Hepatitis E

Hepatitis_E

Hepatitis E is an infectious inflammation of the liver. In industrialised countries it is primarily spread through contaminated foodstuffs. Persons infected may develop jaundice. Most cases of hepatitis E heal without treatment.

Pathogen and transmission

Hepatitis E is an inflammation of the liver that is caused by infection with the hepatitis E virus (HEV). The virus is transmitted in different ways depending on its genotype. In Europe and North America it is spread to humans by animals (such as domestic pigs and wild boar) via the food chain. Products containing raw pork liver pose a particular risk here. In parts of Asia, Africa and Mexico the transmission of HEV is faecal-oral, i.e. through the direct or indirect ingestion of infected faeces, generally by drinking contaminated water.

Pathology

Hepatitis E is an acute disease that produces fever, joint and stomach pains, a loss of appetite and nausea. In rarer cases, jaundice may also develop. The disease has an incubation period of two to six weeks. Estimates suggest, however, that over 90 per cent of hepatitis E infections pass without symptoms. Most symptomatic cases heal without treatment. Persons with a pre-existing liver condition are more susceptible to developing a more severe case of the disease. With immunosuppressed persons and those who have received a liver transplant, the infection may become chronic and, if left untreated, can lead to cirrhosis of the liver (scarring of the liver tissue). Cases of this kind can be treated with antiviral drugs. In rarer cases involving hepatitis E, neurological complications have also been reported, such as muscle degeneration or neuralgic amyotrophy (pain and paralysis in the shoulder area).

Distribution and frequency of occurrence

The hepatitis E virus is found all over the world, with different genotypes in different regions producing different disease pathologies. Europe and North America are home to HEV Genotypes 3 and 4, which are transmitted through food; and in parts of Asia, Africa and Mexico it is HEV Genotypes 1 and 2, which are transmitted via contaminated water, that regularly cause hepatitis E epidemics, sometimes producing several hundred thousand cases, especially among young adults and pregnant women.

Prevention

Immunosuppressed persons and those with liver disease, older persons, pregnant women and children should avoid eating raw pork or wild boar products. To prevent possible transmission of HEV via meat products, all such products should be fully cooked through before consumption. There is no hepatitis E vaccine available in Switzerland.

For further information on the global distribution of hepatitis E and ways and means to avoid HEV infection, consult your GP or a doctor specialising in travel medicine.

Dokumente


Further relevant documents are available in German and French.

Links

Further relevant documents are available in German and French.

Facts and figures on hepatitis E

Weekly case numbers (in German)

Basis: Swiss mandatory case reporting system

Further related topics

Infectious diseases: Outbreaks, Epidemics, Pandemics

Infectious diseases spread even in our age of modern medicine. What constitutes an outbreak? An epidemic or pandemic? You’ll find definitions, the latest figures and our recommendations here.

Last modification 13.05.2024

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/hepatitis-e.html

Hepatitis E

Hepatitis_E

Hepatitis E ist eine infektiöse Leberentzündung. Die Übertragung erfolgt in Industrieländern vor allem über kontaminierte Lebensmittel. Infizierte können eine Gelbsucht entwickeln. Die meisten Fälle heilen ohne Behandlung aus.

Erreger und Übertragung

Hepatitis E ist eine infektiöse Leberentzündung, die durch das Hepatitis E Virus (HEV) ausgelöst wird. Das Virus wird je nach Genotyp unterschiedlich übertragen. In Europa und Nordamerika wird das Virus von Tieren (z. B. Haus- und Wildschweinen) über die Lebensmittelkette auf den Menschen übertragen. Als risikoreich gelten insbesondere Produkte, die rohe Schweineleber enthalten. In Teilen Asiens, Afrikas und Mexikos gelangt das Virus fäko-oral, d. h. durch die direkte oder indirekte Einnahme von Fäkalien, in den Organismus. Dies geschieht meistens durch kontaminiertes Wasser.

Krankheitsbild

Hepatitis E ist eine akute Erkrankung, die durch Fieber, Gelenk- und Bauchschmerzen, Appetitlosigkeit und Übelkeit gekennzeichnet ist. Seltener kann auch eine Gelbsucht auftreten. Die Inkubationszeit beträgt zwei bis sechs Wochen. Es wird jedoch geschätzt, dass mehr als 90% der Infektionen symptomlos verlaufen. Die meisten symptomatischen Fälle heilen ohne Behandlung aus. Schwerere Verläufe können bei Personen mit vorbestehender Leberkrankheit vorkommen. Bei immunsupprimierten Personen oder Transplantationspatienten kann die Infektion chronifizieren und unbehandelt zu einer Leberzirrhose (Vernarbung des Lebergewebes) führen. Solche Fälle können mit antiviralen Medikamenten behandelt werden. Seltener sind im Zusammenhang mit Hepatitis E auch neurologische Komplikationen beschrieben worden, wie z. B. eine Muskeldegeneration oder schmerzhafte Schulterlähmung.

Verbreitung und Häufigkeit

Das Virus kommt weltweit vor, je nach Genotyp mit unterschiedlichem Krankheitsbild und in unterschiedlichen Regionen. In Europa und Nordamerika kommen die lebensmittelübertragenen Genotypen 3 und 4 vor. In Teilen Asiens, Afrikas und Mexikos führen die durch kontaminiertes Wasser übertragenen Genotypen 1 und 2 regelmässig zu Epidemien, manchmal mit mehreren hunderttausend Fällen. Betroffen sind vor allem junge Erwachsene und Schwangere.

Vorbeugung

Immunsupprimierte Personen oder solche, die an einer Leberkrankheit leiden, sowie Senioren, Schwangere und Kinder, sollten auf rohe Schwein- oder Wildschweinerzeugnisse verzichten. Um eine mögliche Übertragung von Hepatitis E über Fleischprodukte zu verhindern, empfiehlt es sich, Fleischprodukte vor dem Verzehr vollständig durchzugaren. In der Schweiz ist keine Impfung gegen Hepatitis E verfügbar.

Weitere Informationen zur weltweiten Verbreitung und Vorbeugung der Krankheit erhalten Sie bei Ihrem Hausarzt/Ihrer Hausärztin oder einem Facharzt/einer Fachärztin für Reisemedizin.

Zahlen zu Hepatitis E

Datendetails zu Hepatitis E

Entwicklung der wöchentlichen Fallzahlen auf der Basis des obligatorischen Meldesystems, welches aufgrund von Meldungen der Ärzte erstellt wird.

Wöchentliche Fallzahlen

Basis: obligatorisches Meldesystem

Weiterführende Themen

Infektionskrankheiten: Ausbrüche, Epidemien, Pandemien

Infektionskrankheiten breiten sich auch in Zeiten moderner Medizin aus. Wann sprechen wir von einem Ausbruch? Wann von einer Epidemie oder Pandemie? Definitionen, aktuelle Zahlen und unsere Empfehlungen finden Sie hier.

Letzte Änderung 05.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/hepatitis-e.html