Expert opinions and recommendations

On this page you will find a compilation of expert opinions and recommendations, mainly relating to the legal regulations on reproductive medicine.

Reproductive medicine raises ethical, legal and social questions that are the subject of intense debate at national and international level. Below you will find a compilation of expert opinions and recommendations.you will find important contributions to the debate from other countries, and
international aspects

Under ‘Assisted reproductive medicine’, you will find expert opinions and guidelines relating to the legal regulations on reproductive medicine. The topics covered range from sperm and egg donation to genetic modification of embryos and the collection of data on couples and individuals who travel abroad for fertility procedures.

Under ‘PID’, you will find expert opinions on various aspects of pre-implantation diagnosis (PID), in other words, genetic testing of an embryo fertilised outside the body.

Under the tab ‘Links’, you will find important contributions to the debate from other countries, and international aspects.

Assisted reproductive medicine

Transnational reproductive mobility from Switzerland (2021) (PDF, 744 kB, 12.11.2021)Report by Dr. Veronika Siegl, Dr. Christine Bigler, Dr. Tina Büchler, Laura Perler, Prof. Dr. Carolin Schurr, University of Bern (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Rights to insurance benefits under compulsory health insurance (2020) (PDF, 574 kB, 12.11.2021)Expert opinion by emeritus Prof. Kurt Seelmann, Basel (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Sperm Donation (2019) (PDF, 1 MB, 12.11.2021)Opinion No. 32/2019 of the Swiss National Advisory Commission on Biomedical Ethics (in German, also available in French)

Access to reproductive medicine for all? (2018) (PDF, 802 kB, 12.11.2021)Review by emeritus Prof. Kurt Seelmann, Basel (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Social Egg Freezing - ethical reflections (2017) (PDF, 1 MB, 16.11.2021)Opinion No. 28/2017 of the Swiss National Advisory Commission on Biomedical Ethics

Gene editing in human embryos (2016) (PDF, 1 MB, 12.11.2021)Opinion No. 25/2016 of the Swiss National Advisory Commission on Biomedical Ethics (in German, also available in French or Italian)

Egg donation in Switzerland, lex lata and lex ferenda (2013, updated in 2014) (PDF, 556 kB, 17.06.2014)Legal review by Prof. Andrea Büchler, University of Zurich (in German, also available in French) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Egg Donation and IVF with Donated Eggs: Lessons to be Learned from other Countries (2014) (PDF, 1 MB, 05.09.2014)Sociological review by Nolwenn Bühler, Lic. phil., University of Zurich (commissioned by the FOPH)

Maximum age for assisted reproductive techniques in women (2014) (PDF, 108 kB, 10.09.2014)Brief medical review by Dr Dorothea Wunder, MD, PD, Lausanne University Hospital (CHUV) (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Medically assisted reproduction: Ethical considerations and recommendations for the future (2013) (PDF, 282 kB, 30.11.2013)Opinion No. 22/2013 of the Swiss National Advisory Commission on Biomedical Ethics

Review of child welfare and the RMA (2012) (PDF, 2 MB, 21.01.2013)Sociological review by Dr Heidi Simoni, Marie Meierhofer Institute for Children, Zurich (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

PID

SAMS recommendations on preimplantation genetic testing PGT (2020) (PDF, 1 MB, 12.11.2021)Medical-ethical guidelines of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences

Societal implications of pre-implantation genetic diagnosis. An overview of the results of relevant empirical studies (2016) (PDF, 634 kB, 20.12.2016)Sociological review by Prof. Thomas Lemke and Jonas Rüppel, Dipl.-Soz., Dipl.-Psych., Goethe University, Frankfurt am Main, November 2016 (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis and discrimination: the relationship between the partial lifting of the ban on pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) and the risk of social discrimination (2016) (PDF, 535 kB, 30.11.2016)Legal review by Prof. Kurt Pärli, University of Basel and Tarek Naguib, lic. iur., ZHAW School of Management and Law (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis and eugenics, part two (2014) (PDF, 158 kB, 01.02.2014)Review by Prof. Kurt Seelmann and Dr Daniela Demko PD, LL.M. Eur., Universities of Lucerne and Basel (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis and eugenics, part one (2013) (PDF, 629 kB, 01.01.2013)Review by Prof. Kurt Seelmann and Dr Daniela Demko PD, LL.M. Eur., Universities of Lucerne and Basel (German only) (im Auftrag des BAG)

