Departemental Research

Departemental research undertaken by the Human Research and Ethics section examines what impact the law has on specific areas of human research. The findings from individual research projects flow into the evaluation of the Human Research Act (HRA).  

Protection of human beings

1
2
3

Analysis of the legal provisions concerning informed consent in human research

A key element in the conduct of human research projects is the provision of information about the project so that the person concerned can make an informed decision on whether to participate. Information must be provided in a comprehensible manner, as comprehensibility is the essential prerequisite for legally valid informed consent. This study investigated, from a linguistic perspective, how the comprehensibility requirement specified in the Act is implemented in practice.

additional information

Analysis of the regulation of damage and liability in human research

The Human Research Act regulates questions of liability in the event of project-related damage. In Switzerland, strict liability is applicable for research projects. This study compares legal liability provisions in eight European countries, assesses current practice in Switzerland and identifies areas where action may be required.

additional information

Survey of clinical trial participants

The primary goal of the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances is to protect the dignity, privacy and health of human beings involved in research. In light of this, it is essential for reviews of the efficacy of the Act’s provisions to take on board the experience and perceptions of people who have taken part in clinical trials. The survey will ask participants why they chose to enrol in a clinical trial and about their experiences in the trial. The findings will help to improve the legal provisions and their implementation.

1
2
3

Analysis of the costs associated with the authorisation and conduct of clinical trials

One of the goals of human research legislation is to create favourable conditions for human research by standardising legal requirements throughout Switzerland and harmonising them with international guidelines. This longitudinal study analysed how the human research regulations affect the costs associated with the conduct of clinical trials. In particular, it compared the costs of preparing and conducting randomised clinical trials before and after the introduction of the HRA.

additional information

Analysis of the effects of the HRA on research involving health-related data and biological material

The human research legislation in force since 2014 also regulates research involving health related personal data and biological material from persons. Various studies were conducted to analyse, as comprehensively as possible, the effects of the HRA on this type of research and also in relation to the approval authorities. The studies focused not only on costs but on key aspects of the protection of privacy, especially data protection.

additional information

Description of the approval process for clinical trials: statistics and survey

Following the implementation of the new Human Research Act in 2014, the cantonal ethics committees developed a computerised system for handling submission and approval processes. Researchers have been able to use the system to submit applications since 1 January 2016. This investigation used the system’s structured data to produce a statistical description of the research projects that have been submitted and approved in the course of a year. In addition, people who have submitted a research project via the system were surveyed on the effectiveness of human research legislation in general and the submission and approval process in particular.

additional information
1

Analysis of the requirements of human research legislation with regard to quality and transparency in clinical research

This study compares two cohorts from randomised clinical trials approved in Switzerland in 2012 and 2016 (i.e. before and after the introduction of the HRA). Firstly, based on international standards, the correctness and completeness of the trial protocols submitted to the approval authorities are assessed and compared. Secondly, it investigates to what extent the trials were registered, whether they were conducted as planned and whether the results were published. Because of the duration of the trials approved in 2016, this part of the study is not expected to be completed before 2023.

additional information
1
2

Analysis of how the new EU Regulation on clinical trials on medicinal products will affect Switzerland as a research location

The Regulation on clinical trials on medicinal products for human use (EU No 536/2014) is expected to come into force at the end of 2020. By means of a prospective regulatory impact analysis, the effects on Switzerland as a research location were investigated. A risk assessment was also carried out and reference made to any need for action.

additional information

What the general public know and think about human research and corresponding rules

On 7 March 2010, the Swiss population voted in favour of the constitutional article governing human research by a substantial majority of 77.2%. This indicates that the country’s citizens felt it was important to have national legislation to govern research on humans. However, surveys carried out after the referendum showed that some voters had a somewhat sketchy knowledge of the purpose and content of the legislation in question. This study reflects how much people in Switzerland know about human research and the laws governing it and what their attitudes are eight years down the line. The survey was carried out between March and May 2018. The aim was to discover how much Swiss citizens know about research involving humans in their country, whether they feel adequately protected by the current legislation, and whether they would be willing to take part in research projects.

additional information
Protection of
human beings
Favourable conditions
for research
Quality and transparency of research
Context

Further information

Departmental research projects on the Human Research Act

As part of departmental research efforts into human research the FOPH commissions studies on specific issues. The findings form the basis of the evaluation of the law. An overview of the projects so far can be found here.

