The fight against counterfeit products

Trade in counterfeit therapeutic products, increasing throughout the world, constitutes a danger to health. The Medicrime Convention and the European Falsified Medicines Directive (FMD) are two examples of the concerted action being taken at international level.

The trade in counterfeit therapeutic products is increasing throughout the world. Considerable profits can be earned in this illegal trade and yet the risk of penalties is minimal, as resellers often operate beyond national borders through the internet. Counterfeit medicines and medical devices constitute a major threat to health. Counterfeit medicines do not always contain the correct components, or else the dosages of these substances may be incorrect. Taking these medicines may delay or even prevent cure, while the presence of impurities or undeclared ingredients may trigger adverse effects or even prove toxic.

Medicrime Convention

Most industrialised countries have effective market surveillance that keeps the share of counterfeit medicines below one per cent of total market volume (see WHO report under Links below). By contrast, according to WHO and OECD data, this figure exceeds 30 per cent in some countries in Latin America, Southeast Asia and Africa. Combatting the trade in counterfeit medicines and other falsified medical products requires therefore concerted action at international level.

The Medicrime Convention (Council of Europe Convention on the Counterfeiting of Medical Products and Similar Crimes involving Threats to Public Health) is the first international agreement aimed at halting the illegal trade in therapeutic products and at preventing counterfeit therapeutic products from endangering people’s health. The parties to the Convention undertake in particular to prosecute any acts linked to the manufacture or marketing of counterfeit therapeutic products or to the trade in such products. The Convention also provides for national and international cooperation between the competent authorities. It came into force on 1 January 2016.

Medicrime in Switzerland and changes to the law

Despite an effective monitoring system, Switzerland too is affected by imports of illegal medicines. Some 20,000 illegal shipments are believed to arrive in this country each year (estimate by Swissmedic).
Switzerland signed the Medicrime Convention in 2011. The dispatch regarding the Convention’s approval and entry into force was forwarded to the Federal Parliament in February 2017, and was adopted by both Chambers on 29 September 2017. Following deposit of the instruments of ratification on 25 October 2018, the Convention came into effect in Switzerland on 1 February 2019.

These changes to the law equip Switzerland with the instruments necessary to step up the fight against counterfeit medicines and to increase the safety of medicines in our country.

Falsified Medicines Directive

A further international measure taken against the trade in falsified medicines - independent from Medicrime - is the European Falsified Medicines Directive (FMD, 2011/62/EU), adopted by the European Union (EU) in 2011. This aims to prevent counterfeit medicines entering the legal supply chain.
This Directive makes provision inter alia for safety features on the packs of medicinal products that are subject to prescription, making it possible to detect falsified medicines at the time they are given to the patient at the latest.
These safety features fall into two categories. The first makes it possible to verify that medicines are authentic and to identify individual boxes (unique identifier), the second to detect whether packages have been opened (anti-tampering device).
The delegated regulation that specifies the implementation details of the FMD entered into force in the EU on 9 February 2019.

New article in TPA: 17a

Following the introduction of the FMD in the EU, some voices in the pharmaceutical industry called for a similar system in Switzerland. Parliament therefore added a clause (Article 17a) to the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA) as legislative amendments linked to the ratification of the Medicrime Convention were being made. This clause regulates the application and verification of safety features on medicinal products packaging, similar to those of the FMD.

So far, no counterfeit medicines destined for the Swiss market have been identified. Also for this reason, the system of safety features on packaging is optional in Switzerland, unlike in the EU.
The implementing provisions relating to Article 17a TPA are currently being drawn up (more information can be found on the Medicrime Convention page). The new article will apply from the same date as the related ordinance, probably the end of 2020.

Last modification 05.11.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Therapeutic Products Law Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/heilmittel/heilmittelfaelschung-illegaler-handel.html

Bekämpfung von Heilmittelfälschungen

Der Handel mit gefälschten Heilmitteln nimmt weltweit zu und stellt eine Gefahr für die Gesundheit dar. Die Medicrime-Konvention und die europäische FMD-Richtlinie sind zwei Beispiele des international koordinierten Vorgehens gegen Heilmittelfälschungen.

Weltweit nimmt der Handel mit gefälschten Heilmitteln zu. Die Gewinne aus diesem illegalen Handel sind hoch, und das Risiko einer strafrechtlichen Verfolgung ist derzeit gering, weil der Handel mit solchen Produkten oft grenzüberschreitend über das Internet abgewickelt wird.
Gefälschte Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte bergen grosse Risiken für die Gesundheit. Gefälschte Arzneimittel enthalten nicht immer die richtigen Inhaltsstoffe in der korrekten Dosierung. Der Gebrauch von gefälschten Arzneimitteln kann den Genesungsprozess verzögern oder gar verunmöglichen, während Verunreinigungen oder nicht deklarierte Inhaltsstoffe unerwünschte Nebenwirkungen oder sogar Vergiftungserscheinungen auslösen können.

