Middle-East respiratory syndrome coronavirus

MERS

Middle-East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV) is a new coronavirus that causes acute pneumonia. It was discovered in 2012 in a patient in the Middle East.  

Pathogens and transmission

MERS-CoV belongs to Coronaviridae, a large family of viruses responsible for a broad range of disease in humans and animals. In humans these viruses cause conditions ranging from colds to SARS (severe acute respiratory syndrome). MERS-CoV is genetically distinct from the coronavirus that caused the 2003 SARS pandemic. Neither the virus reservoir nor the transmission route has been clearly identified. The dromedary (and products such as unpasteurised milk derived from it) seems to play a key role in the transmission of the virus from animals to humans. Human-to-human transmission takes place through close contact, presumably via droplet infection. Infection often occurs in hospital (nosocomial infection) or in the family.

Symptoms

The incubation period is normally less than a week, but sometimes up to 14 days. The onset of the condition is characterised by the following symptoms: fever, coughing, shivering, muscle pain and respiratory problems (dyspnoea, i.e. laboured breathing). In serious cases it can develop into pneumonia that can lead to lung injury. This may require artificial respiration and admission to intensive care. Gastrointestinal disorders have also been observed, sometimes accompanied by diarrhoea.

Patients already suffering from a chronic condition (diabetes, immunodeficiency, cancer, etc.) have elevated mortality rates. In Saudi Arabia the disease has been fatal in around 35% of infected patients. At present there is neither a vaccination nor other specific treatment. Patients are treated symptomatically depending on their state of health.

Distribution and frequency

Since 2012 the WHO has recorded a total of 2,428 confirmed cases of MERS-CoV worldwide, including 838 fatalities.

Autochthonous (locally acquired) cases have so far only been reported in Middle Eastern countries: Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar and Yemen. Imported cases (or cases connected with such cases) have been observed in Algeria, Austria, China, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Malaysia, the Netherlands, the Philippines, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, the UK and the United States.

Most infections have been recorded on the Arabian Peninsula, particularly Saudi Arabia (85% of the confirmed cases).

Prevention

Travellers in endemic areas run the risk of being infected. In reality, however, the potential risk depends on possible contact with dromedaries (Arabian camels), their products or patients with the disease in medical establishments. Anyone staying in the countries affected should now avoid contact with sick people and animals (especially dromedaries), and pay attention to hand and food hygiene. In other words, they should wash their hands with soap and water (especially before and after touching animals), avoid eating undercooked meat, and drink milk only when pasteurised.

The FOPH also advises following any further local recommendations.

Travellers who develop symptoms, either while travelling or within 14 days of returning home from an epidemic area, are asked to seek medical advice.

Diagnosis

The reference centre for MERS-CoV is the national reference center for emerging viral infections (CRIVE) in Geneva. Please follow the instructions on the CRIVE website (see link below) and make absolutely sure to notify CRIVE by telephone before sending samples of suspected MERS-CoV.

Last modification 16.07.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/mers.html

Middle-East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS)

MERS

«Middle East Respiratory Syndrom Coronavirus» (MERS-CoV) ist ein neues Coronavirus, das eine akute Lungenentzündung verursacht. Es wurde im 2012 bei einem Patienten im Mittleren Osten entdeckt.

Erreger und Übertragung

Das MERS-CoV gehört zur Familie der Coronaviridae, eine grosse Virenfamilie, die für ein breites Spektrum von Erkrankungen bei Mensch und Tier verantwortlich ist. Beim Menschen verursachen diese Viren Krankheiten, die von einfachem Schnupfen bis zu SARS (Schweres Akutes Respiratorisches Syndrom) reichen. Das MERS-CoV unterscheidet sich genetisch vom Coronavirus, welches die SARS-Pandemie im Jahr 2003 verursachte. Weder das Virusreservoir noch der Übertragungsweg sind eindeutig bekannt. Das Dromedar (oder dessen Produkte, z. B. nicht pasteurisierte Milch) scheint eine wichtige Rolle bei der Übertragung des Virus vom Tier auf den Menschen zu spielen. Die Mensch-zu-Mensch-Übertragung erfolgt über engen Kontakt; vermutlich mittels Tröpfcheninfektion. Die Ansteckung findet häufig im Spital (nosokomiale Übertragung) oder in der Familie statt.