Last modification 16.08.2019

Top of page

Ressortforschung

Die Ressortforschung der Sektion Forschung am Menschen und Ethik (FaME) untersucht, wie sich die Wirkung des Gesetzes auf spezifische Bereiche der Humanforschung entfaltet. Die Ergebnisse der einzelnen Forschungsprojekte fliessen in die Evaluation des Humanforschungsgesetzes (HFG) ein.  

Schutz des Menschen

1
2
3

Untersuchung der rechtlichen Aufklärungs- und Einwilligungsvorgaben in der Humanforschung

Ein zentraler Bestandteil in der Durchführung von Humanforschungsprojekten besteht darin, die betroffene Person über das Forschungsvorhaben aufzuklären, so dass sie kompetent entscheiden kann, ob sie sich daran beteiligen will. Diese Aufklärung muss in verständlicher Weise geschehen. Denn die Verständlichkeit ist unerlässliche Voraussetzung dafür, dass von einer – auch rechtlich – wirksamen, aufgeklärten Einwilligung ausgegangen werden kann. Diese Studie untersucht aus linguistischer Perspektive, wie die Verständlichkeitsvorgabe des Gesetzes in der Praxis umgesetzt wird.

Untersuchung der Schadens- und Haftungsregelungen in der Humanforschung

Das Humanforschungsgesetz regelt, wer im Falle eines Schadensfalles in welcher Weise haftet. Für die Schweiz gilt eine Kausalhaftung für Forschungsvorhaben. Diese Studie umfasst einen Rechtsvergleich der Haftungsbestimmungen in acht europäischen Ländern sowie eine Standortbestimmung der heutigen Praxis in der Schweiz, und sie zeigt mögliche Handlungsfelder auf.

Befragung von Teilnehmenden an klinischen Versuchen

Vorrangiges Ziel des Humanforschungsgesetzes und seiner ausführenden Verordnungen ist es, die Würde, Persönlichkeit und Gesundheit des Menschen in der Forschung zu schützen. Bei der Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit der Regelungen ist es deshalb unerlässlich, die Erfahrungen und Einschätzungen von Personen, die an klinischen Versuchen teilgenommen haben, zu berücksichtigen. In dieser Studie sollen Teilnehmende nach ihren Beweggründen, an klinischen Studien teilzunehmen sowie nach ihren Erfahrungen befragt werden. Die Erkenntnisse daraus sollen dazu beitragen, die gesetzlichen Vorgaben und deren Umsetzung zu verbessern.
1
2
3

Analyse der Kosten in Verbindung mit der Bewilligung und Durchführung von klinischen Studien

Ein Ziel der Humanforschungsregelung ist es, durch schweizweit vereinheitlichte rechtliche Auflagen sowie deren Harmonisierung mit internationalen Vorgaben günstige Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen. Diese longitudinale Studie untersucht die Auswirkung der Regelung auf die Kosten, die mit der Durchführung klinischer Studien verbunden sind. Konkret werden die Kosten der Vorbereitung und Durchführung randomisierter klinischer Studien vor und nach Inkraftsetzung des HFG verglichen.

Untersuchung der Auswirkungen des HFG auf die Daten- und Materialforschung im Gesundheitsbereich

Das seit 2014 geltende Humanforschungsrecht regelt neu auch die Forschung mit gesundheitsbezogenen Personendaten sowie mit biologischem Material, das von Personen stammt. Mittels verschiedener Studien sollen in einer möglichst umfassenden Analyse die Auswirkungen des HFG auf diese Forschung wie auch in Bezug auf die Bewilligungsbehörden aufgezeigt werden. Dabei stehen neben den Aufwänden (Kosten) die wesentlichen Aspekte des Persönlichkeitsschutzes, namentlich der Datenschutz, im Fokus.

