Swiss Health Foreign Policy

Switzerland’s health foreign policy is a political instrument that enables Switzerland to adopt a coordinated approach to, and a coherent position on, global health at an international level. 

 
Discours d'ouverture du Conseiller fédéral Alain Berset lors de la 71ème Assemblée mondiale de la Santé, Genève (CH), 21 mai 2018 (©WHO / A. Tardy)
Federal Councillor Alain Berset giving the opening address at the 71st World Health Assembly in Geneva, Switzerland, on 21 May 2018 (©WHO / A. Tardy)

Promoting the health and wellbeing of all

On 15 May 2019, the Federal Council adopted an updated version of its health foreign policy covering the period from 2019 to 2024.  This policy enables federal players to follow a uniform approach to international cooperation with other countries, international organisations and other international stakeholders with the aim of achieving the highest attainable standard of health for all.

The Federal Council intends to play an international role in the six priority action areas listed below:

    1. Health protection and humanitarian crises

    2. Access to medicine

    3. Sustainable healthcare and digitalisation

    4. Health determinants

    5. Governance of the global health regime

    6. Addiction policy

As regards health protection and humanitarian crises, for example, one of Switzerland’s aims is to improve protection against global health risks for the Swiss population. In pursuit of this aim, it is involved in efforts within the World Health Organization (WHO) to strengthen the international system set up to detect, monitor, prevent and combat transmissible diseases. Furthermore, it is helping to combat the growing problem of resistance to conventional antibiotics, primarily by promoting action to prevent infectious diseases, develop new antibiotics and provide coordination at international level. Finally, Switzerland is working to ensure access to care in crisis situations in all countries.

Alignment with the international context

Global developments in recent years and new health-related challenges were also factored into the process of aligning Swiss health foreign policy with the international context. In particular, these include replacing the UN’s Millennium Development Goals with the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. It was in this context that the Federal Council adopted the Health Foreign Policy 2019–2024. The policy follows the same general direction as the preceding programme, but includes six action areas that are closely aligned with the Sustainable Development Goals of the UN’s 2030 Agenda. This is to enable Switzerland to make an even more effective contribution to national and international health promotion.

The need for consistency on the international stage

Switzerland’s health foreign policy has been updated with the aim of ensuring that the national policy develops in a way that is consistent with Switzerland’s international involvement in health. Responding to the complex nature of relations between the many different players involved in health at international level, Switzerland became one of the first countries to adopt an interdepartmental health foreign policy strategy. This instrument enables Switzerland to develop a coordinated, coherent public health policy at both national and international level. The six action areas addressed by the health foreign policy were identified in conjunction with stakeholders in the cantons, private sector, research and civil society, as well as other affected players. There is interaction between the action areas and the activities associated with each. The Health Foreign Policy 2019–2024 will be reviewed in six years’ time at the latest.

The health foreign policy addresses the following stakeholders:

Federal bodies, such as the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), the Federal Institute of Intellectual Property and the Swiss Conference of the Cantonal Ministers of Public Health; medical and scientific institutes, including hospitals, clinics, universities and research centres; other non-State players, specifically foundations, associations, non-governmental organisations and the private sector.

 
 

Last modification 07.10.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
International Affairs Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/schweizer-gesundheitsaussenpolitik.html

Schweizerische Gesundheitsaussenpolitik (GAP)

Die Gesundheitsaussenpolitik (GAP) ist ein politisches Instrument, das der Schweiz ermöglicht, auf internationaler Ebene einen koordinierten Ansatz und eine kohärente Haltung zur globalen Gesundheit zu vertreten.

 
brab
Eröffnungsrede von Bundesrat Alain Berset an der 71. Weltgesundheitsversammlung, Genf (CH), 21. Mai 2018 (©WHO / A. Tardy)

Förderung von Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden aller Menschen

Am 15. Mai 2019 hat der Bundesrat eine aktualisierte Version seiner Gesundheitsaussenpolitik für die Jahre 2019–2024 verabschiedet. Dank dieser Politik folgen die Bundesakteure einer gemeinsamen Logik zur internationalen Zusammenarbeit mit Staaten, internationalen Organisationen und anderen internationalen Akteuren, um einen möglichst hohen Gesundheitsstandard für alle zu erreichen.

