Therapeutic Products Act: Partial revision (2023)

The Therapeutic Products Act, which has been in force since 2002, is currently being revised for the third time. The Federal Council opened the consultation on 8 December 2023. You can find out which topics are affected on this page.

Following various previous revisions to the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA), Parliament and the Federal Council have once again identified a need for action in relation to drug safety for patients, electronic prescribing using e-prescriptions and drug safety in paediatrics.

Advanced therapy medicinal products (ATMPs) are now also regulated more appropriately and clearly in the Therapeutic Products Act. The development of ATMPs is increasing worldwide, as is their importance in medical practice.
Finally, in the field of veterinary medicinal products, as far as possible equivalence to the new EU veterinary medicinal products legislation is to be created to prevent trade barriers and the development of antibiotic resistance, and ensure market access to innovative therapies in veterinary medicine.
These points are to be addressed as part of the present draft revision.

Advanced therapy medicinal products (ATMPs)

New scientific advances in biomedicine have led to the development of various therapeutic options which in the EU are referred to collectively as «advanced therapy medicinal products» (ATMPs). Regulated in a single regulation (Regulation (EC) No. 2007/1394), they include gene therapy medicinal products, somatic cell therapy medicinal products, bioengineered tissue products and a combination of ATMPs and medical devices.
In the present regulation, Switzerland is adopting EU law as far as possible to guarantee the population’s access to innovative and high-quality therapies and new products.
This will also create a comparable level of safety and increase competitiveness and compatibility between the EU and Swiss markets.

Digitalisation in the prescription, dispensing and use of therapeutic products

Digitalisation plays a central role in the healthcare sector and must be further stepped up. Parliament has referred corresponding initiatives to the Federal Council. The implementation of these initiatives is intended to help promote digitalisation in the healthcare sector and contribute to achieving the objectives of the Federal Council’s 2020-2030 health policy strategy.

Electronic prescriptions for therapeutic products

This draft revision is intended to create the legal basis for prescriptions for therapeutic products to be issued electronically and transmitted digitally. This fulfils the requirements of Müller Damian motion 20.3209 Electronic prescriptions for therapeutic products. Better quality and greater patient safety and Sauter motion 20.3770 Introduction of an e-prescription. The exclusively digital transmission of the e-prescription guarantees better legibility and thus helps increase patient safety. In future, it should be possible to prevent counterfeit prescriptions and unauthorised multiple prescriptions by means of electronic prescriptions. The bill defines the framework within which the e-prescription will be used. However, patient self-determination and the free choice of pharmacy should continue to be guaranteed.

Medication plan

A further aim of this revision is to create a legal basis for a mandatory electronic medication plan and for carrying out medication reconciliation when prescribing, dispensing or using medicinal products. According to the draft law, patients are to receive the medication plan electronically or in printed form on request. The aim is to increase drug safety, acceptance and adherence to treatment as well as to create more transparency and a better exchange of information between all healthcare professionals providing treatment. This revision objective implements the Stöckli 18.3512 Right to a medication plan to improve patient safety and 21.3294 Creation and management of medication plans to improve medication quality and patient safety for polymorbid patients motions.

Drug safety in paediatrics

Medication is also a major challenge in the treatment of children. On the one hand, there are only a few medicinal products specifically authorised for children, and on the other hand, dosages have to be calculated individually for each child based on age, weight, height and other relevant factors.
As part of the implementation of Article 67a TPA, the federal government has already created a national register with harmonised dosage recommendations for the use of medicinal products in paediatrics throughout Switzerland. However, this does not include a calculator function for individual dosage calculations. To avoid calculation errors as far as possible and thus increase the safety of drugs used for children, the use of electronic systems for calculating drug dosages is to be made mandatory. This implements Stöckli motion 19.4119 Increasing drug safety in paediatrics – reducing medication errors through e-health.

