Clinical trials on medicinal products for human use in the EU

As of January 31, 2022, new regulations for clinical trials of medicinal products came into force in the EU/EEA area. This change does not directly affect the conduct of clinical trials with medicinal products in Switzerland.

Even after January 31, 2022, the Clinical Trials Ordinance (ClinO, SR 810.305) will apply to the conduct of clinical trials with medicinal products in Switzerland. Applications must continue to be submitted via the existing information systems of the Swiss enforcement authorities - cantonal ethics committees and Swissmedic.

In the European Union and the European Economic Area (EU/EEA area), clinical trials are uniformly regulated by Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 on clinical trials on medicinal products for human use from January 31, 2022. This regulation has replaced the existing Directive 2001/20/EC. Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 was already adopted by the EU Parliament on April 16, 2014, but due to delays in the technical implementation of the electronic portal "Clinical Trial Information System" (CTIS), came into force only almost 8 years later. Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 harmonizes the authorization procedure within the EU.

The FOPH has always closely followed developments regarding the implementation of the Regulation within the EU and its member states. From 2014 to 2019 and also for the period from August 2022 up until 2025, the SFL-Services company has been reporting regularly to the FOPH on this subject. The reports are written in English and can be downloaded below under "Documents".

In the context of the revision of the ordinance law on the Human Research Act, selective adaptations to the EU regulations are being examined.

Comparison of Swiss and EU legislation

Christoph A. Zenger compared the Swiss federal legislation on human research and Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 on behalf of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) in 2014. His report was published in German with a summary in French, Italian and English. The report and the summary can be accessed under “Documents”.

Study on the impact of the EU regulation on clinical trials with medicinal products for human use on Switzerland

Following the jurisprudential comparison between Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 and the current Swiss legislation on human research, the FOPH had commissioned a multidisciplinary study to investigate the possible implications for Switzerland of the EU Regulation following its implementation. This was published in March 2019. The economic relevance of drug research first had to be established so that the possible legal challenges could then be highlighted – for example, the need to ascertain the views of stakeholders and their expectations regarding the legislation. The study was conducted by a consortium headed by Prof. Michael Hahn from the Institute of European and International Economic Law at the University of Bern (IEW). The report was published in German with a summary in French, Italian and English. The report and the summary can be accessed under “Documents”.

Last modification 22.09.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/klinische-pruefungen-humanarzneimitteln-eu.html

Klinische Prüfungen mit Humanarzneimitteln in der EU

Seit dem 31. Januar 2022 sind im EU/EWR-Raum neue Regelungen für klinische Prüfungen von Arzneimitteln wirksam. Diese Änderung wirkt sich nicht direkt auf die Durchführung klinischer Versuche mit Arzneimitteln in der Schweiz aus.

Auch nach Inkrafttreten der Neuregelung am 31. Januar 2022 ist die Durchführung von klinischen Versuchen mit Arzneimitteln in der Schweiz durch die Verordnung über klinische Versuche (KlinV; SR 810.305) geregelt. Gesuche sind weiterhin über die bestehenden Informationssysteme der schweizerischen Vollzugsbehörden – die kantonalen Ethikkommissionen und Swissmedic – einzureichen.

In der Europäischen Union und im Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum (EU/EWR-Raum) werden klinische Versuche seit dem 31. Januar 2022 einheitlich durch die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 536/2014 über klinische Prüfungen mit Humanarzneimitteln geregelt. Diese löst die bestehende Richtlinie 2001/20/EG ab. Die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 536/2014 wurde bereits am 16. April 2014 vom EU-Parlament verabschiedet, trat aber wegen Verzögerungen bei der technischen Umsetzung des elektronischen Portals «Clinical Trial Information System» (CTIS) erst knapp 8 Jahre später in Kraft. Mit der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 536/2014 wurde das Bewilligungsverfahren innerhalb der EU harmonisiert.

Von 2014 bis 2019 sowie von August 2022 bis 2025 erstattet die Firma SFL-Services dem BAG regelmässig Bericht zu diesem Thema. Die auf Englisch verfassten Berichte können unten unter «Dokumente» heruntergeladen werden.

Im Rahmen der Revision des Verordnungsrechts zum Humanforschungsgesetz werden punktuelle Anpassungen an die Regelungen der EU geprüft.

Vergleich der Schweizer und EU-Gesetzgebung

Christoph A. Zenger hat 2014 einen Vergleich zwischen der eidgenössischen Humanforschungsgesetzgebung und der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 536/2014 zu Handen des Bundesamts für Gesundheit (BAG) erarbeitet. Der Bericht ist auf Deutsch, die  Zusammenfassung auch auf Französisch, Italienisch und Englisch verfasst. Der Bericht und die Zusammenfassung können unter «Dokumente» heruntergeladen werden.

Studie zu den Auswirkungen der EU-Verordnung über klinische Prüfungen mit Humanarzneimitteln auf die Schweiz

Im Anschluss an den rechtswissenschaftlichen Vergleich der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 536/2014 mit den geltenden schweizerischen Humanforschungsregelungen hatte das BAG eine multidisziplinäre Studie erarbeiten lassen, die die möglichen Auswirkungen der EU-Regelung, wenn sie implementiert wird, auf die Schweiz untersucht hat. Diese wurde im März 2019 publiziert. Dabei sollte zunächst die ökonomische Relevanz der Arzneimittelforschung herausgearbeitet werden, um sodann die möglichen juristischen Herausforderungen zu beleuchten, wie auch die Einschätzungen der Stakeholder und ihre Erwartungen an den Gesetzgeber zu ermitteln. Die Studie wurde von einem Konsortium unter der Leitung von Prof. Michael Hahn, Institut für Europarecht und Wirtschaftsvölkerrecht der Universität Bern (IEW) verfasst. Der Bericht ist auf Deutsch, die Zusammenfassung auch auf Französisch, Italienisch und Englisch verfasst. Der Bericht und die Zusammenfassung können unter «Dokumente» heruntergeladen werden.

Letzte Änderung 22.09.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Forschung am Menschen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/klinische-pruefungen-humanarzneimitteln-eu.html