Notifications and authorisations in the field of biosafety

Pursuant to the Containment Ordinance, those institutes, companies and organisations that handle genetically modified, pathogenic or alien organisms in contained systems are subject to the notification or authorisation obligation.

Notification and Authorisation Obligation

An identification of risk and risk assessment must be carried out before handling organisms in contained systems so as to assign the activity to a particular class. Notification (class 1 and 2 activities) and authorisation applications (class 3 and 4 activities) shall be submitted to the Federal Coordination Centre for Biotechnology. The Coordination Centre provides on its website information on these procedures.

Registration and examination of notifications and authorisation requests

The submitted notifications are registered by the Coordination Centre for Biotechnology, checked for completeness and, depending on the activity, forwarded for processing to the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) or to the FOPH.

Technical examination of notifications and authorisation requests

The FOPH is responsible for evaluating the risk identification and assessment of activities of classes 2 to 4, in which the risk is primarily for humans. The FOPH decides by taking into account the opinions of the specialised agencies (FOEN, FOAG, FSVO, SECB, SUVA, ECNH, SECO as well as the cantonal specialised agencies) on the activities of the classes 1 and 2. Authorisations are granted by the FOPH for activities of classes 3 and 4.

Legislation

Biosafety legislation

The Ordinance on Handling Organisms in Contained Systems (ContainO) as well as various acts and additional ordinances govern activities with genetically modified, pathogenic or alien organisms in contained systems.

Further information

Biosafety

Here you can find information on the concept of biosafety and the role of the FOPH in the implementation of the Containment Ordinance.

Activities with organisms in contained system

Here you can find information on the notion of contained systems, on the risk assessment and related study, as well as on the safety measures set out under ContainO.

Last modification 02.10.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Biomedical Department
Biosafety, Human Genetics and Reproductive Medicine Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
Fax-Nr +41 58 462 62 33
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/meldungen-bewilligungen-bereich-biologische-sicherheit.html

Meldungen & Bewilligungen im Bereich Biologische Sicherheit

Institute, Firmen und Organisationen, die in geschlossenen Systemen mit gentechnisch veränderten, pathogenen oder gebietsfremden Organismen umgehen, sind gemäss der Einschliessungsverordnung melde- oder bewilligungspflichtig.

Melde- und Bewilligungspflicht

Wer mit Organismen in geschlossenen Systemen umgeht, muss vorher eine Risikoermittlung und -Bewertung durchführen und auf dieser Basis die Tätigkeit einer Klasse zuordnen. Meldung (Tätigkeiten Klassen 1 und 2) und Bewilligungsgesuch (Tätigkeiten Klassen 3 und 4) reichen Sie bitte bei der Kontaktstelle Biotechnologie des Bundes ein. Die Kontaktstelle informiert auf ihrer Website, wie Sie dabei vorgehen müssen.

Registrierung und Prüfung der Meldungen und Bewilligungsgesuche

Die Kontaktstelle Biotechnologie des Bundes registriert die eingehenden Meldungen, prüft sie auf Vollständigkeit und leitet sie entsprechend der Tätigkeit zur Bearbeitung an das Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) oder das BAG weiter.

Fachliche Prüfung der Meldung / des Bewilligungsgesuches

Das BAG ist zuständig für die Beurteilung der Risikoermittlung und -bewertung von Tätigkeiten der Klassen 2 bis 4, bei denen das Risiko für den Menschen im Vordergrund steht. Es entscheidet, unter Berücksichtigung der Stellungnahmen der Fachstellen (BAFU, BLW, BLV, EFBS, SUVA, EKAH, SECO und kantonale Fachstellen), über Tätigkeiten der Klasse 2. Für Tätigkeiten der Klassen 3 und 4 erteilt das BAG Bewilligungen.

Gesetze

Gesetzgebung Biologische Sicherheit

Die Verordnung über den Umgang mit Organismen in geschlossenen Systemen, sowie verschiedene Gesetze und Verordnungen regeln Tätigkeiten mit gentechnisch veränderten, pathogenen oder gebietsfremden Organismen im geschlossenen System.

Weiterführende Themen

Biologische Sicherheit

Hier finden Sie Informationen zum Thema der biologischen Sicherheit und der damit verbundenen Aufgaben des BAG im Rahmen des Vollzugs der Einschliessungsverordnung.

Tätigkeiten mit Organismen im geschlossenen System

Hier finden Sie Informationen zum Begriff des geschlossenen Systems sowie zur Risikoermittlung und -bewertung und zu den Sicherheitsmassnahmen im Kontext der ESV.

Letzte Änderung 29.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Biosicherheit, Humangenetik und Fortpflanzungsmedizin
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
Fax +41 58 462 62 33
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/meldungen-bewilligungen-bereich-biologische-sicherheit.html