Boosting Switzerland as a centre of biomedical research and technology

Switzerland has a very good international position in terms of biomedical research and innovation. The federal government has adopted a master plan to boost this country’s strength in biomedical research and technology long term.

A lasting boost through targeted, coordinated measures

As part of efforts to further strengthen Switzerland’s standing, in 2013 the Federal Council approved a master plan designed to boost Switzerland as a centre of biomedical research and technology. The master plan involves the implementation between 2013 and 2020 of a total of 23 sector-specific measures designed to maintain and develop as good a framework as pos-sible for biomedical research and technology. At the same time it is intend-ed to enable people in Switzerland to physically benefit from the achieve-ments of biomedicine and give them affordable access to the latest bio-medical products.
The master plan impacts the entire chain, from research and development, clinical research, market entry for biomedical products, and pricing and reimbursement by social security, all the way to the availability of these products in day-to-day healthcare.

23 measures with different bodies responsible

The master plan initially comprised 21 measures covering education/training and continuing education, market entry and oversight, reimbursement by social security, orphan (rare) diseases and intellectual property (a list of measures can be found in the annex to the report). In 2016 two additional measures covering security of supply and medical devices were added. Various departments of the FOPH, the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI), the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) and Swissmedic, the Swiss agency for the authorisation and super-vision of therapeutic products, are responsible for the measures.

Interim appraisal

At the end of 2018 the Federal Council did an interim appraisal of the mas-ter plan in the form of a review (see below under Documents). Overall, five years after approval of the master plan, implementation of the 23 measures is well on track. The goals defined for two-thirds of the measures have been achieved in full or at least in part, and substantial progress has been made on most of the others. The only measure where the defined goal has not been reached is assuring coverage of the costs of treatment and care in academically initiated clinical trials.  
The master plan has brought improvements not only within the individual themes, but also on an overarching level: viewing the system as a whole has proved to be extremely helpful in terms of coordinating the various areas. The master plan has helped create better understanding across of-fice and departmental boundaries. It has also proven its worth as a political instrument. The master plan has garnered considerable recognition interna-tionally in the context of competition between centres of biomedicine, and has been discussed with foreign delegations on a number of visits.

Federal Council decides to renew master plan

Given the importance of biomedical research and the industry for the Swiss economy and healthcare system, the Federal Council has resolved to con-tinue with the master plan, and has commissioned the Swiss Federal De-partment of Home Affairs (FDHA) to draft a new plan for 2020 to 2025. The list of measures to be implemented will be presented in 2020, and can be modified on an ongoing basis to reflect technological developments and the concerns of the stakeholders involved. The areas of focus include boosting clinical research, allowing affordable access to new biomedical products, and digital transformation.

The FDHA will work on the implementation of the 2020-25 master plan in tandem with the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) and the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP). There are also plans for a regular exchange of information with representatives of the various stakeholders.

Last modification 14.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie/masterplan-zur-staerkung-der-biomedizinischen-forschung-und-technologie.html

Stärkung der Schweiz als Standort für biomedizinische Forschung und Technologie

Die Schweiz steht als Forschungs- und Innovationsstandort im Bereich der Biomedizin im internationalen Vergleich sehr gut da. Der Bund engagiert sich im Rahmen eines Masterplans, um die biomedizinische Forschung und Technologie in der Schweiz nachhaltig zu stärken.

Nachhaltige Stärkung durch gezielte Massnahmen und Abstimmung zwischen den Akteuren

Im Hinblick auf die Stärkung des Standorts Schweiz hat der Bundesrat 2013 den Masterplan «Massnahmen des Bundes zur Stärkung der biomedizinischen Forschung und Technologie» verabschiedet. Im Rahmen des Masterplans werden zwischen 2013 und 2020 insgesamt 23 sektorspezifische Massnamen umgesetzt, mit dem Ziel, möglichst gute Rahmenbedingungen für die biomedizinische Forschung und Technologie zu erhalten und weiter zu schaffen und gleichzeitig der Schweizer Bevölkerung den physischen und bezahlbaren Zugang zu den Errungenschaften und neuen Produktender Biomedizin zu gewährleisten.

