Antibiotic resistance

Bacteria can adapt so that antibiotics do not act anymore. So not people themselves become resistant to antibiotics, but bacteria do. The resistant bacteria can make treatment last longer or even impossible in some cases.

Antibiotics are essential in combating many bacterial infections. They enable doctors to treat conditions such as pneumonia or sepsis, and they help protect vulnerable patients who have a chronic disease, are undergoing chemotherapy (for cancer) or who have just had an operation.

Resistance to antibiotics – or antibiotic resistance – is the ability of certain bacteria to adapt so that they can resist the action of antibiotics. People themselves do not become resistant to antibiotics, only bacteria can. The resistant bacteria can then move from one person to another and make treatment more difficult, longer and even impossible in some cases.

Further information

Carbapenemase-producing Enterobacteriaceae (CPE)

Bacteria that are becoming resistant to antibiotics – and which therefore represent a current or existing threat to public health – are monitored. These bacteria include Carbapenemase-producing Enterobacteriaceae (CPE).

NOSO Strategy: Hospital and nursing home infections

With the NOSO Strategy, the Confederation and its implementation partners aim to better protect the population against hospital and nursing home infections. Here you can read about the measures that are implemented or planned.

Last modification 05.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Communicable Diseases Division
Strategies, Principles and Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Antibiotic Resistance Infoline
Tel. +41 58 467 64 31 

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen.html

Antibiotikaresistenzen

Bakterien können sich so anpassen, dass Antibiotika nicht mehr wirken. Resistent werden somit nicht Menschen, sondern Bakterien. Solche Bakterien können eine Behandlung verlängern oder sogar verhindern.

Antibiotika sind eine wichtige Waffe im Kampf gegen viele bakterielle Infektionskrankheiten. Ärztinnen und Ärzte können damit nicht nur  die häufigsten Infekte behandeln (etwa Blutvergiftungen oder Lungenentzündungen), sondern auch Menschen schützen, deren Immunsystem aufgrund von chronischen Erkrankungen, Chemotherapien (Behandlungen gegen eine Krebserkrankung) oder chirurgischen Eingriffen geschwächt ist.

Mit Antibiotikaresistenz wird die Fähigkeit einiger Bakterien bezeichnet, sich anzupassen und der Wirkung von Antibiotika zu widerstehen. Resistent werden also nicht die Personen, sondern Bakterien. Resistente Bakterien können sich vermehren und sich von einer Person auf andere übertragen. Solche Krankheitserreger können die Behandlung einer Infektion erschweren, verlängern oder im schlimmsten Fall sogar verunmöglichen.

Weiterführende Themen

Strategie Antibiotikaresistenzen Bereich Mensch

So viel wie nötig, so wenig wie möglich – Antibiotika als lebensrettende Medikamente sollen langfristig erhalten bleiben.

Carbapenemase-produzierende Enterobakterien (CPE)

Bakterien, deren Resistenzentwicklung gegen Antibiotika eine vorhandene oder potentielle Bedrohung der öffentlichen Gesundheit darstellen, werden sorgfältig überwacht.

Letzte Änderung 28.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Übertragbare Krankheiten
Sektion Strategien, Grundlagen und Programme
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen.html