“progress! Urinary catheter safety”

Urinary catheters are among the most frequent causes of healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). In 2015, Patient Safety Switzerland and Swissnoso launched the third national pilot programme “progress! Urinary catheter safety”, which is supported by the FOPH’s Quality Strategy. It concluded in 2018 – with positive results.

Half of all urinary catheters are unnecessary

One out of every four patients in a Swiss hospital will receive a urinary catheter. Bacteria can get into the urine through this point of entry, which increases the risk of a urinary tract infection. This in turn extends the period of hospitalisation and requires additional treatment. Roughly 50% of the 350,000 urinary catheters placed annually in Switzerland do not have a clear medical indication.

“Rarer, shorter, safer”

Since 2016, the Quality Strategy of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) had been supporting the pilot programme “progress! Urinary catheter safety”. “progress!” aimed to reduce the use of urinary catheters in hospitals and avoid the associated urinary tract infections as well as other complications. At its core, the programme was a bundle of interventions and an educational campaign for hospital personnel. The interventions followed the maxim “rarer” (catheterisation only in cases of clear indication), “shorter” (daily review of the necessity for a catheter) and “safer” (correct insertion and care of the catheter).

Medical staff improved their knowledge

The pilot concluded in 2018 and delivered positive results overall. Medical staff showed the clearest improvement; they exhibited a marked increase in their attention to the issue and strengthened their expertise in the safe handling of urinary catheters. In fact, the use of catheters was reduced, as were non-infectious complications such as haemorrhaging from the urethra. But since the incidence of urinary tract infections in the participating hospitals was very low even during the baseline survey, no change in the incidence of HAIs could be ascertained.

Last modification 03.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/-progress----sicherheit-bei-blasenkathetern-.html

«progress! – Sicherheit bei Blasenkathetern»

Blasenkatheter sind eine der häufigsten Quellen für healthcare-assoziierte Infektionen (HAI). Patientensicherheit Schweiz und Swissnoso lancierten 2015 das dritte nationale Pilotprogramm «progress! Sicherheit bei Blasenkathetern», das von der Qualitätsstrategie des BAG unterstützt wird. Es wurde 2018 abgeschlossen – mit positiven Resultaten.  

Jeder zweite Blasenkatheter nicht zwingend nötig

Wer in einem Schweizer Spital behandelt wird, erhält in einem von vier Fällen einen Blasenkatheter. Über diese Eintrittspforte können Bakterien in den Urin gelangen, was das Risiko einer Infektion der Harnwege erhöht. Das wiederum verlängert den Spitalaufenthalt und es braucht zusätzliche Behandlungen. Rund die Hälfte der 350 000 Blasenkatheter, die in der Schweiz jedes Jahr gelegt werden, haben keine klare medizinische Indikation.  

«Seltener, kürzer, sicherer»

Seit 2016 unterstützte die Qualitätsstrategie des Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) das Pilotprogramm «progress! Sicherheit bei Blasenkathetern». Das Ziel von «progress!» war, die Verwendung von Blasenkathetern im Spital zu reduzieren und damit verbundene Harnwegsinfektionen sowie andere Komplikationen zu vermeiden. Im Kern bestand das Programm aus einem Interventionsbündel und einer Schulungskampagne für das Spitalpersonal. Die Interventionen folgen der Maxime «seltener» (Kathetereinlade nur mit klarer Indikation), «kürzer» (tägliche Überprüfung der Notwendigkeit des Katheters) und «sicherer» (Katheter korrekt einlegen und pflegen).

Medizinische Mitarbeitende verbesserten ihr Wissen

Der Pilot konnte 2018 abgeschlossen werden und lieferte insgesamt positive Resultate. Am deutlichsten war die Verbesserung bei den medizinischen Mitarbeitenden: Sie steigerten ihre Aufmerksamkeit für das Thema deutlich und stärkten ihr Wissen zum sicheren Umgang mit Blasenkathetern. Tatsächlich gelang es auch, die Katheternutzung zu senken und nicht-infektiöse Komplikationen, wie Blutungen aus der Harnröhre zu reduzieren. Da jedoch die Rate von Harnwegsinfektionen in den teilnehmenden Spitälern bereits während der Baseline-Erhebung sehr niedrig war, liessen sich keine Änderungen in der Häufigkeit von HAI feststellen.  

Letzte Änderung 03.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Sektion Infektionskontrolle und Impfprogramme
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/-progress----sicherheit-bei-blasenkathetern-.html