Clinical audits in radiation protection

The purpose of clinical audits is to ensure an ideal use of high-dose ionising radiation in medicine. Their realisation will enable to review the justification of the expositions and to optimise the processes and resources of the providers. A steering committee consisting of the main stakeholders ensures that these audits are implemented in the form of peer reviews.

The essentials in brief

  • In Switzerland, the average dose of ionising radiation used for the purpose of medical diagnosis has increased by 40% over the past 15 years.
  • Several European studies (1, 2, 3) have shown that some of the examinations and treatments that employ ionising radiation are not justified.
  • Clinical audits are not controls carried out by the authority, but reviews conducted by colleagues, also known as peer reviews.
  • The Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) launched the project of "Clinical audits" in 2011, in close collaboration with professional associations in medicine, medical physics and medical technology. Since 2018, their representatives have formed the steering committee for clinical audits in Switzerland.
  • The Radiological Protection Ordinance (RPO) is the legal basis for clinical audits. Its revised version entered into force on 1.1.2018. The implementation of clinical audits will remain optional until the end of 2019, giving the providers time to develop their quality manual (see additional information, only in German, French and Italian).
  • The pilot clinical audits in radiology, radiation oncology and nuclear medicine carried out since 2015 have proven to be useful in terms of protecting patients and organising processes. In addition, minimal overlaps with other audits or quality controls have been observed.

Context

The benefits of using ionising radiation in medicine are undeniable. They allow to visualise the state and position of internal anatomical structures, the physiological processes or, in the case of radiotherapy, to selectively destroy tumour cells. However, the ionising radiation is also associated with certain risks that can affectthe body's functioning at various levels (atoms, molecules, DNA, cells, etc.) and cause immediate damage, for example skin rashes. Lesions can also manifest themselves months, or even years, after exposure, for example in the form of cancers.

The risk of tumour induction depends on the effective dose received (expressed in Sievert or Sv), and the patient's gender, age and radio-sensitivity. Young people, for example, are much more sensitive to ionising radiation. The risk of mortality (in the general population) following such exposure is currently assumed to increase, on average, by 5% per Sievert.

In Switzerland, the average dose of ionising radiation received by the population in connection with medical applications has increased by 40% over the past 15 years (1998-2013) (4). This increase is mainly due to CT scans, the use of which has more than doubled since 1998. Examples of radiation doses used in medicine are listed here (only in German, French and Italian).

It is important for the well-being of patients that examinations and treatments using ionising radiation are justified and implemented in the ideal manner. It is therefore essential to carefully weigh the benefits and risks before each use and check whether an alternative method (for example an MRI scan or ultrasound) could produce an equivalent result. If the benefits outweigh the risks, the use of radiation is considered to be justified.

Legislation

Clinical audits are evaluations conducted by colleagues (also known as peer reviews). They review the practices of a provider and, if necessary, issue recommendations for improving the justification of exposures and optimising the processes and resources. This means that they are therefore neither administrative controls nor inspections conducted by the supervisory authorities.

The concept of clinical audits was introduced in Europe in 1997 by means of the Directive 2013/59/Euratom. Switzerland, which is not a member state of the EU, has drawn on the experience of Finland to define its own organisation of clinical audits. Indeed, Finland can be viewed as a pioneer in this context since all its medical radiology centres have already been audited several times.

In collaboration with the representatives of various professional associations in medicine, medical physics and medical technology, the FOPH has defined the legal bases for clinical audits in the revised Radiological Protection Ordinance (RPO) (5), which entered into force on 1 January, 2018. This revised ordinance now reinforces the principle of justification in medicine (art. 3, 27, 28, 29) and stipulates clinical audits (art. 41-43). (See further details in German, French and Italian)  

Any holder of an authorisation for  medical applications of radiation in computed tomography, nuclear medicine or radiotherapy, or for fluoroscopy-guided interventional diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, maybe audited every five years and is required to conduct a self-evaluation of its procedures once a year.

The implementation of clinical audits remains optional until the end of 2019 to give the radiology units time to produce their quality manual required by the RPO (see example under "Documents"). From 2020 onwards, clinical audits will become mandatory.

Organisation of clinical audits in Switzerland

A steering committee was set up and began work in 2018. Its members are representatives of the Swiss Societies of Radiology (SSR), Radiation Oncology (SSRO), Nuclear Medicine (SSMN), Radiobiology and Medical Physics (SSRPM), the Swiss Association of Medical Radiology Technicians (ASTRM), the Swiss Medical Association (FMH) and the FOPH. Together they define the strategy and implementation of clinical audits based on the experience acquired during the pilot clinical audits.

