National Vaccination Strategy (NVS)

“To protect the population adequately against vaccine-preventable diseases”. In pursuit of this goal, the Confederation, the Cantons and other stakeholders have drawn up the National Vaccination Strategy (NVS) and the associated action plan. They are now working together to implement them.

NSI: Conseil pour une famille

Why does Switzerland need an NVS?

Vaccination is one of the most effective and least expensive health measures. However, the vaccination system in Switzerland still has some weak points. Access to vaccinations is sometimes difficult, and some groups within the population are not convinced that certain vaccinations are necessary or effective. Furthermore, the roles and responsibilities of the parties involved are unclear.

The NVS creates a framework within which vaccines can be administered in a coordinated, effective and efficient manner to protect the population. It has three main goals:

  • to encourage stakeholders to take the issue of vaccination seriously.
  • to ensure that the public is given a good enough understanding of the issue tomake an informed decision.
  • to simplify access to vaccinations.

Development of the strategy

Work on the development of the NVS began at the end of 2012. The Confederation, the Cantons and the main stakeholders worked together to define the need for action, goals and priority measures.  In spring 2016, all involved parties were invited to share their opinions on the strategy project in a public hearing. The Federal Council adopted the NVS on 11 January 2017. It tasked the FOPH with its implementation in collaboration with the cantons and other stakeholders.

As the first step in its implementation, the strategy stipulates that the individual measures needed to achieve its goals be fleshed out. The partners tasked with implementation have chosen an action plan as the format for this detailed planning.

Action plan for implementation

On 2 July 2018, the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Health Ministers (GDK) and FOPH approved the action plan for the NSI. It fleshes out the elements described in the strategy, namely:

  • the measures, roles and responsibilities that will be used to implement the strategy;
  • the timelines for implementation, and how implementation will be organised and evaluated.

The action plan defines 28 measures that are needed to fulfil the goals of the NVS. These can be grouped into various thematic areas, such as provision, training and communication.

The action plan provides all parties involved in vaccination with a strategy implementation “logbook”. Like the strategy itself, the action plan is the result of a participative process. All the organisations and institutions involved in the NVS contributed. The aim of the action plan is to optimise cooperation between the different stakeholders. This is essential if the NVS is to be a success.

Outlook and evaluation

The NVS makes provision for two five-year implementation periods. An interim evaluation is scheduled for after the first phase in 2023; the full ten years will be evaluated after the second phase. The 28 measures set out in the action plan will have been launched by the time the interim evaluation takes place. They do not have a fixed duration.
Both the direction and content of the action plan may be modified in line with the findings of the interim evaluation.  

Documents

Further relevant documents are available in other languages:  

Legislation

Further informations

Vaccinations and prevention

Infectious diseases can have serious consequences. Vaccinations are the most effective form of protection, not only for your own child. There are also medicinal prophylactic treatments for diseases such as malaria.

Strategy Health2020

Going forward the Swiss healthcare system has to maintain its high quality and remain fundable and accessible to everyone. This is the goal of the 36 measures set out in the federal administration’s Health2020 strategy. Find out more here.

Communicable Diseases Legislation – Epidemics Act, (EpidA)

The new Federal Act of 3.12.2010 on the control of communicable human diseases (Epidemics Act; EpidA) has been in force since 1.1.2016, and enables a timely detection, monitoring, prevention and control.

Last modification 23.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

E-mail SNV

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationale-strategie-impfungen-nsi.html

Nationale Strategie zu Impfungen (NSI)

«Die Bevölkerung ausreichend vor impfverhütbaren Krankheiten schützen». Für dieses Ziel haben Bund, Kantone und weitere Akteure die nationale Strategie zu Impfungen (NSI) und den zugehörigen Aktionsplan erarbeitet. Gemeinsam setzen sie diese jetzt auch um.

NSI: Familienberatung

Warum braucht es die NSI?

Impfungen gehören zu den wirksamsten und kostengünstigsten medizinischen Präventionsmassnahmen. Das Impfsystem in der Schweiz hat aber noch Schwachstellen: Der Zugang zu Impfungen ist nicht immer einfach. Teile der Bevölkerung sind verunsichert, ob einzelne Impfungen Sinn machen und wirken. Und die Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten der Akteure sind unklar.