Krankheitsbild

Die Inkubationszeit beträgt normalerweise weniger als eine Woche, gelegentlich bis 14 Tage. Der Beginn der Erkrankung ist von folgenden Symptomen gekennzeichnet: Fieber, Husten, Schüttelfrost, Muskelschmerzen und respiratorische Beschwerden (Dyspnoe). In schwerwiegenden Fällen kann sich eine Lungenentzündung entwickeln, die eine Lungeninsuffizienz nach sich ziehen kann. Diese kann eine künstliche Beatmung sowie eine Hospitalisation in der Intensivstation nötig machen. Auch wurden Magen-Darmbeschwerden mitunter mit Durchfall beobachtet.

Patienten, die bereits an einer chronischen Erkrankung leiden (Diabetes, Immunschwäche, Krebs, etc.), weisen eine erhöhte Sterblichkeit auf. In Saudi-Arabien verlief die Erkrankung in etwa 35% der infizierten Patienten tödlich. Es gibt zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt weder eine Impfung, noch eine sonstige spezifische Behandlung. Patienten werden gemäss ihrem Gesundheitszustand symptomatisch behandelt.

Verbreitung und Häufigkeit

Die WHO hat seit 2012 weltweit insgesamt 2428 bestätigte MERS-CoV Infektionen inklusive 838 Todesfälle erfasst.

Autochthone Fälle (lokal erworbene Fälle) wurden bislang ausschliesslich in den Ländern des Mittleren Ostens gemeldet: Saudi-Arabien, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate, Iran, Jordanien, Kuweit, Libanon, Oman, Katar und Jemen. Importierte Fälle (oder Fälle in Verbindung dazu) wurden in Algerien, Ägypten, China, Deutschland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Grossbritannien, Italien, Malaysia, den Niederlanden, Österreich, den Philippinen, Südkorea, Thailand, Tunesien, Türkei und den USA beobachtet.

Die meisten Infektionen wurden auf der Arabischen Halbinsel, insbesondere in Saudi-Arabien (85% der bestätigten Fälle), festgestellt.

Vorbeugung

Reisende in Endemiegebiete laufen wenig Gefahr, sich anzustecken. Konkret hängt das Risikopotenzial jedoch vom möglichen Kontakt mit Dromedaren, deren Produkten oder Erkrankten in medizinischen Institutionen ab. Bei einem Aufenthalt in den betroffenen Ländern gilt es indes, den Kontakt zu kranken Personen und Tieren (vor allem Dromedaren) zu vermeiden und auf die Hand- und Lebensmittelhygiene zu achten. Das heisst, Hände mit Wasser und Seife reinigen – vor allem vor und nach dem Berühren von Tieren –, kein ungenügend gekochtes Fleisch verzehren, nur pasteurisierte Milch trinken.

Das BAG rät zudem, allfällige weitere Empfehlungen vor Ort zu befolgen.

Reisende, die Symptome entwickeln, sei es während ihrer Reise oder innerhalb von 14 Tagen nach ihrer Rückkehr aus einem Epidemiegebiet, werden aufgefordert, ärztlichen Rat einzuholen.

Diagnostik

Das nationale Referenzzentrum für MERS-CoV ist das NAVI (Referenzzentrum für Neuauftretende Viruserkrankungen) in Genf. Bitte folgen Sie den Anweisungen auf der Webseite des NAVI (siehe Link unten) und achten Sie unbedingt darauf, dass das NAVI vor dem Versand jeglicher MERS-CoV Verdachtsproben telefonisch informiert wird.

Letzte Änderung 17.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/mers.html