Committees of experts have been formed for each of the specialties audited. As part of their remit, they are responsible for defining the content of audits and advising the steering committee.

A pool of auditors has been specially trained to carry out clinical audits, for which the audit teams will be interdisciplinary.

The scientific secretariat, integrated within the FOPH, coordinates clinical audits.

Description of a clinical audit

As illustrated in the figure below and the video (also in French or Italian), a team of auditors usually includes a doctor, a medical physicist and a radiographer. Together, they visit the provider to be audited and evaluate their working practices. Each auditor focuses on their area of expertise and compares the practices of their peers against recognised standards.

Clinical audits

At the end of the audit, which usually takes a day, the team of auditors presents its initial recommendations for improving clinical practice and discusses these with the team of the audited unit. Finally, the auditors prepare their report and send it directly to the provider, which is invited to implement the recommendations.


This page can be accessed directly at:

Documents

Several information exist in the following languages:


Further information

1. National Survey on Justification of CT-examinations in Sweden (PDF, 748 kB, 09.11.2016)Almén A, Leitz W, Richter S; National Survey on Justification of CT-Examinations in Sweden. Swedish Radiation Safety Authority, 2009:03.

2. Unjustified CT examinations in young patients (PDF, 86 kB, 09.11.2016)Oikarinen H, Meriläinen S, Pääkkö E, Karttunen A, Nieminen M, Tervonen O; Unjustified CT examinations in young patients; Eur Radiol (2009) 19: 1161-1165

3. Audit de la conformité aux bonnes pratiques (PDF, 1 MB, 25.09.2018)Audit de la conformité des prescriptions d'examens d'imagerie médicale: Volet B, Ministère de la santé, Luxembourg, 2017

4. Exposure of the Swiss population by Medical X-rays (PDF, 4 MB, 09.11.2016)Aroua A; Samara E, Bochud F, Verdun F; Exposure of the Swiss population by Medical X-rays: 2008 Review; Institut de radiophysique, June 2011

Last modification 19.09.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Radiation Protectiono Division
Radiotherapy and Medical Diagnostics Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 14
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/bewilligungen-aufsicht-im-strahlenschutz/informationen-fuer-medizinische-betriebe/clinical-audits.html

Klinische Audits im Strahlenschutz

Klinische Audits zielen darauf ab, eine optimale Nutzung der ionisierenden Strahlung im Hochdosisbereich in der Medizin zu gewährleisten. Durch die Einführung von klinischen Audits wird die Rechtfertigung der Exposition überprüft und die Prozesse und Ressourcen der Betriebe optimieren. Ein Steuerungskomitee, bestehend aus den Hauptakteuren, stellt die Implementierung in Form von Begutachtungen unter Fachkolleginnen und –kollegen sicher.

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

  • In der Schweiz hat die durchschnittliche Strahlenexposition der Bevölkerung aufgrund medizinischer Anwendungen innerhalb von 15 Jahren um 40% zugenommen.
  • Mehrere europäische Studien (1, 2, 3) haben gezeigt, dass teilweise ungerechtfertigte Untersuchungen und Behandlungen mit ionisierender Strahlung durchgeführt werden.
  • Klinische Audits sind keine behördlich durchgeführten Kontrollen, sondern Begutachtungen unter Fachkolleginnen und -kollegen, auch Peer-Reviews genannt.
  • Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) hat 2011 in enger Zusammenarbeit mit medizinischen, medizin-physikalischen und medizinisch-technischen Fachgesellschaften das Projekt "Klinische Audits" lanciert. Seit 2018 bilden deren Vertreter/innen das Steuerungskomitee für klinische Audits in der Schweiz.
  • Die Strahlenschutzverordnung (StSV) ist die gesetzliche Grundlage für die klinischen Audits. Ihre revidierte Fassung trat am 1.1.2018 in Kraft (siehe Info). Die Umsetzung von klinischen Audits bleibt bis Ende 2019 freiwillig. In dieser Zeit sollen die Betriebe ihr Qualitätshandbuch entwickeln.
  • Klinische Pilotaudits in der Radiologie, Radioonkologie und Nuklearmedizin haben sich seit 2015 sowohl für den Patientenschutz als auch für die Prozessorganisation bewährt. Darüber hinaus gab es kaum Überschneidungen mit anderen Audits oder Qualitätskontrollen.

