Evaluation of the Human Research Act

The Federal Office of Public Health ordered an analysis of the effectiveness of the Human Research Act (HRA). The results of the evaluation form the basis for several proposals for improvement.

As part of the evaluation, the FOPH analysed over the course of the past few years the specific effects of the Human Research Act. The question at the core of the evaluation was whether the aims of the HRA are being achieved: primarily the protection of research participants and of persons who make their health-related data or their blood or tissue samples available for research. On the other hand, the HRA is also intended to create favourable conditions for human research. And, last but not least, it aims to help ensure quality and transparency in human research. The FOPH’s centralised “Evaluation and Research Service”, which is independent of the main units, was in charge of the evaluation; it commissioned the Institute of Political Science of the University of Zurich, in collaboration with KEK-CDC Consultants, with carrying it out.

In addition to the evaluation team’s own surveys, the evaluation report for the attention of the Federal Council also includes the results of individual research projects, the so-called “departmental research projects”. These projects were instigated by the FOPH’s Human Research Section between 2012 and 2019.
The evaluation report concludes that the human research regulations are fundamentally appropriate but that there is room for improvement. It specifies 13 recommendations.

The FOPH has evaluated the results of the evaluation and submitted several proposals for further action to the Federal Council (see FOPH report). On 6 December 2019, the Federal Council acknowledged the results of the evaluation and decided to undertake a partial revision of the HRA’s ordinance legislation. A bill for consultation is to be made available to the Federal Council in 2020. At the same time, measures to improve enforcement are to be defined and implemented in coordination with the cantons and the enforcement authorities.

The following items will be at the centre of the ordinance legislation’s planned revision:

  • with regard to organising implementation, the tasks and powers of the enforcement authorities;
  • in the context of research with health-related personal data and biological material, information for and consent from affected persons;
  • with regard to international developments, EU legislation; and finally
  • transparency in the context of the publication of research results.

Press releases

Java script is required to display press releases. If you are unable or unwilling to activate Java script you may use the link below to access the Federal Administration News Portal, where you can read the announcements.

To the Federal Administration News Portal

Legislation

Human research legislation

In Switzerland, research involving humans is governed by the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances. The legislation is primarily designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research.

Further information

Departmental research projects on the Human Research Act

As part of departmental research efforts into human research the FOPH commissions studies on specific issues. The findings form the basis of the evaluation of the law. An overview of the projects so far can be found here.

Last modification 04.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/evaluation-humanforschungsgesetz.html

Evaluation des Humanforschungsgesetzes

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit hat die Wirksamkeit des Humanforschungsgesetzes (HFG) untersuchen lassen. Die Evaluationsergebnisse bilden die Grundlage für Verbesserungsvorschläge.

Im Rahmen der Evaluation hat das BAG in den letzten Jahren untersucht, wie sich die Wirkung des Humanforschungsgesetzes konkret entfaltet. Im Zentrum stand dabei die Frage, ob die Zwecke des HFG erfüllt werden: in erster Linie der Schutz von Menschen, die an Forschungsprojekten teilnehmen oder die ihre gesundheitsbezogenen Daten oder ihre Blut- und Gewebeproben für die Forschung zur Verfügung stellen. In zweiter Linie soll das HFG auch für günstige Rahmenbedingungen in der Forschung am Menschen sorgen. Schliesslich soll es die Qualität und die Transparenz in der Humanforschung gewährleisten. Für die Evaluation war die zentralisierte und von den Facheinheiten unabhängige Stelle «Evaluation und Forschung» (E+F) des BAG zuständig, welche für die Durchführung das Institut für Politikwissenschaften der Universität Zürich zusammen mit KEK-CDC Consultants beauftragt hat.

In den Evaluationsbericht zuhanden des Bundesrats sind neben eigenen Erhebungen des Evaluationsteams auch die Ergebnisse einzelner Forschungsprojekte, der so genannten «Ressortforschungsprojekte» eingeflossen. Diese Projekte wurden von der Sektion Forschung am Menschen des BAG in den Jahren 2012–2019 veranlasst. Der Evaluationsbericht hält fest, dass die Humanforschungsregelungen grundsätzlich zweckmässig sind, es aber Optimierungspotential gibt. Dazu werden 13 Empfehlungen formuliert.

Das BAG hat die Ergebnisse der Evaluation bewertet und dem Bundesrat basierend darauf Vorschläge zum weiteren Vorgehen unterbreitet (siehe Bericht des BAG unter «Dokumente»). Der Bundesrat hat am 6. Dezember 2019 die Ergebnisse der Evaluation zur Kenntnis genommen und beschlossen, eine Teilrevision des Verordnungsrechts des HFG vorzunehmen. 2021 soll dem Bundesrat hierzu eine Vernehmlassungsvorlage unterbreitet werden. Parallel dazu sollen gemeinsam mit den Kantonen und den Vollzugsbehörden Massnahmen zur Verbesserung des Vollzugs festgelegt und umgesetzt werden.

Folgende Punkte werden bei der geplanten Anpassung des Verordnungsrechts im Zentrum stehen:

  • mit Blick auf die Vollzugsorganisation die Aufgaben und Kompetenzen der Vollzugsbehörden;
  • bei der Forschung mit Gesundheitsdaten und biologischem Material die Aufklärung und Einwilligung der betroffenen Personen;
  • mit Blick auf internationale Entwicklungen die Gesetzgebung in der EU; und schliesslich
  • bei der Transparenz die Veröffentlichung von Forschungsergebnissen.

Medien

Zur Darstellung der Medienmitteilungen wird Java Script benötigt. Sollten Sie Java Script nicht aktivieren können oder wollen, dann haben sie mit unten stehendem Link die Möglichkeit auf die Seite News Service Bund zu gelangen und dort die Mitteilungen zu lesen.

Zur externen NSB Seite

Gesetze

Gesetzgebung Forschung am Menschen

Das Humanforschungsgesetz und seine ausführenden Verordnungen regeln die Forschung am Menschen in der Schweiz. Hauptzweck der Gesetzgebung ist es, die Würde, Persönlichkeit und Gesundheit des Menschen in der Forschung zu schützen.

Weiterführende Themen

Ressortforschungsprojekte Humanforschung

Im Rahmen der Ressortforschung im Bereich Humanforschung gibt das BAG Studien zu spezifischen Fragestellungen in Auftrag. Deren Ergebnisse bilden die Grundlage der Gesetzesevaluation. Hier findet sich eine Übersicht der bisherigen Projekte.

Evaluationsberichte «Biomedizin und Forschung»

Hier finden Sie Evaluationsberichte zum Themenbereich «Biomedizin und Forschung».

Letzte Änderung 25.08.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Forschung am Menschen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/evaluation-humanforschungsgesetz.html