Research involving humans

The term “research involving humans” refers to scientific research in areas such as medicine, psychology and biology. The main goal is to safeguard people, their dignity, privacy and health.

Fotolia_38422188_S

Benefits and risks of research involving humans

In addition to basic research, "research involving humans" focuses especially on understanding the causes of diseases and improving treatment options.

Research involving humans is of huge importance for our society, and has a bearing on personal and public health, the training of medical professionals, and diverse sectors of the economy.

But research involving humans also entails risks. For example people who make themselves available for tests of a new drug may suffer damage to their health. Another important consideration is that data gathered in the course of research relates to people’s physical characteristics and health, and therefore has to be subject to special safeguards.

For these reasons, research involving humans is governed by federal legislation. The main aim is to safeguard the health and rights of people taking part in research. A secondary aim of the regulations is to create a favourable framework for research and help assure quality and transparency.

An overview of the legislation

Since 1 January 2014 there has been a unified and comprehensive framework governing research involving humans, in the form of the Swiss Federal Human Research Act and its accompanying ordinances. While the legislation is at federal level, the main responsibility for applying it continues to lie with the cantons. In particular, cantonal ethics committees examine all projects involving research on humans before they are launched. In Switzerland, research involving humans can only be conducted with the authorisation of a cantonal ethics committee. Specific research projects involving drugs or medical devices also have to be reviewed and approved by Swissmedic, the Swiss agency for the authorisation and supervision of therapeutic products.

In essence the Human Research Act and accompanying ordinances significantly improve clarity and transparency by comparison with the various cantonal and federal rules that used to apply. They do much to assure the necessary improvements in professionalism and quality in this important but risky area of society.

Role of the FOPH

The FOPH’s main role is to help ensure efficient, uniform application of the law by coordinating the activities of the various approval bodies. It is also responsible for reviewing and evaluating the efficacy of the legal regulations. The FOPH is also in charge of generally keeping the law up to date. In particular this involves monitoring scientific and technical developments, and developments in domestic and international policy and their impact on current law.

The FOPH has separate websites with detailed information on the following areas related to the topic:

Human research legislation

In Switzerland, research involving humans is governed by the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances. The legislation is primarily designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research.

The evolution of human research legislation

The federal legislation on human research replaces a confusing and incomplete array of different laws, implementing an article of the Federal Constitution that allows the Confederation to enact rules governing research.

Coordination Office for Human Research

The Coordination Office for Human Research (kofam) ensures that the ethics committees and other supervisory authorities are coordinated and communicate. It also informs the public about the work of the ethics committees.

Evaluation of the Human Research Act

The Federal Office of Public Health is responsible for evaluating the efficacy of the Human Research Act (HRA). The results of this evaluation form the basis of any suggested improvements.

Clinical trials on medicinal products for human use in the EU

From 2019 there will be new regulations in the EU governing clinical trials on medicinal products. The FOPH is assessing the impact of these new rules on research in Switzerland and closely monitoring further developments.

Portal for clinical trials in Switzerland (SNCTP)

Clinical trials in Switzerland must be published on the research portal. The online portal has been redesigned to facilitate this procedure. The portal can be found on the website of the Portal for Human Research (www.kofam.ch), which is operated by the FOPH.

Legislation

Human research legislation

In Switzerland, research involving humans is governed by the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances. The legislation is primarily designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

The FOPH operates the Coordination Office for Human Research (kofam)

www.kofam.ch

E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen.html

Forschung am Menschen

Forschung am Menschen bezeichnet die naturwissenschaftliche Forschung in Medizin, Psychologie und Biologie und ist in der Schweiz gesetzlich geregelt. Oberstes Ziel ist der Schutz des Menschen, seiner Würde, Persönlichkeit und Gesundheit.

Fotolia_38422188_S

Nutzen und Risiken der Forschung am Menschen

Bei der «Forschung am Menschen» geht es nebst der Grundlagenforschung vor allem darum, Krankheitsursachen zu verstehen und Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu verbessern.

Die Bedeutung von Forschung am Menschen für unsere Gesellschaft ist enorm. Dies gilt für die individuelle und öffentliche Gesundheit, für die Aus- und Weiterbildung von medizinischem Personal wie auch für diverse Zweige der Wirtschaft.

Die Forschung am Menschen ist aber auch mit Gefahren verbunden. Zum Beispiel können Personen, die sich für den Test eines neuen Medikaments zur Verfügung stellen, gesundheitliche Schäden erleiden. Auch die Daten, die bei der Forschung erhoben werden, betreffen körperliche Eigenschaften oder die Gesundheit und müssen deshalb besonders geschützt werden.