Regulating PGD: an ethical perspective (2013) (PDF, 255 kB, 31.01.2013)Ethical review by Prof. Peter Schaber, Center for Ethics, University of Zurich (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Should pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) be permissible under the same conditions as prenatal diagnosis? (2012) (PDF, 32 kB, 31.10.2012)Ethical review by Markus Zimmermann-Acklin, Th.D., PD, University of Fribourg (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis II – specific issues associated with statutory regulation and HLA typing (2007) (PDF, 181 kB, 30.11.2007)NCE opinion no. 14/2007 of the National Advisory Commission on Biomedical Ethics (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis I (2005) (PDF, 275 kB, 01.12.2005)NCE opinion no. 10/2005 of the National Advisory Commission on Biomedical Ethics (German only) (commissioned by the FOPH)

Legislation

Reproductive medicine legislation

The Federal Act of 18 December 1998 on Medically Assisted Reproduction lays down the conditions under which the methods of medically assisted reproduction may be used.

Further information

Reproductive medicine

In Switzerland medically assisted reproduction treatment can be sought in 25 to 30 fertility centres. The legal framework regulating access to these treatments is stipulated in the Reproductive Medicine Act.

Last modification 02.12.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Biosafety, Human Genetics and Reproductive Medicine Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/fortpflanzungsmedizin/stellungnahmen-gutachten.html

Stellungnahmen, Gutachten und Empfehlungen

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie eine Zusammenstellung von Stellungnahmen, Gutachten und Empfehlungen hauptsächlich in Zusammenhang mit der gesetzlichen Regelung der Fortpflanzungsmedizin.

Die Fortpflanzungsmedizin wirft ethische, rechtliche und soziale Fragen auf, die im nationalen und internationalen Rahmen intensiv diskutiert werden. Nachstehend findet sich eine Zusammenstellung von Stellungnahmen, Gutachten und Empfehlungen.

Unter ‘Fortpflanzungsmedizin allgemein’ sind Stellungnahmen, Gutachten und Richtlinien versammelt, die im Zusammenhang mit der gesetzlichen Regelung der Fortpflanzungsmedizin verfasst wurden. Das Themenspektrum reicht von der Samen- und Eizellenspende über genverändernde Eingriffe am Embryo bis zur Erhebung von Paaren und Personen, die für ein reproduktionsmedizinisches Verfahren ins Ausland reisen.

Unter ‘PID’ finden sich Expertisen zu verschiedenen Aspekten der Präimplantationsdiagnostik (PID), also genetische Untersuchungen an Embryonen, die ausserhalb des Körpers gezeugt wurden.

Zusätzlich finden sich im Register ‘Links’ wichtige Diskussionsbeiträge aus anderen Ländern und internationalen Zusammenhängen.

Fortpflanzungsmedizin allgemein

Transnationale reproduktive Mobilität aus der Schweiz (2021) (PDF, 744 kB, 12.11.2021)Gutachten von Dr. Veronika Siegl, Dr. Christine Bigler, Dr. Tina Büchler, Laura Perler, Prof. Dr. Carolin Schurr, Universität Bern (im Auftrag des BAG)

Rechte auf Versicherungsleistungen in der obligatorischen Krankenversicherung (2020) (PDF, 574 kB, 12.11.2021)Gutachten von Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Kurt Seelmann, Basel (im Auftrag des BAG)

Samenspende (2019) (PDF, 288 kB, 12.11.2021)Stellungnahme Nr. 32/2019 der Nationalen Ethikkommission im Bereich Humanmedizin

Zugang zur Fortpflanzungsmedizin für alle? (2018) (PDF, 802 kB, 12.11.2021)Gutachten von Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Kurt Seelmann, Basel (im Auftrag des BAG)

Social Egg Freezing - eine ethische Reflexion (2017) (PDF, 1 MB, 16.11.2021)Stellungnahme Nr. 28/2017 der Nationalen Ethikkommission im Bereich Humanmedizin

Gene editing an menschlichen Embryonen (2016) (PDF, 1 MB, 12.11.2021)Stellungnahme Nr. 25/2016 der Nationalen Ethikkommission im Bereich Humanmedizin

Eizellenspende in der Schweiz, de lege lata und de lege ferenda (2013, aktualisiert 2014) (PDF, 556 kB, 17.06.2014)Rechtsgutachten von Prof. Dr. iur. Andrea Büchler, Universität Zürich (im Auftrag des BAG)

