Inspection, measurement and assessment methods

The effects of nanomaterials in living organisms depend on their size, shape and composition. Reliable methods are needed to determine the effects of nanomaterials in mammals and aquatic organisms as well as their behaviour in the environment.  

 
Fotolia_81127091_XS

Various international organisations such as the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) are developing standardised inspection, measurement and assessment methods in order to evaluate the health and environmental risks of nanomaterials. Employees of the Swiss federal offices are actively participating in these working groups.

OECD Working Party on Manufactured Nanomaterials (WPMN)

The aim of the WPMN, which was established in 2006, is to develop methods and strategies that contribute towards the safety of nanomaterials for people and the environment. This involves, among other things:

  • Reviewing existing OECD test guidelines to assess their suitability for nanomaterials. If necessary, amending existing test guidelines or developing new ones.
  • Providing freely available documents that present the research activities and strategies of OECD member countries on the safe use of nanomaterials, so called "Tour de Table" documents.
  • Supporting international partnerships that are investigating risk assessment strategies.
  • Developing guidelines on measuring and minimising exposure for employees, consumers and the environment.
  • Promoting the sustainable use of nanotechnology by enhancing and expanding inventory data and lifecycle assessment (LCA) methods.

The methods used to test conventional chemicals can generally also be used for nanomaterials. Certain methods may need to be modified, for example to enable correct sample preparation or dosage of nanomaterials in the testing system. New methods, in particular to characterise nanomaterials, are currently being developed.

In 2007, a test programme was started to test in vivo & in vitro the potential risk that eleven different nanomaterials (fullerenes, S-MWNT, silver, iron, titanium dioxide, cerium oxide, zinc oxide, silicon dioxide, dendrimers, clay and gold) posed to people and the environment. Thanks to assistance from public authorities, industry and research bodies in equal measure, the results have been available since June 2015.

 

International standardisation organisations

The technical committees ISO TC 229 Nanotechnologies and CEN TC 352 are developing standards for nanotechnology terminology and naming conventions. These expert groups are also drawing up methods for measuring, characterising and testing the toxic properties of nanomaterials, and are preparing guidelines on handling nanomaterials safely. Measuring exposure to nanoparticles and assessing toxicity throughout their lifecycle is playing an increasingly important role. The NK 0201 standards committee of the Swiss Association for Standardization (SNV) is enabling its members to work directly with ISO TC 229 and CEN 352.

Chemicals: Information requirements and chemical safety assessment for nanomaterials under REACH

For substances that are manufactured in or imported into the EU in a nanoform in quantities of one or more tonnes each year, specific requirements for registration in line with the REACH Regulation have been applicable since 1 January 2020. Previously submitted registration applications for substances with nanoforms must be updated by the company responsible for the registration. The aim of this is to evaluate the specific risks involved in the handling of the nanoforms of substances and to develop and recommend appropriate risk management measures.

IT programs and reporting formats for nanomaterials have been modified. The updated IUCLID* software (version 6.4) enables nanoforms or groups of nanoforms to be recorded together with the relevant data relating to their properties and risks in other sections of the dossier.

*IUCLID is a software application used in OECD member states for regulatory registration purposes, in which data on the inherent hazardous properties of chemical substances can be recorded, stored, maintained and updated.

The European chemicals agency ECHA has published several nano-specific appendices to its guidelines on information requirements and chemical safety assessment under REACH.

 

Foods: Guidelines for assessing the possible risks of nanotechnology

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) has published guidelines for assessing the possible risks of nanotechnology in food and feed.

Cosmetic products: Guidance on assessing the risks of nanomaterials

In 2019, the Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) published guidance on assessing the risks of nanomaterials in cosmetics. This guidance forms the methodological basis for the safety report that has to be submitted as part of the registration process in accordance with the European Regulation on Cosmetic Products (EC No. 1223/2009). The document can be found on this page under ‘Documents’.

Medical devices: Guidance on assessing the risks of nanomaterials

In 2015, the Scientific Committee on Emerging and Newly Identified Health Risks (SCENIHR) published guidance on assessing the risks of nanomaterials in medical devices. This highlights what needs to be specifically taken into account for nanomaterials. This guidance can also be used for particles larger than 100 nm.

Last modification 21.05.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/rechtsetzung-und-vollzug/pruef-mess-und-beurteilungsmethoden.html

Prüf-, Mess- und Beurteilungsmethoden

Die Wirkung von Nanomaterialien in lebenden Organismen hängt von deren Grösse, Form und Zusammensetzung ab. Um die Wirkung und von Nanomaterialien in Säugetieren und in aquatischen Organismen sowie das Verhalten in der Umwelt abzuklären, sind verlässliche Methoden erforderlich.  

 
Fotolia_81127091_XS

Verschiedene internationale Organisationen wie die Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung OECD und die International Standard Organisation ISO arbeiten daran, standardisierte Prüf-, Mess- und Beurteilungsmethoden zu entwickeln, um die Gesundheits- und Umweltrisiken von Nanomaterialien zu beurteilen. Mitarbeiter der Bundesämter nehmen an den Aktivitäten dieser Arbeitsgruppen teil.

