New regulations for clinical trials of medical devices

Switzerland has adapted its medical devices regulations to the new EU rules in the interests of patient safety and EU market access for the Swiss medical devices industry. The changes will also have implications for human research legislation.

What are medical devices?

Items as varied as plasters, hospital beds, cardiac pacemakers, disinfectants and x-ray equipment, have one thing in common: They are all medical devices. In other words, they are products “which are intended to have, or are presented as having, a medical use and whose principal effect is not obtained with a medicinal product” (Therapeutic Products Act, TPA, Art. 4 let. b).

As a result of the new EU rulings, products that are used without a medical purpose will be considered to be medical devices if they are used as such or are associated with similar risks, for example coloured contact lenses that do not correct vision.

New EU Regulation on Medical Devices

In 2012 the EU Commission presented for discussion a draft for new, stricter rules for medical devices. This had been prompted by various serious incidents – for example flawed silicone breast implants or defective hip implants.

In 2017 the EU finally approved two new regulations, one on medical devices (MDR) and one on in vitro diagnostic devices (IVDR). These have been coming into force in stages since 26 November 2017.

You can find more information about these regulations and the changes to Swiss law on the website on the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). This is the law mainly affected by these changes.

Better quality assurance for medical devices

The new rules are primarily designed to better protect patients from defective medical devices. Consequently, manufacturers will, in future, have to submit stronger scientific evidence to substantiate the safety and quality of their devices before being allowed to place them on the market. They will also have to continue recording data after market launch. This explains why Switzerland is also adapting the laws and ordinances relating to human research as part of the revision of the TPA. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the amended rules will enter into force in May 2021, one year later than planned, at the same time as the MDR.

EU rules affect the law on human research and its implementation

Switzerland and the EU pursue the same objectives when it comes to regulating research:

  • Protect affected persons
  • Quality and transparency of research
  • A regulatory environment that is as favourable to research as possible

The EU embodies these objectives in the context of market access to medical devices, whereas the HRA regulates the research independently of market access. There is a need for action at implementation level: the cantonal ethics committees and Swissmedic implement the procedures for approving and reviewing research projects with medical devices. They will now have to adapt and, in some cases, reorganise these procedures.

Certain EU definitions are now incorporated into Swiss law. For example, the definition of a "clinical trial" with a medical device now corresponds to the definition of a "clinical investigation" in the MDR.  The categorization of individual research projects also changes. The transparency requirements of the MDR go further than in Switzerland, especially with regard to the documents of the approval procedure and the publication of the research results.

New ordinance on clinical trials with medical devices  

The new definitions in the EU rules has prompted the Federal Council to propose a new “Ordinance on clinical trials with medical devices (ClinO-MD)”. The ClinO-MD will conveniently list in one legal text all the provisions relating to research with medical devices.

The consultation for the amended ordinance took place from 15 May to 5 September 2019.

The amended human research regulations were scheduled to enter into force in May 2020, but have been postponed to May 26, 2021 as a result of the Covid 19 pandemic.

Consultation on the inclusion of clinical trials with in vitro diagnostics (IVDs) in the ClinO-MD

For the time being, research with IVDs is still regulated in the ClinO. It is to be moved to the ClinO-MD at the same time as the planned start of validity of the IVDR on 26 May, 2022.

The public consultation on the amending decree of the ClinO-MD, with which research with IVDs is to be aligned with the rules of the IVDR, was opened on 14 April 2021 and lasted until 14 July 2021. You can find more information on this on the website on the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA).

Implementation of the regulations in the European Union

The FOPH is actively monitoring developments in the European Union regarding the EU regulations on medical devices. Starting in August 2019, the FOPH will publish regular updates on the implementation of the regulations in the EU and its member states. The reports will appear in English and can be found under the heading ‘Documents’.

Further information on the implementation of ClinO-MD

On the website of the Coordination Office for Research on Human Beings, you will find further up-to-date information on the new ordinance ClinO-MD and the current status of its implementation in Switzerland. The websites of Swissmedic and swissethics provide up-to-date practical information on applications for clinical trials with medical devices.

Further information

Revision of medical devices legislation

The safety and quality of medical devices will be improved. Switzerland is comprehensively revising its medical devices legislation in close correlation with the EU regulations on medical devices.

Last modification 15.09.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/regelungen-medizinprodukte.html

Neue Regelungen für klinische Versuche mit Medizinprodukten

Die Schweiz hat die Regelung für Medizinprodukte den neuen EU-Regeln angepasst, dies im Interesse der Patientensicherheit und des EU-Marktzugangs für die Schweizer Medizinprodukte-Industrie. Die Änderungen wirken sich auch auf das Humanforschungsrecht aus.

Was sind Medizinprodukte?  

Unterschiedliche Gegenstände wie Pflaster, Spitalbetten, Herzschrittmacher, Desinfektionsmittel oder Röntgenapparate haben eines gemeinsam: Sie gelten als Medizinprodukte. Das heisst, es handelt sich um Produkte, «die für die medizinische Verwendung bestimmt sind oder angepriesen werden und deren Hauptwirkung nicht durch ein Arzneimittel erreicht wird» (Heilmittelgesetz, HMG, Art. 4 Bst. b).

Neu zählen durch die EU-Regelung auch Produkte ohne medizinischen Zweck zu den Medizinprodukten, wenn sie wie diese verwendet werden oder ähnliche Risiken bergen, zum Beispiel farbige Kontaktlinsen ohne Sichtkorrektur.