Deshalb ist die Forschung am Menschen in der Schweiz gesetzlich geregelt. Oberstes Ziel ist dabei, die an der Forschung teilnehmenden Personen, ihre Gesundheit und ihre Rechte zu schützen. In zweiter Linie soll die Regelung zu günstigen Rahmenbedingungen für die Forschung sowie zu ihrer Qualität und Transparenz beitragen.

Die Gesetzgebung im Überblick

Seit 1. Januar 2014 ist die Forschung am Menschen einheitlich und umfassend durch das Humanforschungsgesetz und die zugehörigen Verordnungen auf Bundesebene geregelt. Dabei obliegen die Hauptaufgaben bei der Anwendung des Gesetzes wie zuvor schon den Kantonen. Insbesondere führen sie die kantonalen Ethikkommissionen, die jedes Humanforschungsprojekt vor dem Start prüfen müssen. Nur mit der Bewilligung einer kantonalen Ethikkommission darf Forschung am Menschen in der Schweiz durchgeführt werden.

Bei bestimmten Forschungsprojekten mit Medikamenten oder Medizinprodukten muss zusätzlich auch das Schweizerische Heilmittelinstitut Swissmedic das Projekt geprüft und die Bewilligung erteilt haben.

Im Kern bedeuten das Humanforschungsgesetz und seine Verordnungen – gegenüber den verschiedenen kantonalen und einzelnen Bundesregelungen vorher – ein erhebliches Plus an Klarheit und Übersichtlichkeit. Sie tragen damit wesentlich zur notwendigen Professionalisierung und Qualitätssteigerung in diesem wichtigen, aber auch risikobehafteten Gesellschaftsbereich bei.

Aufgaben des BAG

Das BAG hat vor allem die Aufgabe, die Arbeit der verschiedenen Prüfbehörden zu koordinieren und so zu einer effizienten und einheitlichen Anwendung des Rechts beizutragen. Ausserdem überprüft es die gesetzliche Regelung auf ihre Wirksamkeit hin (Evaluation). Des Weiteren obliegt dem BAG die Aufgabe der allgemeinen Gesetzespflege. Dazu gehört insbesondere, wissenschaftlich-technische wie auch nationale und internationale politische Entwicklungen im Auge zu behalten und deren Auswirkungen auf das geltende Recht zu verfolgen.

Auf separaten Webseiten stellt das BAG detaillierte Informationen zu folgenden Teilbereichen der Thematik zur Verfügung:

Entstehung der Humanforschungsgesetzgebung

Die Humanforschungsgesetzgebung des Bundes ersetzt das unübersichtliche und lückenhafte Recht zuvor. Sie setzt die Vorgabe der Bundesverfassung um, Vorschriften zur Forschung erlassen zu können.

Koordinationsstelle Forschung am Menschen

Die Koordinationsstelle Forschung am Menschen (kofam) sichert Abstimmung und Austausch zwischen den Ethikkommissionen und anderen Prüfbehörden. Zudem informiert sie die Öffentlichkeit regelmässig über die Tätigkeiten der Ethikkommissionen.

Evaluation des Humanforschungsgesetzes

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit untersucht die Wirksamkeit des Humanforschungsgesetzes. Die Evaluationsergebnisse bilden die Grundlage allfälliger Verbesserungsvorschläge.

Klinische Prüfungen mit Humanarzneimitteln in der EU

Ab 2019 werden in der EU neue Regelungen für klinische Prüfungen von Arzneimitteln wirksam. Das BAG schätzt die Auswirkungen dieser neuen Regelungen auf die Forschung in der Schweiz ab und verfolgt aufmerksam die weiteren Entwicklungen.

Portal für klinische Versuche in der Schweiz (SNCTP)

Klinische Versuche in der Schweiz müssen auf dem Studienportal publiziert werden. Um die Suche zu erleichtern, wurde das Online-Portal überarbeitet. Zu finden ist das Portal auf der Website der Koordinationsstelle Forschung am Menschen (www.kofam.ch), welche vom BAG betrieben wird.

Gesetze

Gesetzgebung Forschung am Menschen

Das Humanforschungsgesetz und seine ausführenden Verordnungen regeln die Forschung am Menschen in der Schweiz. Hauptzweck der Gesetzgebung ist es, die Würde, Persönlichkeit und Gesundheit des Menschen in der Forschung zu schützen.

Letzte Änderung 28.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Forschung am Menschen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Das BAG betreibt die Koordinationsstelle Forschung am Menschen

www.kofam.ch

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen.html