Beschreibung des Bewilligungsprozesses klinischer Studien: Statistik und Befragung

Nach der Inkraftsetzung der neuen Humanforschungsregelung im Jahre 2014 erarbeiteten die kantonalen Ethikkommissionen ein elektronisches System zur Abwicklung der Einreichungs- und Bewilligungsprozesse. Es steht seit dem 01.01 2016 den Forschenden zur Gesucheinreichung zur Verfügung. In dieser Untersuchung werden die strukturierten Daten des elektronischen Systems genutzt, um die während eines Jahres eingereichten und bewilligten Forschungsprojekte statistisch zu beschreiben. Zudem werden Personen, die über das System ein Forschungsprojekt eingereicht haben zur Zweckmässigkeit der Humanforschungsregelung im Allgemeinen und des Einreichungs- und Bewilligungsprozesses im Besonderen befragt.
1

Analyse der humanforschungsrechtlichen Anforderungen hinsichtlich der Qualität und der Transparenz in der klinischen Forschung

Die Studie vergleicht zwei Kohorten von randomisierten klinischen Versuchen, die 2012 und 2016, also vor und nach Inkraftsetzung des HFG, in der Schweiz bewilligt wurden. Dabei wird einerseits anhand internationaler Standards die Korrektheit und Vollständigkeit der den Bewilligungsbehörden vorgelegten Forschungspläne beurteilt und verglichen. Andererseits wird dokumentiert, inwiefern die Versuche registriert wurden, und ob sie plangemäss durchgeführt und deren Ergebnisse publiziert wurden. Aufgrund der Laufzeit der 2016 bewilligten Versuche wird dieser Teil der Studie voraussichtlich nicht vor 2023 abgeschlossen werden können.
1
2

Analyse der Auswirkungen der neuen EU-Regelungen für klinische Studien mit Arzneimitteln auf den Forschungsplatz Schweiz

Voraussichtlich 2019 wird in der Europäischen Union die Verordnung Nr. 536/2014 über klinische Prüfungen mit Humanarzneimitteln in Kraft treten. Mittels einer prospektiven Regulierungsfolgenabschätzung sollen deren Auswirkungen auf den Forschungsplatz Schweiz untersucht werden.

Wissensstand und Haltung der Allgemeinbevölkerung zur Humanforschung und deren Regelungen

Am 7. März 2010 hat die Schweizer Bevölkerung den Verfassungsartikel zur Forschung am Menschen mit einer deutlichen Mehrheit von 77,2% Ja-Stimmen angenommen. Den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern war es also wichtig, die Forschung am Menschen bundesweit zu regeln. Allerdings zeigten Umfragen im Nachgang zu dieser Abstimmung, dass das Wissen über Inhalt und Zweck dieser bundesweiten Regelungen nicht bei allen Stimmbürgern in ausreichendem Masse vorhanden war. Wie es aktuell, sprich acht Jahre nach der genannten Abstimmung, um den Wissensstand und die Einstellung der Bevölkerung über die Humanforschung und ihren gesetzlichen Regelungen steht, ist Inhalt dieser Studie. Von März bis Mai 2018 wurde die Bevölkerung zu ihrer Meinung dazu befragt. Ziel war herauszufinden, wieviel die Bürgerinnen und Bürger über die Forschung am Menschen in der Schweiz wissen, ob sie sich ausreichend durch die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen geschützt fühlen und ob sie bereit wären, an Forschungsprojekten teilzunehmen.
Schutz des
Menschen
Rahmen-
bedingungen für die Forschung
Qualität und
Transparenz in
der Forschung
Kontext

Weiterführende Themen

Ressortforschungsprojekte Humanforschung

Im Rahmen der Ressortforschung im Bereich Humanforschung gibt das BAG Studien zu spezifischen Fragestellungen in Auftrag. Deren Ergebnisse bilden die Grundlage der Gesetzesevaluation. Hier findet sich eine Übersicht der bisherigen Projekte.

Letzte Änderung 17.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang