Human biomonitoring projects in Switzerland

Switzerland is launching a pilot phase to assess the feasibility of a nationwide human biomonitoring (HBM) project (cohort study).

Current situation

In May 2017, a report was submitted to the Federal Council on the current situation and outlook for biomonitoring in Switzerland. An initial report, the Federal Council’s response to the parliamentary intervention Moser 08.3223, was published in 2009 and gave an overview of the HBM projects in Switzerland up to that time. The new report takes stock of the current situation and provides an outlook for the future.

Between 2010 and 2012, Switzerland participated in DEMOCOPHES, the first HBM study coordinated at a European level. In each of the 17 participating countries, up to 120 mother-child couples were invited to provide urine and hair samples, which were then analysed for several known chemicals. In addition, the mothers filled in a questionnaire about behaviours and habits relevant for the exposure to these substances.

In Switzerland, some larger studies such as SAPALDIA or CoLaus associate biomonitoring data to clinical data and thorough interviews about life style, dietary habits or socio-economic factors. A regular follow-up of the volunteers can bring to light risk factors and behaviours for known diseases.

However, projects in this area are sporadic, and are limited in duration and scope. They often focus on a specific issue, e.g. the Swiss Transplant Cohort Study (STCS). There is thus no study giving a global and representative picture of exposure to chemical products among the Swiss population.

Towards a national programme?

In close collaboration with academic researchers, the Federal Office of Public health plans to establish a national programme to collect human biomonitoring data as well as health data. This multidisciplinary study would give an overview of the health status, chemical exposure and nutritional status of the general population in Switzerland.

The goal of this programme is not only to provide reference data for the Swiss population but also to better understand the impact of the environment and behaviours on our health, and thus to support health policy.

Pilot phase

The Federal Council report published in May 2017 means that a pilot phase can now be launched. The main objectives of this four-year preparatory phase are to test the feasibility of a national project, to validate the necessary procedures and infrastructures, and to evaluate the willingness of volunteers to participate. In the pilot phase use will be made of the Swiss Biobanking Platform (SBP), a structure set up by the Swiss National Science Foundation for the purposes of scientific research. The pilot phase will be conducted in collaboration with the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute (SwissTPH) in Basel and the Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine (IUMSP) in Lausanne.

Last modification 01.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/chemikalien-im-alltag/human-biomonitoring/human-biomonitoring-projekte-in-der-schweiz.html

Human Biomonitoring Projekte in der Schweiz

Unter dem Namen «Schweizer Gesundheitsstudie - Pilotphase» hat 2020 die Rekrutierung von Teilnehmer/innen an einer Pilotstudie für ein nationales Schweizer Human Biomonitoring (HBM) Projekt gestartet.

Die Situation

Im Mai 2017 wurde ein Bericht an den Bundesrat adressiert, um einen Überblick der Situation des Humanbiomonitoring in der Schweiz und der künftigen Perspektiven zu geben. Als Antwort auf das Postulat Moser 08.3223, wurde bereits 2009 ein erster Bericht zum Human Biomonitoring (HBM) verfasst, um die bisherigen Projekte in diesem Bereich darzustellen. Der Bericht von 2017 beinhaltet darüber hinaus eine Bilanz der momentanen Situation und mögliche Perspektiven.

Zwischen 2010 und 2012 hat die Schweiz unter Federführung des BAG an der Studie DEMOCOPHES teilgenommen. In jedem der 17 teilnehmenden Länder wurden Urin- und Haarproben von 120 Müttern und deren Kindern auf bestimmte chemische Substanzen getestet. Parallel dazu haben die Mütter Fragebögen zu ihrem Verhalten in Bezug auf die Exposition gegenüber diesen Chemikalien ausgefüllt.

In der Schweiz gibt es mehrere Studien, wie z.B. die Kohorten SAPALDIA oder CoLaus, die HBM Daten im Zusammenhang mit klinischen Untersuchungen und ausführlichen Fragebögen über Lifestyle, Ernährungsverhalten oder sozio-ökonomischen Faktoren betrachten. Mit einem regelmässigen Follow-up der Probanden könnten mögliche Risikofaktoren für bestimmte Krankheiten erkannt werden.

Alle vorhandenen Initiativen im Bereich Biomonitoring bleiben allerdings punktuell, d.h. sie sind bezüglich Anzahl Teilnehmer und Dauer relativ beschränkt. Oft sind sie auf eine bestimmte Fragestellung begrenzt wie z.B. die Swiss Transplant Cohort Study (STCS). Es gibt bisher keine Studie, die eine repräsentative Abschätzung der Exposition der schweizerischen Bevölkerung gegenüber Chemikalien erlaubt.

Ein nationales Programm

In Zusammenarbeit mit akademischen Wissenschaftler/innen plant das BAG, ein nationales Programm aufzubauen, um Humanbiomonitoring-Daten sowie Gesundheitsdaten zu sammeln. Es geht um eine multidisziplinäre Follow-up Studie, die es erlauben würde, Daten über den Gesundheitszustand, die chemische Belastung und den Ernährungsstatus der Schweizer Bevölkerung zu sammeln.
Ziel einer solchen Studie ist nicht nur Referenzwerte für die Schweizer Bevölkerung zu liefern, sondern auch die Einflüsse der Umwelt auf unsere Gesundheit besser zu verstehen, und somit die Gesundheitspolitik zu unterstützen.

Die Pilotphase

Auf Grundlage des Berichtes an den Bundesrat im Mai 2017 wurde grünes Licht für eine 4-jährige Pilotstudie gegeben, die dem nationalen Programm vorangehen soll. Diese vorbereitende Phase soll die Machbarkeit einer nationalen Initiative überprüfen, Infrastrukturen und Prozedere validieren, sowie die Bereitschaft der Bevölkerung untersuchen, an einer solchen Studie freiwillig teilzunehmen. Die Pilotphase wird in Kollaboration mit der vom SNF unterstützten Swiss Biobanking Platform (SBP) und dem Universitären Institut für allgemeine Medizin und öffentliche Gesundheit (Unisanté) durchgeführt.

Das Institut für Sozial- und Präventivmedizin (ISPM) in Bern und das Schweizerische Tropen- und Public Health Institut in Basel beteiligen sich ebenfalls an der Durchführung der Studie. 

Letzte Änderung 14.09.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Chemikalien
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/chemikalien-im-alltag/human-biomonitoring/human-biomonitoring-projekte-in-der-schweiz.html