Der Wirkungsbereich des Masterplans umspannt die gesamte Kette – von der Forschung und Entwicklung, über die klinische Forschung, den Marktzutritt für Produkte der Biomedizin, deren Preisbildung und Vergütung durch die Sozialversicherung, bis hin zur Verfügbarkeit dieser Produkte im Versorgungsalltag.

23 Massnahmen in unterschiedlicher Verantwortung

Der Masterplan ist initial mit 21 Massnahmen in den Bereichen Forschungs- und Nachwuchsförderung, Marktzugang und Überwachungssystem, Vergütung durch die Sozialversicherung, seltene Krankheiten und geistiges Eigentum gestartet (eine Liste der Massnahmen findet sich im Anhang des Berichts). Im Jahr 2016 sind zwei weitere Massnahmen in den Bereichen Versorgungssicherheit und Medizinprodukte dazugekommen. Für die Konzeption und die Umsetzung der Massnahmen verantwortlich sind verschiedene Abteilungen des BAG, das Institut für Geistiges Eigentum (IGE), das Staatssekretariat fürBildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) sowie das Schweizerische Heilmittelinstitut Swissmedic.

Zwischenbilanz

Der Bundesrat hat Ende 2018 Zwischenbilanz zur Umsetzung des Masterplans in Form einer Standortbestimmung gezogen (siehe unten, Reiter «Dokumente»). Die Umsetzung der 23 Massnahmen ist fünf Jahre nach Verabschiedung des Masterplans insgesamt auf gutem Weg. Bei zwei Drittel der Massnahmen wurde das definierte Ziel bereits ganz oder zumindest teilweise erreicht, bei den meisten anderen wurden wichtige Fortschritte erzielt. Lediglich bei der Massnahme zur Sicherstellung der Kostenübernahme von Behandlung und Pflege in akademisch-initiierten klinischen Studien, konnte das im Masterplan anvisierte Ziel nicht erreicht werden.
Der Masterplan hat nicht nur innerhalb der einzelnen Themenfelder Verbesserungen gebracht, sondern auch auf der übergeordneten Ebene: Die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Systems hat sich für die Abstimmung zwischen den einzelnen Bereichen als äusserst zielführend erwiesen. Durch den Masterplan konnte ein besseres Verständnis über die Amts- und Departementsgrenzen hinweg geschaffen werden. Zudem hat sich der Masterplan als politisches Instrument bewährt. Auch international findet der Masterplan im Kontext des Standortwettbewerbs einige Beachtung und wurde mit ausländischen Delegationen bei diversen Besuchen angesprochen.

Bundesrat beschliesst Erneuerung des Masterplans

Aufgrund der Bedeutung der biomedizinischen Forschung und Industrie für die Schweizer Wirtschaft und das Gesundheitswesen hat der Bundesrat beschlossen, den Masterplan weiterzuführen. Er hat das Eidgenössische Departement des Innern (EDI) beauftragt, einen neuen Masterplan für die Jahre 2020–2025 zu erarbeiten. Die Liste der umzusetzenden Massnahmen wird 2020 vorgelegt; sie kann je nach technologischen Entwicklungen oder Anliegen der involvierten Interessengruppen laufend angepasst werden. Zu den Schwerpunkten gehören die Stärkung der klinischen Forschung, der erschwingliche Zugang zu neuen biomedizinischen Produkten und die digitale Transformation.

Das EDI arbeitet gemeinsam mit dem Eidgenössischen Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) und dem Eidgenössischen Justiz- und Polizeidepartement (EJPD) an der Umsetzung des Masterplans 2020–2025. Vorgesehen ist zudem ein regelmässiger Informationsaustausch mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der Interessengruppen.

 

Letzte Änderung 28.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie/masterplan-zur-staerkung-der-biomedizinischen-forschung-und-technologie.html