Health Literacy

We are committed to exploring and improving the health literacy of the Swiss population. The results of the Swiss Health Literacy Survey 2019-21 have been presented in September 2021. Two reports on coronavirus-related health literacy are also available.

Health literacy refers to the ability of the individual to take decisions in daily life that have a positive impact on health. It needs to be promoted by the creation of appropriate structural conditions. Strengthening the health literacy of the population is an aim of the Federal Council's Health2030 strategy. Optimising the information provided to the public should help people move more efficiently in the healthcare system, better prevent illnesses and manage their health with greater care.

Swiss Health Literacy Survey 2019-21

Switzerland participated in an international survey on the health literacy of its population. This survey took place simultaneously in other countries of the WHO Europe region. The results were published in the form of a national report. They are also designed to serve as the basis for future measures.

Health literacy and the COVID-19 pandemic

In addition to surveys on health literacy in general, the FOPH and partner organisations are also investigating the coronavirus-related health literacy of the population as a whole and of migrants in Switzerland.

Older studies on health literacy

The results of the representative "Health literacy survey" in 2015 and further information can be found in German or French on the following websites:

Gesundheitskompetenz

Compétences en santé

Further information

Health Equity

Our health system must be accessible to all, regardless of language, origin, social status or educational level.

National Strategy Prevention of Non-communicable Diseases (NCD strategy)

A healthy lifestyle would help prevent many non-communicable diseases and reduce their consequences. This is where the NCD strategy and its partners come in.

Last modification 17.01.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Prevention and Healthcare Provision Directorate
Health strategies
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 30 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitspolitik/gesundheitskompetenz.html

Gesundheitskompetenz

Wir setzen uns dafür ein, die Gesundheitskompetenz der Bevölkerung zu erforschen und zu stärken. Die Ergebnisse des Health Literacy Survey Schweiz 2019-21 werden im September 2021 präsentiert. Bereits verfügbar sind zwei Berichte zur Corona-bezogenen Gesundheitskompetenz.

Gesundheitskompetenz ist die Fähigkeit des Einzelnen, im täglichen Leben Entscheidungen zu treffen, die sich positiv auf die Gesundheit auswirken. Sie muss durch geeignete Rahmenbedingungen gefördert werden. Die Stärkung der Gesundheitskompetenz der Bevölkerung ist ein Ziel der bundesrätlichen Strategie Gesundheit2030. Dank Optimierung der Bevölkerungsinformation sollen sich die Menschen effizienter im Gesundheitssystem bewegen, Krankheiten besser vorbeugen und mit ihrer Gesundheit sorgsamer umgehen können.

Health Literacy Survey Schweiz 2019-21

Die Schweiz beteiligt sich mit einer Befragung zur Gesundheitskompetenz ihrer Bevölkerung an einer internationalen Erhebung. Diese findet gleichzeitig in anderen Ländern der WHO-Region Europa statt. Die Ergebnisse werden in Form eines nationalen Berichts veröffentlicht. Sie sollen auch als Basis für zukünftige Massnahmen dienen.

Gesundheitskompetenz und Covid-19-Pandemie

Neben Erhebungen zur Gesundheitskompetenz im Allgemeinen, ermitteln das BAG und Partnerorganisationen auch die Corona-bezogene Gesundheitskompetenz der Gesamtbevölkerung sowie der Migrantinnen und Migranten in der Schweiz.

Ältere Studien zur Gesundheitskompetenz

Die Ergebnisse der repräsentativen «Erhebung Gesundheitskompetenz» von 2015 und weitere Informationen finden Sie untenstehend in der Infobox, in der Rubrik Dokumente.

Weiterführende Themen

Gesundheitliche Chancengleichheit

Unser Gesundheitssystem muss für alle zugänglich sein - unabhängig von Sprache, Herkunft, sozialem Status und Bildungsniveau.

Strategie nichtübertragbarer Krankheiten (NCD Strategie)

In der Schweiz leiden 2,2 Mio. Menschen an nichtübertragbaren Krankheiten wie Diabetes, Krebs oder Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Ein gesunder Lebensstil kann solche Erkrankungen vermeiden. Darauf basiert unsere Präventionsstrategie.

Letzte Änderung 20.07.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Öffentliche Gesundheit
Abteilung Gesundheitsstrategien
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 30 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitspolitik/gesundheitskompetenz.html