OECD Working Party on Manufactured Nanomaterials (WPMN)

Ziel der seit 2006 existierende WPMN ist es, Methoden und Strategien zu entwickeln, die zur Sicherheit von Nanomaterialien für Mensch und Umwelt beitragen. Dies beinhaltet unter anderem:

  • Überprüfung existierender OECD-Testrichtlinien auf ihre Tauglichkeit für Nanomaterialien. Gegebenenfalls Weiter- oder Neuentwicklung entsprechender Testrichtlinien.
  • Frei verfügbare Dokumente, welche Forschungsaktivitäten und Strategien der OECD- Mitgliedländer zum sicheren Umgang mit Nanomaterialien dokumentieren, „Tour de Table“- Dokumente.
  • Unterstützung internationaler Kooperationen zu Risikobeurteilungsstrategien.
  • Entwicklung von Richtlinien zu Expositionsmessung und Expositionsminimierung für Arbeiter, Konsumenten und die Umwelt.
  • Förderung von nachhaltiger Nutzung der Nanotechnologie durch die Weiterentwicklung und Vergrösserung von Inventardaten und Methoden zur Lebenszyklusanalyse.

Testmethoden für konventionelle Chemikalien können meist auch für Nanomaterialien angewandt werden. Teilweise sind Anpassungen von Methoden nötig, um z.B. eine korrekte Probenvorbereitung oder Dosierung von Nanomaterialien im Testsystem zu gewährleisten. Neue Methoden, insbesondere zur Charakterisierung von Nanomaterialien, werden momentan entwickelt.

In 2007 wurde ein Testprogramm gestartet, in welchem 11 verschiedene Nanomaterialien (Fullerene, S/MWNT, Silber, Eisen, Titandioxid, Ceriumoxid, Zinkoxid, Siliziumdioxid, Dendrimere, Ton, Gold) auf ihr Gefährdungspotenzial für Mensch und Umwelt (in vivo & in vitro) getestet wurden. Behörden, Industrie und Forschung haben gleichermassen dazu beigetragen, dass die Resultate seit Juni 2015 verfügbar sind.

 

Internationale Organisationen für Normung und Standardisierung

Die technischen Komitees der ISO TC 229 Nanotechnologien und der CEN TC 352 entwickeln Standards zur Terminologie und Nomenklatur der Nanotechnologie. Die Expertengruppen erarbeiten zudem Methoden zur Messung, Charakterisierung und zur Prüfung toxischer Eigenschaften von Nanomaterialien und verfassen Wegleitungen zum sicheren Umgang mit Nanomaterialien. Die (Expositions-)Messung und toxikologische Beurteilung von Nanopartikeln entlang ihres Lebenszyklus nimmt dabei eine immer wichtigere Rolle ein. Das Normenkomitee NK 0201 der Schweizerischen Normen-Vereinigung SNV ermöglicht ihren Mitgliedern eine direkte Mitarbeit im ISO TC 229 und CEN 352.

Chemikalien: Informationsanforderungen und Stoffsicherheitsbeurteilung für Nanomaterialien unter REACH

Für Stoffe, die in einer Menge von einer Tonne oder mehr pro Jahr in einer Nanoform in der EU hergestellt oder importiert werden, gelten seit dem 1. Januar 2020 spezifische Anforderungen für die Registrierung nach der REACH-Verordnung. Früher eingereichte Registrierungsdossiers für Stoffe mit Nanoformen müssen von den registrierungspflichtigen Unternehmen aktualisiert werden. Damit soll gewährleistet werden, dass die mit dem Umgang mit Nanoformen von Stoffen verbundenen spezifischen Risiken bewertet und geeignete Risikomanagementmassnahmen entwickelt und empfohlen werden können.

IT-Programme und Berichtsformate für Nanomaterialien wurden angepasst. Die aktualisierte IUCLID*-Software (Version 6.4) ermöglicht Nanoformen oder Gruppen von Nanoformen mit den relevanten Daten zu ihren Eigenschaften und Risiken in anderen Teilen des Dossiers zu erfassen.

*IUCLID ist eine in den OECD-Mitgliedstaaten zu regulatorischen Registrierungszwecken verwendete Softwareanwendung, mit der Daten zu den inhärenten gefährlichen Eigenschaften chemischer Stoffe erfasst, gespeichert, gepflegt und ausgetauscht werden können.

Die Europäische Chemikalienagentur ECHA hat verschiedene nanospezifische Anhänge zu den Leitlinien über die Informationsanforderungen und Stoffsicherheitsbeurteilung unter REACH publiziert.

 

Lebensmittel: Leitfaden für die Beurteilung möglicher Risiken der Nanotechnologie

Die Europäische Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit (EFSA) hat einen Leitfaden zur Beurteilung möglichen Risiken der Nanotechnologie im Bereich von Lebens- und Futtermitteln veröffentlicht.

Kosmetische Mittel: Wegleitung zur Beurteilung der Risiken von Nanomaterialien

Der wissenschaftliche Ausschuss «Verbrauchersicherheit» (SCCS) hat 2012 eine Wegleitung zur Beurteilung der Risiken von Nanomaterialien in Kosmetika veröffentlicht. Die Wegleitung bildet die methodische Basis für den Sicherheitsbericht, der im Rahmen der Registrierung gemäss der Europäischen Kosmetik-Verordnung (EG Nr. 1223/2009) eingereicht werden muss. Das Dokument finden Sie auf dieser Seite im Register „Dokumente“.

Medizinalprodukte: Wegleitung zur Beurteilung der Risiken von Nanomaterialien

Das „Scientific Committee on Emerging and Newly Identified Health Risks SCENIHR” hat 2015 eine Wegleitung zur Beurteilung der Risiken von Nanomaterialien in Medizinalprodukten publiziert. Sie zeigt auf, was bei Nanomaterialien speziell beachtet werden muss. Die Wegleitung kann auch für Partikel grösser als 100 nm angewendet werden.

Letzte Änderung 23.02.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Chemikalien
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/rechtsetzung-und-vollzug/pruef-mess-und-beurteilungsmethoden.html