Kontext

Die Vorteile des Einsatzes ionisierender Strahlung in der Medizin sind unbestritten. Sie ermöglichen es, den Zustand und die Lage der inneren anatomischen Strukturen und physiologischen Vorgänge sichtbar zu machen oder im Rahmen der Strahlentherapie Tumorzellen gezielt zu zerstören. Diese ionisierende Strahlung birgt aber auch Risiken. Sie können verschiedene Ebenen der Körperfunktionen (Atome, Moleküle, DNA, Zellen, etc.) beeinflussen und unmittelbare Schäden verursachen, z.B. Hautrötungen. Spätschaden, wie Krebsleiden, treten erst nach Jahrzehnten auf.

Das Risiko der Induktion eines Tumors hängt von der effektiven Dosis (ausgedrückt in Sievert oder Sv), vom Geschlecht und Alter der Patient/innen sowie deren Strahlensensibilität ab. So sind junge Menschen zum Beispiel viel empfindlicher gegenüber ionisierender Strahlung. Derzeit wird davon ausgegangen, dass das Mortalitätsrisiko (für die Gesamtbevölkerung) aus einer solchen Exposition im Durchschnitt um 5% pro Sievert steigt.

In der Schweiz ist die durchschnittliche Strahlenexposition der Bevölkerung für medizinische Anwendungen in den letzten 15 Jahren (1998-2013) um 40% gestiegen (4). Dieser Anstieg ist vor allem auf CT-Untersuchungen zurückzuführen, deren Anzahl sich seit 1998 mehr als verdoppelt haben. Beispiele für Strahlendosen in der Medizin finden Sie hier.

Für das Wohl von Patient/innen ist es wichtig, dass Untersuchungen und Behandlungen mit ionisierender Strahlung gerechtfertigt und optimal durchgeführt werden. Es ist daher unerlässlich, die Vorteile und Risiken vor jeder Anwendung sorgfältig abzuwägen. Zuerst soll es geprüft werden, ob eine solche Untersuchung nötig ist. Wenn ja soll es sichergestellt, dass keine alternative Methode (z.B. MRT oder Ultraschall) zu einem gleichwertigen Ergebnis führen könnte. Nur wenn der Nutzen die Risiken überwiegt, gilt die Anwendung als gerechtfertigt.

Gesetzgebung

Klinische Audits sind Begutachtungen unter Fachkolleginnen und -kollegen (auch Peer-Reviews genannt). Diese überprüfen die klinische Praxis eines Betriebes und geben bei Bedarf Empfehlungen zur Verbesserung der Rechtfertigung von Bestrahlungen und zur Optimierung von Prozessen und Ressourcen ab. Es handelt sich also weder um administrative Kontrollen noch um Inspektionen durch Aufsichtsbehörden.

Das Konzept der klinischen Audits wurde in Europa 1997 durch die Euratom-Richtlinie 2013/59 eingeführt. Die Schweiz, die kein Mitgliedstaat ist, hat die finnischen Erfahrungen genutzt, um ihre eigene Organisation der klinischen Audits festzulegen. Finnland ist in der Umsetzung ein Pionierland, sämtliche medizinisch-radiologischen Zentren wurden bereits mehrfach auditiert.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Vertreter/innen der verschiedenen medizinischen, medizin-physikalischen und medizinisch-technischen Berufsverbände hat das BAG in der revidierten Strahlenschutzverordnung (StSV), die am 1. Januar 2018 in Kraft getreten ist, die rechtlichen Grundlagen für klinische Audits definiert. Die Revision verstärkt nun das Prinzip der Rechtfertigung in der Medizin (Art. 3, 27, 28, 29) und schreibt klinische Audits vor (Art. 41-43).

Jede/r Bewilligungsinhaber/in für medizinische Strahlenanwendungen in der Computertomografie, Nuklearmedizin und Strahlentherapie sowie für diagnostische oder therapeutische interventionelle Verfahren kann alle 5 Jahre auditiert werden und ist verpflichtet, eine jährliche Eigenevaluation seiner Praxis durchzuführen.

Bis Ende 2019 bleibt die Anwendung klinischer Audits fakultativ, um den Betrieben genügend Zeit zu lassen, ihr von der StSV gefordertes Qualitätshandbuch zu entwickeln (ein Beispiel steht unten unter «Dokumente»). Ab 2020 werden klinische Audits obligatorisch.