Veterinary medicinal products: largely equivalent to EU law

The EU has revised and modernised its regulation governing veterinary medicinal products. It came into force on 27 January 2019. Amendments to Swiss law are necessary to ensure the security of supply of veterinary medicinal products in Switzerland and to maintain the exportability of animals and animal products to the EU. In addition to adjusting the duration of authorisation for veterinary medicinal products, these also include adjustments in relation to antimicrobials and, in this context, measures to reduce resistance. In addition, market access to novel and innovative therapies in veterinary medicine is to be guaranteed.

Last modification 11.12.2023

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Therapeutic Products Law Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/heilmittel/revision-hmg-2023.html

Teilrevision des Heilmittelgesetzes (2023)

Das Heilmittelgesetz, seit 2002 in Kraft, wird derzeit zum dritten Mal revidiert. Der Bundesrat hat die Vernehmlassung am 8. Dezember 2023 eröffnet. Welche Themen betroffen sind, finden Sie auf dieser Seite.

Nach diversen früheren Revisionsarbeiten zum Heilmittelgesetz (HMG) haben Parlament und Bundesrat erneut Handlungsbedarf bei der Medikationssicherheit von Patientinnen und Patienten, bei der elektronischen Verschreibung mittels E-Rezept sowie bei der Arzneimittelsicherheit in der Pädiatrie geortet.

Angemessener und klarer werden nun auch Arzneimittel für neuartige Therapien (Advanced Therapy Medicinal Products, ATMP) im Heilmittelgesetz geregelt. Die Entwicklung bei ATMP nimmt weltweit zu, sowie deren Bedeutung in der medizinischen Praxis.
Schliesslich soll im Bereich Tierarzneimittel weitestmöglich Äquivalenz zum neuen Tierarzneimittelrecht der EU geschaffen werden, um Handelshemmnisse zu verhindern, der Entwicklung von Antibiotikaresistenzen vorzubeugen sowie den Marktzugang zu neuartigen Therapien in der Veterinärmedizin zu gewährleisten.

Diese Punkte sollen im Rahmen der vorliegenden Revisionsvorlage angegangen werden.

Arzneimittel für neuartige Therapien (ATMP)

Neue wissenschaftliche Fortschritte in der Biomedizin haben zur Entwicklung verschiedener Therapieoptionen geführt, welche in der EU unter dem Begriff «Arzneimittel für neuartige Therapien» (Advanced Therapy Medicinal Products, ATMP) zusammengefasst werden. Sie sind in einer eingeständigen Verordnung (Verordnung (EG) Nr. 2007/1394) geregelt und umfassen Gentherapeutika, somatische Zelltherapeutika, biotechnologisch bearbeitete Gewebeprodukte und eine Kombination aus ATMP und Medizinprodukte.
Die Schweiz übernimmt in der vorliegenden Regelung so weit wie möglich das EU-Recht, um den Zugang der Bevölkerung zu innovativen und qualitativ hochstehenden Therapien und neuen Produkten zu gewährleisten.
Damit wird auch ein vergleichbares Sicherheitsniveau geschaffen sowie die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und die Kompatibilität zwischen den Märkten der EU und der Schweiz verstärkt.

Digitalisierung im Bereich Verschreibung, Abgabe und Anwendung von Heilmitteln

Die Digitalisierung spielt im Gesundheitswesen eine zentrale Rolle und muss weiter verstärkt werden. Das Parlament hat entsprechende Vorstösse dem Bundesrat überwiesen. Mit der Umsetzung dieser Vorstösse soll ein Beitrag zur Förderung der Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen geleistet und zur Zielerreichung der gesundheitspolitischen Strategie des Bundesrats 2020–2030 beigetragen werden.