Der Bundesrat will sich auf internationaler Ebene in folgenden sechs prioritären Aktionsfeldern engagieren:  

    1. Gesundheitsschutz und humanitäre Krisen

    2. Zugang zu Heilmitteln

    3. Nachhaltige Gesundheitsversorgung und Digitalisierung

    4. Gesundheitsdeterminanten

    5. Gouvernanz in der globalen Gesundheitsordnung

    6. Suchtpolitik

Als Beispiel: In Bezug auf den Gesundheitsschutz und die humanitären Krisen will die Schweiz unter anderem den Schutz ihrer Bevölkerung vor globalen Gesundheitsrisiken verbessern. Dazu beteiligt sie sich in der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) an der Stärkung des internationalen Systems zur Früherkennung, Überwachung, Verhütung und Bekämpfung von übertragbaren Krankheiten. Ausserdem setzt sie sich für die Bekämpfung der zunehmenden Resistenz gegen herkömmliche Antibiotika ein und fördert dazu insbesondere die Prävention von Infektionskrankheiten, die Entwicklung neuer Antibiotika und die internationale Koordination. Schliesslich tritt sie dafür ein, dass in allen Ländern der Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung in Krisensituationen gewährleistet ist.

Auf den internationalen Kontext zugeschnittene Politik

Die globalen Entwicklungen der letzten Jahre und neue gesundheitliche Herausforderungen wurden bei der Anpassung der Gesundheitsaussenpolitik an den internationalen Kontext ebenfalls berücksichtigt. Dazu gehört auch die Ersetzung der Millenniums-Entwicklungsziele der Vereinten Nationen durch die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat der Bundesrat die Gesundheitsaussenpolitik 2019–2024 verabschiedet, welche die allgemeine Ausrichtung des Vorgängerprogramms beibehält, aber sechs Aktionsfelder umfasst, die stark auf die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) der UN-Agenda 2030 abgestimmt sind. Damit soll sichergestellt werden, dass die Schweiz einen noch wirksameren Beitrag zur nationalen und globalen Gesundheit leisten kann.

Kohärenz auf dem internationalen Parkett

Die GAP wurde aktualisiert, um die Kohärenz zwischen der Entwicklung der nationalen Politik und dem internationalen Engagement der Schweiz im Gesundheitsbereich zu gewährleisten. Angesichts der Komplexität der Beziehungen zwischen den vielen internationalen Gesundheitsakteuren war die Schweiz eines der ersten Länder, die eine departementsübergreifende Strategie für die Gesundheitsaussenpolitik verabschiedet haben. Dank dieses Instruments kann die Schweiz eine koordinierte und kohärente Gesundheitspolitik auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene entwickeln. Die sechs Aktionsfelder der GAP wurden in Absprache mit Akteuren der Kantone, der Privatwirtschaft, der Forschung und der Zivilgesellschaft sowie mit weiteren betroffenen Akteuren festgelegt. Zwischen den Aktionsfeldern und den damit verbundenen jeweiligen Aktivitäten bestehen Wechselwirkungen. Die GAP 2019–2024 wird innert höchstens sechs Jahren neu überprüft.

Die GAP bezieht folgende Akteure ein:

 

Eidgenössische Organe wie das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG), das Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA), das Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft (SECO), das Eidgenössische Institut für Geistiges Eigentum (IGE) oder die Schweizerische Konferenz der kantonalen Gesundheitsdirektorinnen und -direktoren (GDK), medizinische und wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen wie Spitäler, Kliniken, Universitäten und Forschungszentren, weitere nicht staatliche Akteure wie Stiftungen, Verbände, Nichtregierungsorganisationen und den Privatsektor.

 

Letzte Änderung 15.11.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Internationales
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/schweizer-gesundheitsaussenpolitik.html