“SSI (surgical site infection) Intervention” module

Surgical site infections (SSIs) account for one quarter of hospital infections. Many of them could be avoided with simple practical measures. Swissnoso has developed a corresponding module.

Skizze Notizen

The “SSI Intervention” module developed by Swissnoso tackles the issue at three levels: by improving the processes of preparing patients for surgery (hair removal, preoperative skin disinfection and antibiotic prophylaxis); by simplifying monitoring; and by automatically evaluating whether medical personnel have correctly implemented the preventive measures. The “Clean Care Monitor” app captures the observations made during the processes. “SSI Intervention” furthermore aims at improving the organisational structure for the prevention of surgical site infections in participating hospitals in order to clarify who is responsible for what.

The module is available to all hospitals

The three-year pilot phase was successfully concluded in 2018. We were pleased to note an increase in adherence to the measures in hospitals from 56% to 66%, even though the improvement was not yet statistically significant. The module aims at lowering surgical site infections by a minimum of 10% within two years. The programme has been available to all Swiss hospitals since October 2018.

Last modification 10.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/ssi-intervention.html

Modul SSI Intervention (Surgical Site Infections)

Wundinfektionen nach chirurgischen Eingriffen – englisch: Surgical Site Infections (SSI) – machen über einen Viertel der Spitalinfektionen aus. Viele wären mit einfachen praktischen Massnahmen vermeidbar. Swissnoso hat ein entsprechendes Modul entwickelt.

Skizze Notizen

Das von Swissnoso entwickelte Modul «SSI Intervention» setzt auf drei Ebenen an: Es optimiert wichtige Vorgänge in der Vorbereitung von Operationspatienten und -patientinnen (Haarentfernung, präoperative Hautdesinfektion und Antibiotikaprophylaxe), vereinfacht ihre Überwachung und wertet automatisch aus, ob das medizinische Personal die präventiven Massnahmen korrekt durchgeführt hat. Um Beobachtungen an den Prozessen zu erfassen, kommt die App «Clean Care Monitor» zum Einsatz. Ein weiteres Ziel von «SSI Intervention» ist es, in den teilnehmenden Spitälern die Organisationsstruktur in der Prävention postoperativer Wundinfektionen zu verbessern. Es soll klarer werden, wer wofür verantwortlich ist.

Modul steht allen Spitälern zur Verfügung

Die dreijährige Pilotphase konnte 2018 erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden. Erfreulicherweise verbesserte sich die Einhaltung der Massnahmen in den Spitälern in diesem Zeitraum von 56 auf 66 Prozent, doch war dieser Anstieg statistisch noch nicht signifikant. Das Modul verfolgt das Ziel die Wundinfektionen nach Operationen innert zweier Jahre um mindestens zehn Prozent zu senken. Seit Oktober 2018 steht das Programm allen Schweizer Spitälern zur Verfügung.

Letzte Änderung 03.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Sektion Infektionskontrolle und Impfprogramme
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/ssi-intervention.html