Nanomaterials : Occupational health protection

The same prevention principles are relevant for occupational health protection in connection with the use of manufactured nanomaterials as for any other substances with as-yet unknown health risks.

The health risks associated with chemicals are determined by their harmfulness and the level of exposure that occurs during handling.

Based on the current state of knowledge, it is not yet possible to assess comprehensively the health risks associated with manufactured nanomaterials. At present there is still too little data on most nanomaterials from which to derive specific threshold values, while sufficient knowledge of exposure levels has yet to be acquired in many cases.

Occupational health protection is regulated by the Labour Act, the Accident Insurance Act and the associated ordinances. However, these regulations do not specifically address nanomaterials.

It is still possible to handle nanomaterials safely even if full health protection data is not available for them. However, different principles should be observed. It can be assumed that there is a very strong probability of health being adequately protected if these principles are complied with.

The precautionary principle

The precautionary principle stipulates that substances with an unknown hazard potential should be handled the same way as harmful substances. This approach has proven effective and should therefore be applied to nanomaterials as well.

The STOP principle

The STOP principle is hierarchically structured and contains a step-by-step description of the procedure for protecting employees from harmful substances:

  1. Substitution: Harmful substances should be replaced with less harmful ones. This especially relates to the early integration of occupational safety-related aspects during the research and development of products and production methods.
  2. Technical measures: Collective technical measures used to detect, limit and divert hazardous gases, vapours and aerosols.
  3. Organisational measures: The number of employees in a work environment where exposure may potentially occur and the time they spend there should be limited. Employees must receive specific training.
  4. Personal protective measures: Appropriate protective equipment must be selected. The use of personal protective equipment (PPE) is often strenuous, and individual errors quickly result in a failure of protection. Use of PPE should therefore be considered strictly an add-on measure to the collective protective measures mentioned above.

This procedure helps minimise unnecessary contact with nanomaterials, as well as other materials.

SUVA factsheet on nanomaterials

SUVA’s factsheet provides a description of how to handle nanomaterials safely. Its recommendations are based on the STOP principle described above.

Expert support from ASA specialists

According to FCOS Directive 6508 (ASA [occupational physicians and other occupational safety specialists] Directive), employers are obligated where necessary to bring in occupational hygienists, occupational physicians or other occupational safety specialists to determine the hazards in the company and to implement corresponding measures (Art. 11a Ordinance on the Prevention of Accidents and Occupational Diseases, APO).

Focussing on airborne nanomaterials

Nanomaterials can enter the human body via different pathways (exposure routes): via the airways (inhalation exposure), through the skin (dermal exposure) or by swallowing (oral exposure). Based on current knowledge, inhalation exposure presents the greatest risk to workers, and protection for people who handle nanomaterials should therefore focus on protecting the airways. However, care must be taken to ensure that the other absorption routes are protected if the working situation requires it.

Occupational safety research

Numerous institutions around the globe are researching possible health risks associated with nanomaterials and the corresponding basic principles for occupational health protection. The Compendium of the NanoSafetyCluster contains a detailed description of current European research projects.

For further information, see Risk research.

Last modification 12.08.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/sicherer-umgang-mit-nanomaterialien/gesundheitsschutz-am-arbeitsplatz.html

Nanomaterialien: Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz

Für den Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz sind beim Einsatz von synthetischen Nanomaterialien die gleichen Präventionsgrundsätze relevant, wie sie für alle anderen Stoffe mit noch unbekannten Gesundheitsgefahren gelten. 

Gesundheitsrisiken werden im Bereich Chemikalien aufgrund der Gefährlichkeit einer Chemikalie sowie der Belastungssituation beim Umgang damit berechnet.

Gesundheitsrisiken, die von synthetischen Nanomaterialien ausgehen, können nach heutigem Wissensstand noch nicht abschliessend beurteilt werden. Für die meisten Nanomaterialien gibt es heute noch zu wenig Daten, um konkrete Grenzwerte abzuleiten und die Belastungssituation ist oft noch nicht ausreichend bekannt.

Der Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz ist generell im Arbeitsgesetz und im Unfallversicherungsgesetz sowie in den entsprechenden Verordnungen geregelt. Diese Regelungen gehen jedoch nicht spezifisch auf Nanomaterialien ein.

