildeten eine Projektgruppe aus den ärztlichen Leitungen der Chirurgie, Anästhesie, Infektiologie und Spitalhygiene, der Operationspflege und der Leiterin Risk Management. Die Stationsleiterin Lagerungspflege wurde nachträglich ebenfalls beigezogen.

Zuerst passten wir unsere Weisungen zur Hautantisepsis und zur Haarkürzung an die Swissnoso-Vorgaben an. Ebenso führten wir Richtlinien zur perioperativen Antibiotikaprophylaxe aus der Anästhesie und der Infektiologie zusammen. Alle Betroffenen wurden dann zu den neuen Richtlinien geschult.  

Welchen Schwierigkeiten sind Sie begegnet?

Früher nahm das Pflegepersonal die Haarkürzungen im Operationssaal vor. Laut Swissnoso sollte dies in der OP-Vorbereitung erfolgen, also wurde die Aufgabe neu der Lagerungspflege zugewiesen. Aus Kapazitätsgründen wehrte sie sich zuerst dagegen, und die Zuständigkeiten blieben eine Weile unklar. Mittlerweile akzeptieren alle den neuen Prozess. Wie immer braucht es Gespräche und Zeit, um eine langjährig etablierte Praxis zu ändern.

Worauf führen Sie die erfolgreiche Einführung des Moduls zurück?

Die Vertretung aller Prozessbeteiligten in der Projektgruppe war sehr wichtig. Zentral war auch die Unterstützung der Geschäftsleitung. Sie verpflichtete alle zur konstruktiven Mitarbeit. Dies erleichterte mir, die Vorgänge im Operationsbereich zu beobachten. So konnte ich die Mitarbeitenden der Infektionsprävention bei Verbesserungen unterstützen.

Letzte Änderung 13.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Sektion Infektionskontrolle und Impfprogramme
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/good-practice/kantonsspital-baden--ssi-intervention.html