Exceptional licences related to pilot trials under Art. 8a NarcA

After consulting with the relevant cantons and communes, the FOPH can authorise scientific pilot trials with narcotics containing an effective concentration of cannabinoids. The applicable conditions are set out in the Federal Council’s implementing provisions (Ordinance on Pilot Trials Conducted under the Narcotics Act, NarcPT). 

On 15 May 2021, an amendment to the Narcotics Act entered into force allowing a ten-year research phase for scientific pilot trials involving the controlled dispensing of cannabis for non-medicinal purposes (recreational cannabis).

Under Art. 8a para. 1 NarcPT, in order to be granted an exceptional licence for the cultivation, import or manufacture of narcotics containing an effective concentration of cannabinoids that are to be dispensed as part of the pilot trials, a complete and eligible pilot trial application must be submitted. Applications must therefore be submitted in a coordinated manner by the relevant public or private organisations. As the authorising body, the FOPH coordinates the associated authorisation procedure.

The responsible public or private organisers are responsible for designating cultivators and manufacturers for their pilot trials. The FOPH does not designate producers, or conduct its own pilot trials.

Documentation and reporting obligations

Authorisation holders must keep a record of all traffic of cannabis products and must report to the FOPH and cantonal authorities at the end of every year on the sale of cannabis products and on the quantity stored at individual points of sale. They must report any unforeseen events to the FOPH immediately (see Art. 27 NarcPT). As part of the authorisation procedure, the FOPH will ensure that the relevant processes are in place.

Inspection activities

To ensure compliance with the provisions of the NarcPT on cultivation and product quality as well as on packaging and product information, distributors are required to self-regulate (Art. 30 NarcPT).

The FOPH ensures that authorisation holders comply with the provisions of the NarcPT for pilot trials. It may consult the competent cantonal executing authorities for this purpose. The cantonal authorities designate the responsible inspection bodies that will carry out spot checks to ensure compliance with the cannabis product quality requirements under Art. 9 NarcPT.

Compliance with the requirements for conducting pilot trials is primarily ensured through periodic inspections by the competent federal and cantonal authorities. Licence holders are required to grant inspectors access to sites and premises. This applies to all related areas, i.e. cultivation areas, production facilities, and sale and storage areas. The relevant stock and accompanying documents must be presented to inspection authorities upon request.

Procedure for cannabis pilot trials. Coordinated submission of applications, examination and authorization of applications, Start Pilot trials, recruitment of participants, evaluation of the data and communication. The pilot trials are the scientific basis for the future legal regulation of cannabis use.

Further information

Cultivation for pilot trials

The cultivation of cannabis that is used in the pilot trials in accordance with Art. 8a of the Narcotics Act (NarcA) requires an exceptional licence from the FOPH.

Manufacture for pilot trials

The manufacture of cannabis products that is used in the pilot trials requires an exceptional licence from the FOPH.

Import for pilot trials

The import of cannabis that is used in the pilot trials in accordance with the Narcotics Act is only possible in exceptional cases and requires an exceptional licence from the FOPH.

Pilot trials with cannabis

On 15 May 2021 an amendment to NarcA has come into force allowing pilot trials involving the dispensing of cannabis for non-medicinal (“recreational”) purposes. These studies are intended to create the basis for the future legal regulation of cannabis.

Authorisation of pilot trials under Art. 8a NarcA

The FOPH can grant authorisations for scientific pilot trials involving the controlled dispensing of non-medicinal cannabis that are limited in time, place and scope, provided new insights into cannabis use can be gained.

Last modification 14.07.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Prevention of Non-Communicable Diseases Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 88 24
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/ausnahmebewilligungen-bewilligungen-betmg/ausnahmebewilligungen-verbotene-betaeubungsmittel/ausnahmebewilligungen-pilotversuche.html

Ausnahmebewilligungen im Zusammenhang mit Pilotversuchen nach Artikel 8a BetmG

Das BAG kann nach Anhörung der betroffenen Kantone und Gemeinden wissenschaftliche Pilotversuche mit Betäubungsmitteln des Wirkungstyps Cannabis bewilligen. Die Voraussetzungen für die Durchführung der Pilotversuche sind in der Ausführungsverordnung des Bundesrates (Verordnung über Pilotversuche nach dem Betäubungsmittelgesetz, BetmPV) geregelt.

Am 15. Mai 2021 sind die gesetzlichen Grundlagen für eine zehnjährige Forschungsphase für wissenschaftliche Pilotversuche zur kontrollierten Abgabe von Cannabis zu nicht medizinischen Zwecken («Genusszwecken») in Kraft getreten.

