Human biomonitoring projects abroad

Many countries have long-established HBM programmes. Recently, newly initiated multidisciplinary follow-up studies called cohorts link human biomonitoring data to health data. 

HBM programmes

Many countries in Europe and North America conduct periodical HBM programmes (e.g. Germany, the Czech Republic, Canada, USA), giving an overview of the substances the population is exposed to.

HBM Germany

Since 1985 the Federal Environmental Agency runs the nationwide and representative German Environmental Surveys (GerES) to analyse the exposure situation of the German population. The fifth survey, completed in 2017, focused on the exposure of children and teenagers to environmental pollutions.

The data of the surveys provide the base for the Human Biomonitoring Commission to establish reference values (HBM I and HBM II values) of a chemical in a certain body fluid (e.g. urine, blood).

Between 2010 and 2012, Switzerland took part in DEMOCOPHES, the first human biomonitoring study coordinated in Europe. Ever since, several countries formed the new consortium HBM4EU to harmonise human biomonitoring on a European level.

National cohorts

More and more frequently human biomonitoring is integrated in follow-up health surveys to better understand the long-term impact of a given exposure. Many countries implemented multidisciplinary longitudinal studies called cohorts. Those initiatives are often coupled to the creation of biobanks for a standardised conservation and utilisation of the samples.

The UK (UK Biobank), France and Germany have such programmes. CONSTANCES in France and NaKo in Germany include 200’000 volunteers of the general population, periodically undergoing extensive health checks.

Some follow-up studies focus in particular on the unborn child, such as in Denmark and Japan. Before and during pregnancy, HBM data may highlight a possible relation between external influences and a child’s development. Such findings could be taken into account for preventive actions.

Last modification 14.09.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/chemikalien-im-alltag/human-biomonitoring/human-biomonitoring-im-ausland.html

Human Biomonitoring (HBM) im Ausland

Viele Länder führen seit Jahren HBM Programme durch. Immer mehr werden longitudinale multidisziplinäre Studien durchgeführt - sogenannte Kohorten Studien -, die längerfristig HBM Daten in Zusammenhang mit Gesundheitsdaten bringen.

HBM Programme

Mehrere Länder in Europa und Nord-Amerika führen langjährige HBM Programme durch (z.B. Deutschland, Tschechische Republik, Canada, USA), um einen Überblick über die chemische Belastung der Bevölkerung zu erhalten.

HBM in Deutschland

Das deutsche Umweltbundesamt führt seit 1985 bundesweit repräsentative Umweltstudien (GerES German Environmental Survey) zur Analyse der Belastungssituation der Deutschen Bevölkerung durch. Im 2017 wurde die fünfte Erhebung durchgeführt, mit dem Ziel Umweltschadstoffe bei Kindern und Jugendlichen zu messen.  

Die in den Surveys erworbenen Daten bilden die Grundlage für die Kommission Human-Biomonitoring zur Ableitung und Begründung von sogenannten HBM Referenzwerten (HBM-I und -II Werte) eines chemischen Stoffes in einem Körpermedium (z. B. Urin, Blut).

Zwischen 2010 und 2012 hat die Schweiz an DEMOCOPHES, der ersten koordinierten HBM Studie in Europa, teilgenommen. Seit dieser Studie hat sich das Konsortium HBM4EU gebildet, mit dem Ziel, Human Biomonitoring Daten in Europa zu harmonisieren.

Nationale Kohorten

Immer öfter wird Human Biomonitoring in Zusammenhang mit anderen Gesundheitsdaten gebracht, um verschiedene Faktoren aus derselben Perspektive zu betrachten und so die Effekte einer bestimmten Exposition besser zu verstehen. Multidisziplinäre Folge-Studien, die sogenannten Kohorten, sind somit zustande gekommen. Diese Initiativen sind häufig mit der Errichtung von Biobanken verbunden, damit Proben standardisiert aufbewahrt und weiteranalysiert werden können.

Solche Programme wurden zum Beispiel in England (UK Biobank), Deutschland und Frankreich eingeführt. Die Studie CONSTANCES in Frankreich und NaKo in Deutschland umfassen 200‘000 Freiwillige der Allgemeinbevölkerung, die sich einer ausführlichen Gesundheitsuntersuchung unterzogen haben.

Folge-Studien können sich ebenfalls mit dem ungeborenen Kind befassen, wie zum Beispiel die Geburtskohorten in Dänemark und Japan. Ein HBM vor und während der Schwangerschaft kann nämlich Rückschlüsse über einen möglichen Zusammenhang von "äusseren" Einflüssen auf die Entwicklung des Kindes geben. Diese Erkenntnisse könnten zur Umsetzung von präventiven Massnahmen miteinbezogen werden.

Letzte Änderung 14.09.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Chemikalien
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/chemikalien-im-alltag/human-biomonitoring/human-biomonitoring-im-ausland.html