International Health Regulations (IHR)

The International Health Regulations (2005) (IHR) govern international cooperation to control any events (natural, deliberate or accidental) which pose a threat to public health (infectious diseases, biological or chemical agents, ionising radiation). They also provide a regulatory framework for the WHO to declare a Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC). One of the main objectives of the IHR is to combat the global spread of infectious diseases without unnecessarily restricting the free movement of persons and goods.

Global entry-into-effect and adoption in Switzerland

The IHR in their revised edition of 2005 came into force at international level on 15 June 2007. The Swiss Federal Council approved the regulations without any reservations, and designated the FOPH’s Communicable Diseases Division as Switzerland’s focal point. The revised Epidemics Act has incorporated the IHR (2005) since 2016, and governs their application in Switzerland.

Amendments to the IHR

Switzerland is playing an active part in the discussions and negotiations on the amendments to the IHR (2005). More than 300 proposed amendments have been submitted by States Parties with a view to filling any regulatory gaps and strengthening their provisions.

The Working Group on Amendments to the International Health Regulations (2005)

The Working Group on Amendments to the International Health Regulations (2005) (WGIHR), which is dedicated to the amendment process of the IHR (2005), is composed of representatives from the 196 IHR States Parties. Negotiations are currently scheduled to run until May 2024. Switzerland’s active participation in such negotiations as a State Party is of key importance if the country is to represent its interests therein in a duly targeted manner.

As soon as an amended version of the IHR has been devised by the WGIHR, this will be published on the FOPH website. All the official documents relating to this process are available on the WHO website.

Switzerland’s position

Since the current negotiations are not intended to produce a full revision of the IHR but are instead focused on targeted amendments to the same, Switzerland holds the view – and represents this during the negotiations – that it is essential that the scope and the purpose of the IHR remain unchanged.

For Switzerland, the references in the IHR to human rights and fundamental freedoms are crucial and must be retained. These form the basis of our society, and were one of the key achievements of the 2005 revision.

Switzerland also attaches particular importance to the rapid and reliable exchange of information, including information on pathogen samples and genetic sequencing data (GSD). This is a key and, from Switzerland’s perspective, non-negotiable element for surveillance and early intervention. Switzerland is further opposed to the idea of attaching any conditions to the exchanges of epidemiological data.

Switzerland will only determine whether it agrees with the results of the present IHR amendment process once the negotiations have been concluded and the final amended document has been compiled. Switzerland will continue to have sovereignty over its own health policy and over the measures required in the event of a PHEIC, as well as in the event of a pandemic.

Last modification 29.05.2024

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
International Affairs Division
Global Health Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/multilaterale-zusammenarbeit/organisation-mondiale-sante/reglement-sanitaire-international.html

Internationale Gesundheitsvorschriften (IGV)

Die IGV (2005) regeln die internationale Zusammenarbeit zur Eindämmung von Ereignissen (natürlich, beabsichtigt und durch Unfälle herbeigeführt), welche eine Bedrohung für die öffentliche Gesundheit darstellen (Infektionskrankheiten, biologische oder chemische Wirkstoffe, ionisierende Strahlung). Sie sind das Regelwerk zur Feststellung einer gesundheitlichen Notlage von internationaler Tragweite (Public Health Emergency of International Concern – PHEIC) durch die WHO. Ein Hauptziel der IGV ist, die weltweite Verbreitung von Infektionskrankheiten zu verhindern, ohne den Personen- und Güterverkehr unnötig einzuschränken.

Weltweites Inkrafttreten und Umsetzung in der Schweiz

Die 2005 revidierten IGV sind am 15. Juni 2007 auf internationaler Ebene in Kraft getreten. Der Bundesrat hat sie vorbehaltlos genehmigt und die Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten des BAG als IGV-Kontaktstelle eingesetzt. Seit 2016 berücksichtigt das revidierte Epidemiengesetz die IGV (2005) und regelt deren Umsetzung in der Schweiz.

Anpassungen der Internationalen Gesundheitsvorschriften (2005)

Die Schweiz beteiligt sich aktiv an den Diskussionen und Verhandlungen zu den Anpassungen der IGV (2005). Über 300 Anpassungsvorschläge wurden von den Mitgliedstaaten eingereicht, um die IGV zu stärken und Lücken zu schliessen.

Working Group on Amendments to the International Health Regulations (2005)

Die Working Group on Amendments to the IHR (WGIHR), die sich mit dem Prozess zur Anpassung der IGV befasst, setzt sich aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der 196 Vertragsstaaten der IGV zusammen. Die Verhandlungen sind vorerst bis Mai 2024 geplant. Die aktive Teilnahme der Schweiz als Vertragsstaat an den laufenden Verhandlungen ist wichtig, damit sie ihre Interessen gezielt einbringen kann.

Sobald die WGIHR einen konsolidierten Textentwurf der angepassten IGV ausgearbeitet hat, wird dieser auf der Website des BAG publiziert. Zudem sind alle mit diesem Prozess verbundenen offiziellen Dokumente bereits jetzt auf der Website der WHO zu finden.

Die Position der Schweiz

Da es bei den derzeitigen Verhandlungen nicht um eine Revision der IGV, sondern um gezielte Anpassungen geht, vertritt die Schweiz in den Verhandlungen den Standpunkt, dass es von zentraler Bedeutung ist, dass Reichweite und Geltungsbereich der Vorschriften unverändert bleiben.

Nach Ansicht der Schweiz ist der Verweis auf die Menschenrechte und die Grundfreiheiten der Einzelnen in den IGV grundlegend und muss beibehalten werden. Dieser Aspekt bildet die Grundlage der Gesellschaft und ist auch eine der wichtigen Errungenschaften der IGV-Revision von 2005.

Zudem hält die Schweiz insbesondere den schnellen und zuverlässigen Austausch von Informationen für wesentlich, einschliesslich Proben von Krankheitserregern und genetische Sequenzierungsdaten (GSD). Dies ist ein wichtiges, aus Sicht der Schweiz nicht verhandelbares Element für die Überwachung und Früherkennung. Die Schweiz ist gegen jegliche Konditionalität beim Austausch von epidemiologischen Daten.

Die Schweiz wird erst nach Abschluss der Verhandlungen gemäss dem finalen verhandelten Inhalt entscheiden, ob sie dem Resultat zustimmt. Sie wird auch in Zukunft souverän über die eigene Gesundheitspolitik sowie über allfällige Massnahmen im Falle eines PHEIC sowie im Pandemiefall entscheiden.

Letzte Änderung 29.05.2024

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Internationales
Sektion Globale Gesundheit
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/multilaterale-zusammenarbeit/organisation-mondiale-sante/reglement-sanitaire-international.html