Die NSI schafft die Voraussetzungen für einen koordinierten, effektiven und effizienten Einsatz der Impfungen zum Schutz der Bevölkerung. Sie hat drei grundlegende Ziele:

  • Die Akteure sollen angeregt werden, das Thema Impfung ernst zu nehmen.
  • Die Bevölkerung soll durch eine optimierte Information eine fundierte Entscheidung treffen können.
  • Der Zugang zu den Impfungen soll erleichtert werden.

Die Entwicklung der Strategie

Die Arbeit an der Strategie begann Ende 2012: Der Handlungsbedarf, die Ziele und die vorrangigen Massnahmen wurden vom Bund, den Kantonen und den Hauptakteuren gemeinsam erarbeitet.  Im Frühling 2016 wurden alle involvierten Kreise in einer öffentlichen Anhörung dazu eingeladen, ihre Stellungnahme über den Strategieentwurf abzugeben. Am 11. Januar 2017 hat der Bundesrat die NSI verabschiedet. Er hat das BAG beauftragt, die Strategie in Zusammenarbeit mit den Kantonen und weiteren Akteuren umzusetzen.

Die Strategie definiert – als ersten Schritt ihrer Umsetzung –, dass die einzelnen Massnahmen zur Erreichung der strategischen Ziele konkretisiert werden. Ebenso sollen die jeweils zu erwartenden Ergebnisse spezifiziert werden. Für diese Detailplanung haben die Umsetzungspartner die Form eines Aktionsplans gewählt.

Ein Aktionsplan für die Umsetzung

Am 2. Juli 2018 verabschiedete der Projektausschuss den Aktionsplan zur NSI. Er konkretisiert die in der Strategie beschriebenen Elemente; dies sind

  • die zur Strategieumsetzung vorgesehenen Massnahmen, Rollen und Zuständigkeiten;
  • die zeitliche Dimension, die Organisationund die Evaluation der Umsetzung.

Der Aktionsplan definiert 28 Massnahmen, die für die Erfüllung der NSI notwendig sind. Sie lassen sich in verschiedene Themenbereiche gruppieren wie beispielsweise Versorgung, Ausbildung oder Kommunikation.
Der Aktionsplan dient allen im Impfbereich tätigen Akteuren als «Logbuch» für die Umsetzung der Strategie. Wie bereits die Strategie entstand auch der Aktionsplan in einem partizipativen Prozess: Alle in die NSI involvierten Organisationen und Institutionen wurden einbezogen. Der Aktionsplan soll denn auch die Zusammenarbeit der verschiedenen Akteure optimieren. Dies ist zentral für den Erfolg der NSI.

Ausblick und Evaluation

Die NSI sieht zwei fünfjährige Umsetzungsperioden vor: Nach der ersten ist 2023 eine Zwischenevaluation geplant, nach der zweiten werden die gesamten zehn Jahre evaluiert. Die 28 Massnahmen des Aktionsplans sollen bis zur geplanten Zwischenevaluation lanciert sein. Ihre Laufzeit ist nicht befristet.
Je nach Erkenntnissen bei der Zwischenevaluation können Ausrichtung und Inhalte des Aktionsplans angepasst werden.  

Weiterführende Themen

Impfungen & Prophylaxe

Infektionskrankheiten können schwere Folgen haben. Impfungen sind der wirksamste Schutz, nicht nur für das eigene Kind. Gegen gewisse Krankheiten wie Malaria gibt es medikamentöse Prophylaxe.

Strategie Gesundheit2020

Das Schweizer Gesundheitssystem muss auch in Zukunft qualitativ hochstehend, finanzierbar und für alle zugänglich bleiben. Dieses Ziel verfolgt die Strategie Gesundheit2020 des Bundes mit 36 Massnahmen. Informieren Sie sich hier.

Gesetzgebung Übertragbare Krankheiten – Epidemiengesetz (EpG)

Das Epidemiengesetz soll gewährleisten, dass übertragbare Krankheiten frühzeitig erkannt, überwacht, verhütet und bekämpft werden und trägt dazu bei, Krankheitsausbrüche mit grossem Gefährdungspotenzial besser zu bewältigen.

Letzte Änderung 04.03.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

E-Mail NSI

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationale-strategie-impfungen-nsi.html