Die Erteilung einer Ausnahmebewilligung für den Anbau, die Einfuhr oder die Herstellung von Betäubungsmittel des Wirkungstyps Cannabis, die im Rahmen von Pilotversuchen abgegeben werden,  setzt ein bewilligungsfähiges Gesuch für einen Pilotversuch gemäss Artikel 8a Absatz 1 BetmG voraus. Die Gesuche müssen daher von den jeweiligen öffentlichen oder privaten Organisationen koordiniert eingereicht werden. Das BAG als Bewilligungsbehörde stellt die Koordination der zusammenhängenden Bewilligungsverfahren sicher.

Es obliegt den verantwortlichen öffentlichen oder privaten Organisatoren, für ihre Pilotversuche die Anbauer und Hersteller zu bestimmen. Das BAG bestimmt keine Produzenten und führt selbst auch keine Pilotversuche durch.

Dokumentations- und Meldepflichten

Die Bewilligungsinhaber haben über ihren gesamten Verkehr mit Cannabisprodukten Buch zu führen und dem BAG und den Kantonen jeweils auf Jahresende über ihren Verkauf von Cannabisprodukten und über die Lagermengen in den einzelnen Verkaufsstellen Bericht zu erstatten. Sie melden dem BAG unverzüglich ausserordentliche Ereignisse (Art. 27 BetmPV). Das BAG prüft im Rahmen des Bewilligungsverfahrens das Vorhandensein der entsprechenden Prozesse.

Kontrolltätigkeiten

Betreffend Einhaltung der Bestimmungen der BetmPV an die Anbau- und Produktequalität sowie die Verpackung und Produkteinformation gilt für den Anbau, die Herstellung, die Einfuhr sowie das Inverkehrbringen die Selbstkontrolle (Art. 30 BetmPV).

Das BAG kontrolliert, ob die Bewilligungsinhaber für Pilotversuche die Bestimmungen der BetmPV einhalten. Es kann hierzu die zuständigen kantonalen Vollzugsbehörden beiziehen. Die kantonalen Behörden bezeichnen die zuständigen Kontrollstellen für stichprobenmässige Überprüfung der Einhaltung der Anforderungen an die Qualität von Cannabisprodukten nach Artikel 9 BetmPV.

Die Einhaltung der Vorgaben für die Durchführung von Pilotversuchen wird insbesondere durch periodische Inspektionen der zuständigen Bundes- und kantonalen Behörden sichergestellt. Die Bewilligungsinhaber sind verpflichtet, die Örtlichkeiten und Räumlichkeiten zugänglich zu machen. Dies betrifft sämtliche Bereiche, in welchen ein Umgang mit Betäubungsmitteln stattfinden kann, d.h. Anbauflächen, Fabrikations-, Verkaufs- und Lagerräume. Den Kontrollbehörden sind auf Verlangen die betreffenden Bestände und alle dazu gehörenden Unterlagen vorzuweisen.

Ablauf der Pilotversuche mit Cannabis.  Koordiniertes Einreichen der Gesuche, Prüfung und Bewilligung der Gesuche durch BAG, Start Pilotversuche, Rekrutierung Teilnehmende, Durchführung Pilotversuche, Auswertung der Daten und Kommunikation. Die Pilotversuche bilden die wissenschaftliche Grundlage für eine zukünftige gesetzliche Regelung mit Cannabis.

Weiterführende Themen

Anbau für Pilotversuche

Der Anbau von Betäubungsmitteln des Wirkungstyps Cannabis, die im Rahmen von Pilotversuchen nach Artikel 8a BetmG abgegeben werden, erfordert eine Ausnahmebewilligung des BAG.

Herstellung für Pilotversuche

Die Herstellung von Cannabisprodukten, die im Rahmen von Pilotversuchen nach Artikel 8a BetmG abgegeben werden, er-fordert eine Ausnahmebewilligung des BAG.

Einfuhr für Pilotversuche

Die Einfuhr von Betäubungsmittel des Wirkungstyps Cannabis, die im Rahmen von Pilotversuchen nach dem Betäubungsmittelgesetz abgegeben werden, erfordert eine Ausnahmebewilligung des BAG.

Pilotversuche mit Cannabis

Seit dem 15. Mai 2021 ist eine Änderung des BetmG in Kraft, die Pilotversuche mit der Abgabe von Cannabis zu nicht medizinischen Zwecken («Genusszwecken») ermöglicht. Diese Studien sollen eine Grundlage für eine zukünftige gesetzliche Regelung von Cannabis liefern.

Bewilligungen von Pilotversuchen nach dem BetmG

Das BAG kann Bewilligungen für örtlich, zeitlich und sachlich begrenzte wissenschaftliche Pilotversuche für die kontrollierte Abgabe von Cannabis zu nicht medizinischen Zwecken erteilen, wenn damit neue Erkenntnisse im Umgang mit Cannabis gewonnen werden können.

Letzte Änderung 14.07.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Prävention nichtübertragbarer Krankheiten
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 88 24
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/ausnahmebewilligungen-bewilligungen-betmg/ausnahmebewilligungen-verbotene-betaeubungsmittel/ausnahmebewilligungen-pilotversuche.html