SSI Surveillance

The consequences of surgical site infections (SSIs) are longer stays in hospitals, greater costs and even death. Swissnoso’s SSI Surveillance module records and monitors the development of surgical site infections in Swiss hospitals.

A large percentage of healthcare-associated infections are surgical site infections or SSIs. On behalf of the ANQ (the Swiss National Association for Quality Development in Hospitals), Swissnoso has been using the surveillance module to track SSIs since 2009. It monitors various types of operation in the fields of visceral surgery, gynaecology, orthopaedics, cardiac and spinal surgery.

Better quality thanks to public comparison

Every year Swissnoso provides healthcare institutions with an individual report and produces a national report. On its website the ANQ publishes risk-adjusted SSI rates transparently for each hospital and clinic. The data are presented and analysed under the scientific supervision of Swissnoso.

The publication of the results is an important part of the module, enabling hospitals to compare themselves with their peers, see their potential for improvement and identify any need for intervention to improve the quality of their medical care. More than 170 hospitals, clinics and hospital facilities in all Swiss cantons now participate in SSI Surveillance.

Last modification 03.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/ssi-surveillance.html

SSI Surveillance

Längere Spitalaufenthalte, höhere Kosten und sogar Todesfälle: dies sind die Folgen von Wundinfektionen nach chirurgischen Eingriffen. Mit dem Modul «SSI Surveillance» erfasst und überwacht Swissnoso die Entwicklung der Wundinfektionen in Schweizer Spitälern.

Ein grosser Teil der Healthcare-assoziierten Infektionen entfällt auf postoperative Wundinfektionen (englisch: Surgical Site Infections (SSI). Im Auftrag des Nationalen Vereins für Qualitätsentwicklung in Spitälern und Kliniken (ANQ) erfasst Swissnoso im Modul Surveillance die Entwicklung der Wundinfektionen seit 2009. Überwacht werden mehrere Operationsarten aus den Bereichen Viszeralchirurgie, Gynäkologie, Orthopädie, Herz- und Wirbelsäulenchirurgie.  

Bessere Qualität dank öffentlichem Vergleich

Swissnoso bedient die Gesundheitseinrichtungen jährlich mit einem individuellen Bericht und erstellt einen nationalen Bericht. Der ANQ publiziert die risikobereinigten Wundinfektionsraten transparent pro Spital bzw. Klinik auf seiner Website. Die Darstellung und Analyse der Daten erfolgen unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung von Swissnoso.

Die öffentliche Mitteilung der Ergebnisse ist ein wichtiger Teil des Moduls. Sie erlaubt es den Spitälern, sich untereinander zu vergleichen, ihr Verbesserungspotenzial festzustellen und allfälligen Interventionsbedarf zu ermitteln, um die Qualität ihrer medizinischen Leistungen zu steigern. Mittlerweile beteiligen sich über 170 Spitäler, Kliniken und Spitalstandorte aus allen Schweizer Kantonen an SSI Surveillance.

Letzte Änderung 13.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Sektion Infektionskontrolle und Impfprogramme
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/ssi-surveillance.html