Auch bei unvollständiger Datenlage zum Gesundheitsschutz kann man sicher mit Nanomaterialien umgehen. Jedoch sind verschiedene Prinzipien einzuhalten. Wer diese einhält, kann mit grosser Wahrscheinlichkeit davon ausgehen, dass seine Gesundheit genug geschützt ist.

Das Vorsorgeprinzip

Das Vorsorgeprinzip verlangt, dass Stoffe mit unbekanntem Gefahrenpotenzial gleich wie gesundheitsgefährdende Stoffe behandelt werden. Dieses Vorgehen hat sich bewährt um mit einer Unsicherheit umzugehen und sollte auch im Fall von Nanomaterialien zur Anwendung kommen.

Das STOP-Prinzip

Das STOP-Prinzip ist hierarchisch aufgebaut und beschreibt das schrittweise Vorgehen zum Schutz der Arbeitenden vor gesundheitsgefährdenden Stoffen:

  1. Substitution: Gesundheitsgefährdende Stoffe sind durch harmlosere zu ersetzen. Dies betrifft speziell den frühzeitigen Einbezug von Arbeitssicherheits-Aspekten in der Forschung und bei der Entwicklung von Produkten und Produktionsverfahren.
  2. Technische Massnahmen: Kollektive, technische Massnahmen zum Erfassen, Begrenzen und Abführen gefährlicher Gase, Dämpfe und Aerosole.
  3. Organisatorische Massnahmen: Der Aufenthalt im Arbeitsbereich mit potenzieller Exposition ist zeitlich und personell zu beschränken. Das Personal ist spezifisch zu schulen.
  4. Persönliche Schutzmassnahmen: Es ist eine adäquate Schutzausrüstung zu wählen. Die Verwendung einer persönlichen Schutzausrüstung (PSA) ist oft anstrengend und individuelle Fehler führen rasch zum Versagen des Schutzes. Darum ist die Verwendung der PSA prinzipiell nur als ergänzende Massnahme zu obigen Kollektivschutzmassnahmen zu betrachten.

Dieses Vorgehen hilft auch bei Nanomaterialien unnötigen Kontakt so weit wie möglich zu reduzieren.

SUVA Merkblatt zu Nanomaterialien

Die Suva beschreibt in ihrem Merkblatt, wie mit Nanomaterialien sicher umgegangen werden kann. Als Grundlage für diese Empfehlungen dient das oben beschriebene STOP-Prinzip.

Fachliche Unterstützung durch ASA Spezialisten

Der Arbeitgeber muss gemäss Richtlinie 6508 (ASA-Richtlinie) der EKAS gegebenenfalls Arbeitshygieniker, Arbeitsärztinnen oder andere Spezialisten der Arbeitssicherheit beiziehen (Art. 11a, Verordnung über die Verhütung von Unfällen und Berufskrankheiten VUV), damit Gefahren beim Umgang mit Nanomaterialien im Betrieb ermittelt und entsprechende Massnahmen ergriffen werden können.

Fokus auf luftgetragenen Nanomaterialien

Nanopartikeln können über drei Wege (Expositionswege) in den Organismus gelangen: über die Atmung (inhalativ), die Haut (dermal), oder durch Verschlucken (oral). Nach heutigem Kenntnisstand ist für den Arbeitnehmer vor allem die inhalative Exposition risikoreich: deshalb sollten in erster Linie die Atemwege geschützt werden beim Umgang mit Nanomaterialien. Je nach Arbeitssituation dürfen jedoch die anderen Aufnahmewege nicht vernachlässigt werden.

Forschung zur Arbeitssicherheit

Weltweit beschäftigen sich viele Institutionen mit der Erforschung möglicher Gesundheitsrisiken von Nanomaterialien und den entsprechenden Grundlagen zum Schutz der Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz. Eine ausführliche Beschreibung aktueller europäischer Forschungsprojekte bietet das Compendium des NanoSafetyCluster.

Weitere Informationen auf der Seite Risikoforschung.

Dokumente

WHO guidelines on protecting workers from potential risks of manufactured nanomaterials (PDF, 582 kB, 31.12.2017)WHO-Richtlinie zum Schutz von Arbeitnehmenden vor möglichen Risiken, welche von synthetischen Nanomaterialien ausgehen könnten

Letzte Änderung 12.08.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Chemikalien
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/sicherer-umgang-mit-nanomaterialien/gesundheitsschutz-am-arbeitsplatz.html