Organisation von klinischen Audits in der Schweiz

Für die Organisation wurde ein Steuerungskomitee gegründet, das 2018 sein Amt angetreten hat. Seine Mitglieder bestehen aus Vertreter/innen der Schweizerischen Fachgesellschaften für Radiologie (SGR), Radio-Onkologie (SRO), Nuklearmedizin (SGNM), Radiobiologie und Medizinische Physik (SSRPM), der Schweizerischen Vereinigung der Fachleute für med. tech. Radiologie (SVMTRA), des Berufsverbands der Schweizer Ärzteschaft (FMH) und des BAG. Gemeinsam definieren sie die Strategie und Durchführung von klinischen Audits und stützen sich dabei auf die Erfahrungen aus den klinischen Pilotaudits.
Für jedes auditierte Fachgebiet wurden Fachkommissionen gebildet. Diese legen unter anderem den Prüfungsinhalt fest und beraten das Steuerungskomitee.
Ein Pool von Auditor/innen wurde speziell für die Durchführung von klinischen Audits ausgebildet. Aus denen werden interdisziplinäre Auditteams gebildet.
Das im BAG integrierte wissenschaftliche Sekretariat koordiniert die klinischen Audits.

Beschreibung eines klinischen Audits

Wie unten abgebildet und im Film dargestellt, besteht ein Auditoren-Team in der Regel aus einer Ärztin bzw. einem Arzt, einer Medizinphysikerin bzw. einem Medizinphysiker Medizinphysiker und einer Radiologie-Fachfrau bzw. –Fachmann (MTRA). Gemeinsam besuchen sie den zu auditierenden Betrieb und bewerten dessen klinische Praxis. Jede/r Auditor/in konzentriert sich auf ihr bzw. sein Fachgebiet und vergleicht die Praktiken der Kollegen und Kolleginnen mit anerkannten Standards.

Klinische Audits

Am Ende des Audits, das durchschnittlich einen Tag dauert, legt das Auditoren-Team erste Empfehlungen zur Verbesserung der klinischen Praxis vor und diskutiert diese mit dem Team des auditierten Betriebes. Im Anschluss erstellen die Auditoren einen Bericht zu Handen des Betriebes, der aufgefordert ist, die Empfehlungen umzusetzen.


Diese Seite kann direkt aufgerufen werden:

Dokumente


Klinische Audits IV (PDF, 53 kB, 06.03.2017)BAG-Bulletin 10/2017: Nutzen von Klinischen Audits bestätigt

Klinische Audits III (PDF, 42 kB, 13.07.2015)BAG-Bulletin 29/2015: Optimale Nutzung ionisierender Strahlung dank klinischer Audits

Klinische Audits II (PDF, 31 kB, 25.06.2012)BAG-Bulletin 26/2012: Klinische Audits in der Radiologie: ein optimales Instrument im Interesse der Patientinnen und Patienten

Klinische Audits I (PDF, 32 kB, 28.03.2011)BAG-Bulletin 13/2011: Verbesserung der radiologischen Praxis: Zukünftige Einführung von klinischen Audits



Weitere Informationen

1. National Survey on Justification of CT-examinations in Sweden (PDF, 748 kB, 09.11.2016)Almén A, Leitz W, Richter S; National Survey on Justification of CT-Examinations in Sweden. Swedish Radiation Safety Authority, 2009:03.

2. Unjustified CT examinations in young patients (PDF, 86 kB, 09.11.2016)Oikarinen H, Meriläinen S, Pääkkö E, Karttunen A, Nieminen M, Tervonen O; Unjustified CT examinations in young patients; Eur Radiol (2009) 19: 1161-1165

3. Audit de la conformité aux bonnes pratiques (PDF, 1 MB, 25.09.2018)Audit de la conformité des prescriptions d'examens d'imagerie médicale: Volet B, Ministère de la santé, Luxembourg, 2017

4. Exposure of the Swiss population by Medical X-rays (PDF, 4 MB, 09.11.2016)Aroua A; Samara E, Bochud F, Verdun F; Exposure of the Swiss population by Medical X-rays: 2008 Review; Institut de radiophysique, June 2011

Letzte Änderung 10.12.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Strahlenschutz
Sektion Strahlentherapie und medizinische Diagnostik
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 96 14
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/bewilligungen-aufsicht-im-strahlenschutz/informationen-fuer-medizinische-betriebe/clinical-audits.html