Eizellenspende und IVF mit gespendeten Eizellen: Lehren, die aus den Erfahrungen anderer Länder zu ziehen sind (2014) (PDF, 1 MB, 05.09.2014)Sozialwissenschaftliches Gutachten von Lic.phil. Nolwenn Bühler, Universität Zürich (Text nur in englischer Sprache verfügbar) (im Auftrag des BAG)

Höchstalter der Frau für Fortpflanzungsverfahren (2014) (PDF, 108 kB, 10.09.2014)Medizinisches Kurzgutachten von Frau PD Dr.med. Dorothea Wunder, Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois, CHUV, Lausanne (im Auftrag des BAG)

Kindeswohl und FMedG (2012) (PDF, 2 MB, 21.01.2013)Sozialwissenschaftliches Gutachten von Dr.phil. Heidi Simoni, Marie Meierhofer Institut für das Kind, Zürich (im Auftrag des BAG)

PID

SAMW Empfehlungen Präimplantative genetische Testverfahren PGT (2020) (PDF, 1 MB, 12.11.2021)Medizinisch-ethische Richtlinien der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften

Gesellschaftliche Implikationen der Präimplantationsdiagnostik. Eine Übersicht über die Ergebnisse einschlägiger empirischer Studien (2016) (PDF, 634 kB, 20.12.2016)Sozialwissenschaftliches Gutachten von Prof. Dr. Thomas Lemke und Jonas Rüppel, Dipl.-Soz., Dipl.-Psych., Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main, November 2016 (im Auftrag des BAG)

Präimplantationsdiagnostik und Diskriminierung: Zusammenhang zwischen der teilweisen Aufhebung des Verbots der Präimplantationsdiagnostik (PID) und der Gefahr gesellschaftlicher Diskriminierung (2016) (PDF, 535 kB, 30.11.2016)Rechtliches Gutachten von Prof. Dr. iur. Kurt Pärli, Universität Basel und lic. iur. Tarek Naguib, ZHAW School of Management and Law (im Auftrag des BAG)

Präimplantationsdiagnostik und Eugenik, zweiter Teil (2014) (PDF, 163 kB, 01.02.2014)Gutachten von Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Kurt Seelmann und PD Dr. Daniela Demko LL.M. Eur., Universitäten Luzern und Basel (im Auftrag des BAG)

Präimplantationsdiagnostik und Eugenik, erster Teil (2013) (PDF, 633 kB, 01.01.2013)Gutachten von Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Kurt Seelmann und PD Dr. Daniela Demko LL.M. Eur., Universitäten Luzern und Basel (im Auftrag des BAG)

Wie soll die PID geregelt werden? Eine ethische Perspektive (2013) (PDF, 255 kB, 31.01.2013)Ethisches Gutachten von Prof. Dr. Peter Schaber, Ethik-Zentrum, Universität Zürich (im Auftrag des BAG)

Sollte die Präimplantationsdiagnostik (PID) unter den gleichen Voraussetzungen zulässig sein wie die Pränataldiagnostik (PND) (2012) (PDF, 32 kB, 31.10.2012)Ethisches Gutachten von PD Dr. theol. Markus Zimmermann-Acklin, Universität Freiburg (im Auftrag des BAG)

Präimplantationsdiagnostik II - Spezielle Fragen zur gesetzlichen Regelung und zur HLA-Typisierung (2007) (PDF, 181 kB, 30.11.2007)Stellungnahme Nr. 14/2007 der Nationalen Ethikkommission im Bereich Humanmedizin (im Auftrag des BAG)

Präimplantationsdiagnostik I (2005) (PDF, 279 kB, 01.12.2005)Stellungnahme Nr. 10/2005 der Nationalen Ethikkommission im Bereich Humanmedizin (im Auftrag des BAG)

Links

Deutschland

Frankreich

UK

USA

Gesetze

Gesetzgebung Fortpflanzungsmedizin

Das Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz legt fest, unter welchen Voraussetzungen die Verfahren der medizinisch unterstützten Fortpflanzung beim Menschen angewendet werden dürfen.

Weiterführende Themen

Fortpflanzungsmedizin

Zur Realisierung eines Kinderwunsches können Verfahren der medizinisch unterstützten Fortpflanzung in Anspruch genommen werden. Die medizini-schen Möglichkeiten werfen komplexe ethische und rechtliche Fragen auf.

Letzte Änderung 19.01.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Biosicherheit, Humangenetik und Fortpflanzungsmedizin
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/fortpflanzungsmedizin/stellungnahmen-gutachten.html