Elektronische Rezepte für Heilmittel

In dieser Revisionsvorlage soll die gesetzliche Grundlage geschaffen werden, damit Rezepte für Heilmittel grundsätzlich elektronisch ausgestellt und digital übertragen werden können. Damit werden die Forderungen der Motion Müller Damian 20.3209 «Elektronische Rezepte für Heilmittel. Bessere Qualität und höhere Patientensicherheit» und Motion Sauter 20.3770 «Einführung eines E-Rezepts» erfüllt. Die ausschliesslich digitale Übertragung des E-Rezepts garantiert eine bessere Lesbarkeit und trägt somit zur Erhöhung der Patientensicherheit bei. Rezeptfälschungen und nicht erlaubte Mehrfacheinlösungen sollen zukünftig mittels elektronischer Rezepte ausgeschlossen werden können. Die Gesetzesvorlage definiert die Rahmenbedingungen, unter denen das E-Rezept zur Anwendung gelangt. Die Selbstbestimmung der Patientinnen und Patienten sowie die freie Apothekenwahl sollen allerdings weiterhin gewährleistet werden.

Medikationsplan

Ein weiteres Ziel dieser Revision ist die Schaffung einer Rechtsgrundlage für einen obligatorischen elektronischen Medikationsplan sowie für die Durchführung des Medikationsabgleichs bei der Verschreibung, Abgabe oder Anwendung von Arzneimitteln. Die Patientinnen und Patienten sollen gemäss dem Gesetzesentwurf auf Verlangen den Medikationsplan elektronisch oder gedruckt erhalten. Ziel ist es, die Medikationssicherheit, die Akzeptanz und die Therapietreue zu erhöhen sowie mehr Transparenz und einen besseren Informationsaustausch zwischen allen behandelnden Gesundheitsfachpersonen zu schaffen. Mit diesem Revisionsziel werden die Motionen Stöckli 18.3512 «Recht auf einen Medikationsplan zur Stärkung der Patientensicherheit» und 21.3294 «Erstellen und Bewirtschaften von Medikationsplänen zur Erhöhung der Medikationsqualität und Patientensicherheit von polymorbiden Patientinnen und Patienten» umgesetzt.

Arzneimittelsicherheit in der Pädiatrie

Auch bei Kindern stellt die Medikation eine grosse Herausforderung dar. Einerseits gibt es nur wenige spezifisch für Kinder zugelassene Arzneimittel, andererseits sind Dosierungen jeweils individuell pro Kind anhand von Alter, Gewicht, Körpergrösse und weiteren relevanten Faktoren zu berechnen.
Der Bund hat bereits im Rahmen der Umsetzung von Artikel 67a HMG ein nationales Verzeichnis mit schweizweit harmonisierten Dosierungsempfehlungen für den Arzneimitteleinsatz in der Pädiatrie geschaffen. Diese beinhaltet jedoch keine Kalkulator Funktion für individuelle Dosierungsberechnungen. Um Berechnungsfehler möglichst zu vermeiden und somit die Anwendungssicherheit von Arzneimitteln bei Kindern zu erhöhen, soll der Einsatz von elektronischen Systemen zur Berechnung von Arzneimitteldosierungen verpflichtend gemacht werden. Damit wird die Motion Stöckli 19.4119 «Erhöhung der Arzneimittelsicherheit in der Pädiatrie – Medikationsfehler durch E-Health reduzieren» umgesetzt.

Tierarzneimittel: Weitgehende Äquivalenz zum EU-Recht

Die EU hat ihre Regulierung im Bereich der Tierarzneimittel überarbeitet und modernisiert. Diese ist am 27. Januar 2019 in Kraft getreten. Zur Sicherstellung der Versorgungssicherheit mit Tierarzneimitteln in der Schweiz und zur Beibehaltung der Exportfähigkeit für Tiere und Tierprodukte in die EU sind Anpassungen im Schweizer Recht notwendig. Diese beinhalten nebst der Anpassung der Dauer der Zulassung für Tierarzneimittel auch Anpassungen in Bezug auf antimikrobielle Wirkstoffe und in diesem Zusammenhang die Massnahmen zur Reduktion von Resistenzen. Zudem soll der Marktzugang zu neuartigen und innovativen Therapien in der Veterinärmedizin gewährleistet werden.

Letzte Änderung 11.12.2023

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Heilmittelrecht
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/heilmittel/revision-hmg-2023.html