Diet and exercise at international level

Chronic diseases affect a growing proportion of the world’s population. A lack of exercise and poor diet are two of the major causes. In this area, Switzerland gears its approach to that of WHO and implements certain global initiatives.  

Switzerland adapts WHO’s global strategy

The Global Strategy on Diet, Physical Activity and Health defines a broad conceptual framework that requires WHO regions and member states to draw up national strategies and action plans. The corresponding resolution was approved by the Federal Council in May 2004 and the WHO strategy has been adapted to Switzerland within the National strategy on the prevention of non-communicable diseases.

WHO Europe initiatives and implementation in Switzerland  

In line with the global strategy, WHO’s regional office for Europe has initiated several projects in which Switzerland plays an active role and from which it takes on board the relevant conclusions.  

  • European Charter on Counteracting Obesity. Signed in 2006 by 53 countries including Switzerland, this charter requires governments to reinforce measures to fight obesity.

  • HEPA Europe is the European network for the promotion of health-enhancing physical activity. It encourages people in the WHO European region to adopt healthy lifestyles, in particular by doing physical activity. Switzerland funded and hosted HEPA Europe’s annual meeting in Zurich in 2014.

  • Transport-Health-Environment Paneuropean Program – The PEP promotes transport policies that take into account health and environmental concerns. The Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) took part in the high-level ministerial meeting in Paris in 2014 and supports specific projects to promote soft mobility.

  • Health Economic Assessment Tools – HEAT is a tool designed for transport planners. It allows them to evaluate measures to promote walking and cycling. In Switzerland, the Federal Roads Office (FEDRO) used it as part of a study on soft mobility. The FOPH helped develop HEAT.

  • In 2015, Switzerland supported and participated in a WHO expert meeting at the University of Zurich to develop the first global strategy on physical activity.

European Union

Switzerland also takes into account the European Commission’s White Paper, which calls on shops and canteens to offer a wide choice of food, urges the food industry to reduce the amount of salt, sugar and fat in its products, and encourages people to take more exercise. 

Last modification 30.09.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Prevention of non-communicable diseases Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 88 24
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/praevention-und-gesundheitsfoerderung-im-internationalen-kontext/ernaehrungundbewegunginternational.html

Ernährung und Bewegung international

Chronische Krankheiten betreffen einen wachsenden Teil der Weltbevölkerung. Bewegungsmangel und schlechte Ernährung gehören zu den Hauptursachen. Die Schweiz stimmt ihr Vorgehen in diesem Bereich auf dasjenige der WHO ab und schliesst sich bestimmten internationalen Initiativen an.

Umsetzung der globalen WHO-Strategie in der Schweiz

Die Globale Strategie für Ernährung, Bewegung und Gesundheit bildet einen breiten konzeptionellen Rahmen, innerhalb dessen die WHO-Regionen und die Mitgliedstaaten nationale Strategien und Aktionspläne festlegen sollen. Der Bundesrat genehmigte die entsprechende Resolution im Mai 2004, und die WHO-Strategie wird heute in der Schweiz mit der Nationalen Strategie zur Prävention nichtübertragbarer Krankheiten umgesetzt.

Initiativen der WHO Europa und Umsetzung in der Schweiz

In Zusammenhang mit der globalen Strategie lancierte das WHO-Regionalbüro für Europa mehrere Projekte. Die Schweiz spielt in diesen Projekten eine aktive Rolle und berücksichtigt die dabei gewonnenen Erkenntnisse.

  • Europäische Charta zur Bekämpfung der Adipositas: Diese Charta, die 2006 von 53 Ländern, darunter die Schweiz, unterzeichnet wurde, verpflichtet die Regierungen, die Massnahmen zur Bekämpfung der Fettleibigkeit zu verstärken.

  • HEPA Europe ist das Netzwerk für gesundheitsfördernde Bewegung, das die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner der Region Europa ermutigen soll, eine gesunde Lebensweise zu pflegen und insbesondere sich mehr zu bewegen. 2014 finanzierte und organisierte die Schweiz in Zürich die Jahresversammlung von HEPA Europe.

  • Das Transport-Health-Environment Paneuropean Program – THE PEP ist ein Programm, das eine gesundheits- und umweltbewusste Verkehrspolitik fördern soll. Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) nahm 2014 an der Ministerkonferenz in Paris teil und unterstützt spezifische Projekte zur Förderung der sanften Mobilität.

  • Die Health Economic Assessment Tools – HEAT sind ein Instrument für die Verkehrsplanung, mit dem getroffene Massnahmen für den Fuss- und Radverkehr den Gesundheitsnutzen ökonomisch evaluiert werden können. In der Schweiz nutzte das Bundesamt für Strassen (ASTRA) die Anwendung im Rahmen einer Studie zur sanften Mobilität. Das BAG unterstützte die Entwicklung der HEAT.

  • 2015 wirkte die Schweiz bei einem WHO-Expertentreffen an der Universität Zürich mit, bei dem es um die Erarbeitung der ersten globalen Bewegungsstrategie ging.

Europäische Union

Die Schweiz berücksichtigt auch die Weissbuch-Initiative der Europäischen Kommission. Das Weissbuch hält die Läden und Kantinen dazu an, eine breite Speisenauswahl anzubieten, ermutigt die Lebensmittelindustrie, den Salz-, Zucker- und Fettgehalt ihrer Produkte zu verringern, und fordert Einzelpersonen auf, vermehrt Sport zu treiben.

Letzte Änderung 19.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Prävention nichtübertragbarer Krankheiten
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 88 24
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/praevention-und-gesundheitsfoerderung-im-internationalen-kontext/ernaehrungundbewegunginternational.html