Neue EU-Verordnung über Medizinprodukte

2012 stellte die EU-Kommission einen Entwurf für neue, strengere Regeln für Medizinprodukte zur Diskussion. Ausgelöst haben dies verschiedene gravierende Vorkommnisse – beispielsweise mangelhafte Silikon-Brustimplantate oder fehlerhafte Hüftprothesen.

2017 hat die EU schliesslich zwei neue Verordnungen zu Medizinprodukten (MDR) sowie zu In-vitro-Diagnostika (IVDR) verabschiedet. Seit dem 26. November 2017 treten diese gestaffelt in Kraft.

Informationen zu diesen Verordnungen und den Anpassungen des Schweizer Rechts finden Sie auf der Webseite zum Heilmittelgesetz (HMG). Dieses ist von diesen Änderungen hauptsächlich betroffen.

Bessere Qualitätssicherung für Medizinprodukte

Die neue Regelung soll vor allem Patientinnen und Patienten besser vor fehlerhaften Medizinprodukten schützen. Die Hersteller müssen deshalb zukünftig mehr und wissenschaftlich fundiertere Belege für die Sicherheit und Qualität ihrer Produkte vorlegen, bevor sie sie auf den Markt bringen dürfen. Auch nach dem Inverkehrbringen müssen sie weiter Daten erheben. Aus diesem Grund wird die Schweiz im Zuge der Revision des HMG auch das Gesetz und die Verordnungen zur Humanforschung anpassen. Die angepassten Regelungen werden wegen der Covid-19-Pandemie ein Jahr später als geplant im Mai 2021 in Kraft treten, zeitgleich mit der MDR. 

EU-Regelung beeinflusst Gesetz und Vollzug der Humanforschung

Die Schweiz und die EU haben bei der Regelung der Forschung dieselben Ziele:

  • Schutz der betroffenen Personen
  • Qualität und Transparenz der Forschung
  • Möglichst günstige Rahmenbedingungen für die Forschung

Die EU verankert diese Ziele im Hinblick auf den Marktzugang von Medizinprodukten, während das HFG die Forschung unabhängig vom Marktzugang regelt. Anpassungsbedarf ergibt sich auf Ebene der Umsetzung: Die kantonalen Ethikkommissionen und die Swissmedic führen die Verfahren zur Bewilligung und Überprüfung von Forschungsprojekten mit Medizinprodukten durch. Sie müssen nun diese anpassen und teils neu ordnen.

Neu fliessen bestimmte EU-Definitionen ins Schweizer Recht ein. So entspricht die Definition des «klinischen Versuchs» mit einem Medizinprodukt neu der Definition der «klinischen Prüfung» in der MDR. Auch ändert die Kategorisierung einzelner Forschungsprojekte. Weiter als in der Schweiz gehen die Transparenzanforderungen der MDR, vor allem bei den Dokumenten des Bewilligungsverfahrens sowie in Bezug auf die Publikation der Forschungsresultate.

Neue Verordnung zu klinischen Versuchen mit Medizinprodukten  

Die neuen Definitionen der EU-Regelung führen dazu, dass der Bundesrat eine neue «Verordnung für klinische Versuche mit Medizinprodukten (KlinV-Mep)» vorgeschlagen hat. Die KlinV-Mep führt alle Bestimmungen zur Forschung mit Medizinprodukten übersichtlich in einem Rechtstext auf.  

Die Vernehmlassung des geänderten Verordnungsrechts hat vom 15. Mai bis zum 5. September 2019 stattgefunden.

Die Inkraftsetzung der angepassten Humanforschungsregelungen war für den Mai 2020 vorgesehen, wurde infolge der Covid-19-Pandemie aber auf den 26. Mai 2021 verschoben.

Vernehmlassung zur Aufnahme der klinischen Versuche mit In-vitro Diagnostika (IVD) in die KlinV-Mep

Die Forschung mit IVDs ist vorläufig noch in der KlinV geregelt. Sie soll zeitgleich mit dem geplanten Geltungsbeginn der IVDR auf den 26. Mai 2022 in die KlinV-Mep aufgenommen werden.

Die Vernehmlassung zum Änderungserlass der KlinV-Mep, mit welchem die Forschung mit IVDs an die Regeln der IVDR angeglichen werden soll, wurde per 14.4.2021 eröffnet und dauert bis zum 14.7.2021. Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie auf der Webseite zum Heilmittelgesetz (HMG).

Umsetzung der Regulierungen in der Europäischen Union

Das BAG verfolgt aktiv die Entwicklungen in der Europäischen Union bezüglich der EU-Regulierungen zu den Medizinprodukten. Ab August 2019 informiert das BAG in regelmässigen Abständen über die Umsetzung der Regulierungen in der EU und in den Mitgliedstaaten. Die Berichte sind auf Englisch verfasst und unter «Dokumente» zu finden.

Weitere Informationen zur Umsetzung der KlinV-Mep

Auf der Webseite der Koordinationsstelle Forschung am Menschen findet man weiterführende aktuelle Informationen zur neuen Verordnung KlinV-Mep und zum aktuellen Stand der Umsetzung in der Schweiz. Auf den Webseiten von Swissmedic und swissethics findet man aktuelle praktische Informationen zu Gesuchen über klinische Versuche mit Medizinprodukten.

Weiterführende Themen

Revision des Medizinprodukterechts

Die Sicherheit und Qualität der Medizinprodukte werden erhöht. Die Schweiz überarbeitet ihr Medizinprodukterecht umfassend und in enger Anlehnung an die EU-Verordnungen für Medizinprodukte.

Letzte Änderung 25.06.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Forschung am Menschen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/regelungen-medizinprodukte.html