Reproductive Medicine Act effectiveness review

The Federal Office of Public Health has been commissioned to review the effectiveness of the Reproductive Medicine Act (RMA). The aim of the review is to investigate whether the Act is being implemented effectively and appropriately and whether it is achieving its objectives.

The effectiveness review (evaluation) investigates whether the Reproductive Medicine Act is achieving its objectives. It is carried out in three stages, namely monitoring, formative evaluation and summative evaluation.

Evaluation is based on the impact model of the Reproductive Medicine Act, which reflects the legislative objectives of the RMA and the regulatory instruments that should be used to achieve those objectives.

Monitoring

Monitoring forms the basis of the effectiveness review and is based on systematically collected data. These data provide an insight into reproductive medicine practices in Switzerland. 

Among other things, a record is made of how many couples use reproductive medicine procedures such as insemination or in-vitro fertilisation (IVF), how many doctors have a licence to carry out reproductive medicine procedures and how many sperm donors are registered. 

The page Reproductive Medicine: Facts and Figures shows the results. The annually-compiled short reports on the results can be found in the ‘Documents’ tab below.

Formative evaluation

Formative evaluation is used to assess implementation of the RMA. To this end, qualitative surveys are carried out in the form of interviews or questionnaires: How much effort is required for implementation? Do the legal provisions prove effective in practice? Is the Act being enforced uniformly throughout Switzerland? What desirable and undesirable effects can be identified? Should implementation be improved? 

The formative evaluation ran from 2019 until 2021. The final report, executive summary and opinion from the FOPH and GDK can be found in German on the page Evaluationsberichte «Biomedizin und Forschung» under ‘Abgeschlossene Studien' or in French on the page Rapports d'évaluation sur «Biomédecine et recherche» under 'Études terminées'.

Summative evaluation

Summative evaluation is the final stage of the effectiveness review. It examines the fundamental question of whether the Act is achieving its objectives or whether it needs to be revised. As from 2023, the FOPH will report on the effects of the Act and, if necessary, will prepare recommendations for an amendment of the Act.

Further information

Evaluation in the FOPH

Evaluation assesses the value and benefit of health policy measures.

Monitoring in the FOPH

Monitoring observes and highlights changes and trends in the area of health.

Research in the FOPH

Research provides the FOPH with knowledge that is useful for guiding its decisions and practices.

Last modification 29.11.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Biosafety, Human Genetics and Reproductive Medicine Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/fortpflanzungsmedizin/wirksamkeitspruefung-fmedg.html

Wirksamkeitsprüfung Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit hat den Auftrag, die Wirksamkeit des Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetzes zu überprüfen. Mit dieser Prüfung wird untersucht, ob das Gesetz wirksam und zweckmässig vollzogen wird und ob es seine Ziele erreicht.

Mit der Wirksamkeitsprüfung (Evaluation) wird untersucht, ob das Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz (FMedG) seine Zwecke erreicht. Sie wird in drei Phasen durchgeführt: einem Monitoring, einer formativen Evaluation und einer summativen Evaluation.

Die Evaluation baut auf dem Wirkungsmodell zum FMedG auf. Dieses bildet ab, welche Ziele der Gesetzgeber mit dem FMedG verfolgt und mit welchen Regelungsinstrumenten diese erreicht werden sollen.

Das Monitoring

Das Monitoring bildet die Grundlage der Wirksamkeitsprüfung und beruht auf systematisch erhobenen Daten. Diese geben Einblick in die Praxis der Fortpflanzungsmedizin in der Schweiz.

Unter anderem wird erfasst, wie viele Paare die Verfahren der Fortpflanzungsmedizin wie Insemination oder In-vitro-Fertilisation (IVF) in Anspruch nehmen, wie viele Ärztinnen und Ärzte eine Bewilligung zur Durchführung von fortpflanzungsmedizinischen Verfahren haben oder wie viele Samenspender registriert sind.  

Auf der Seite Fortpflanzungsmedizin: Zahlen & Fakten finden sich die Ergebnisse. Die jährlich erstellten Kurzberichte zu den Ergebnissen finden sich unten im Register «Dokumente».

Die formative Evaluation

Mit der formativen Evaluation wird der Vollzug des FMedG beurteilt. Dazu werden qualitative Erhebungen in Form von Interviews oder Fragebögen durchgeführt. Wie gross ist der Aufwand für den Vollzug? Bewähren sich die rechtlichen Bestimmungen in der Praxis? Wird das Gesetz schweizweit einheitlich vollzogen? Welche erwünschten und unerwünschten Auswirkungen lassen sich feststellen? Soll die Umsetzung optimiert werden?  

Die formative Evaluation lief von 2019 bis 2021. Der Schlussbericht, das Executive Summary sowie die Stellungnahme des BAG und der GDK finden sich auf der Seite Evaluationsberichte «Biomedizin und Forschung» unter ‘Abgeschlossene Studien’.

Die summative Evaluation

Die summative Evaluation bildet den letzten Schritt der Wirksamkeitsprüfung. Sie geht der grundlegenden Frage nach, ob das Gesetz seine Zwecke erreicht oder ob es gegebenenfalls revidiert werden sollte. Ab 2023 legt das BAG Rechenschaft über die Auswirkungen des Gesetzes ab und bereitet gegebenenfalls Empfehlungen für eine Gesetzesänderung vor.

Weitere Informationen

Evaluation im BAG

Evaluation beurteilt den Wert und den Nutzen gesundheitspolitischer Massnahmen.

Monitoring im BAG

Monitoring beobachtet und zeigt Entwicklungen und Trends im Bereich Gesundheit auf.

Forschung im BAG

Forschung beschafft dem BAG Handlungs- und Orientierungswissen.

Biomedizin und Forschung

Hier finden Sie Evaluationsberichte zum Themenbereich «Biomedizin und Forschung».

Letzte Änderung 29.11.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Biosicherheit, Humangenetik und Fortpflanzungsmedizin
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/fortpflanzungsmedizin/wirksamkeitspruefung-fmedg.html