Medicrime-Konvention

In den meisten Industrieländern mit effizienten Marktkontrollsystemen liegt der Anteil von gefälschten Arzneimitteln unter 1% des Marktes (Bericht der WHO unter dem Reiter «Links»). Hingegen beläuft sich der Anteil gefälschter Arzneimittel in einigen Ländern Lateinamerikas, Südostasiens und Afrikas gemäss Daten von WHO und OECD (Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung) auf über 30%. Die Bekämpfung von Arzneimittel- und Medizinproduktefälschungen erfordert deshalb ein international koordiniertes Vorgehen.
Die Medicrime-Konvention (Übereinkommen des Europarats über die Fälschung von Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten und über ähnliche die öffentliche Gesundheit gefährdende Straftaten) ist das erste internationale Übereinkommen, das die Unterbindung des illegalen Heilmittelhandels zum Ziel hat und verhindern soll, dass gefälschte Arzneimittel die menschliche Gesundheit bedrohen. Die Vertragsstaaten, darunter die Schweiz, verpflichten sich unter anderem, die Straftatbestände für Herstellung, Angebot und Handel mit gefälschten Heilmitteln zu erweitern. Die Konvention sieht zudem die nationale und internationale Zusammenarbeit der zuständigen Behörden vor. Sie ist am 1. Januar 2016 in Kraft getreten.

Medicrime in der Schweiz und Gesetzesänderungen

Obwohl die Schweiz über ein effizientes Kontrollsystem verfügt, ist auch sie von illegalen Arzneimittelimporten betroffen. Jedes Jahr gelangen schätzungsweise rund 20'000 illegale Sendungen in die Schweiz (Schätzung Swissmedic).
Die Schweiz hat die Medicrime-Konvention im Oktober 2011 unterzeichnet. Die Vorlage zur Genehmigung und Umsetzung der Konvention wurde dem Parlament im Februar 2017 überwiesen und von beiden Kammern am 29. September 2017 verabschiedet. Da die Ratifikationsurkunde am 25. Oktober 2018 hinterlegt wurde, trat somit die Konvention am 1. Februar 2019 in der Schweiz in Kraft.
Mit diesen Gesetzesänderungen erhält die Schweiz die erforderlichen Instrumente zur verstärkten Bekämpfung von Arzneimittelfälschungen, was zur Erhöhung der Arzneimittelsicherheit in der Schweiz beiträgt.

Falsified Medicines Directive

Eine weitere, von Medicrime unabhängige Massnahme zur Bekämpfung von Arzneimittelfälschungen auf internationaler Ebene ist die Richtlinie «Falsified Medicines Directive» (FMD, 2011/62/EU), welche die Europäische Union (EU) 2011 verabschiedet hat. Es handelt sich um eine präventive Massnahme, welche die Einschleusung gefälschter Arzneimittel in die legale Versorgungskette verhindern soll.
Diese Richtlinie sieht unter anderem die Anbringung von Sicherheitsmerkmalen auf den Verpackungen verschreibungspflichtiger Arzneimittel vor, so dass ein gefälschtes Arzneimittel spätestens zum Zeitpunkt seiner Abgabe an den Patienten oder die Patientin erkannt werden kann.
Es gibt zwei Arten solcher Sicherheitsvorrichtungen: Die eine ermöglicht die Überprüfung der Echtheit von Arzneimitteln und die Identifizierung von Einzelpackungen (individuelles Erkennungsmerkmal), die andere die Erkennung bereits geöffneter Verpackungen (Vorrichtung gegen Manipulation).
Die FMD ist in der EU am 9. Februar 2019 in Kraft getreten. 

Neuer Artikel 17a HMG

Angesichts dieses Entscheids der EU äusserten einige Akteure der Pharmaindustrie den Willen, in der Schweiz ein ähnliches System, wie es die FMD vorsieht, einzuführen. Aus diesem Grund hat das Parlament anlässlich der Gesetzesänderungen in Zusammenhang mit der Ratifizierung der Medicrime-Konvention auch eine neue Bestimmung (Artikel 17a) ins HMG aufgenommen. Diese regelt die Anbringung und Überprüfung von Sicherheitsmerkmalen und -vorrichtungen auf Arzneimittelverpackungen (ähnlich den in der europäischen FMD vorgesehenen Sicherheitsmerkmalen und ‑vorrichtungen).

Bis anhin wurden keine für den Schweizer Markt bestimmten Arzneimittelfälschungen gefunden. Auch aus diesem Grund sieht die Schweiz eine fakultative Anbringung und Überprüfung der Sicherheitsmerkmale vor, wohingegen dies in der EU obligatorisch ist.
Die Ausführungsbestimmungen zum neuen Artikel 17a HMG werden derzeit ausgearbeitet (weitere Informationen auf der Seite «Gesetzesänderungen und Ausführungsrecht»). Der Artikel wird gleichzeitig mit der zugehörigen Verordnung in Kraft treten. Voraussichtlich wird dies Ende 2020 der Fall sein.

Letzte Änderung 05.11.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Heilmittelrecht
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/heilmittel/heilmittelfaelschung-illegaler-handel.html