Health insurance: Other agreements

This section provides information on the other international social-security agreements concluded by Switzerland.  

Bilateral social-security agreements

Switzerland has concluded agreements with many states regarding the social-security arrangements for persons transferring their domicile or employment from Switzerland to one of these states or vice-versa. Some of these agreements do not apply to health insurance but indirectly affect the health-insurance status of posted workers.

Agreements concluded with third countries (outside the EU/EFTA)

Switzerland has concluded bilateral social-security agreements with the following states : Australia, Canada (including Quebec), Chile, China, South Korea, the United States, Former Yugoslavia*, India, Israel, Japan, Macedonia, Montenegro, the Philippines, the Republic of San Marino, Serbia, Turkey and Uruguay (see attached table).

* Since the new agreement with Serbia and Montenegro came into effect, the social-security agreement with the former Yugoslavia is now only applicable to Bosnia and Herzegovina. This agreement has not been applicable to Kosovo since 01.04.2010.

New social-security agreements

The agreement with the People’s Republic of China came into effect on 19 June 2017 (SR 0.831.109.249.1). It applies to the areas of OASI and IV, with only an indirect effect on health insurance. The posting duration is 6 years.

The agreements with Serbia and Montenegro came into effect on 1 January 2019. Both agreements concern the areas of OASI and IV with only an indirect effect on health insurance. The posting duration is 2 years. The social-security agreement with the former Yugoslavia is now only applicable to Bosnia and Herzegovina.

For workers and their non-employed accompanying family members from Switzerland posted in these contracting states, the continued duration of health insurance in Switzerland corresponds to the length of the posting in line with the relevant agreement. If these persons have compulsory health insurance in the country of the temporary posting, they may upon request be released from the obligation to pay insurance contributions in Switzerland, provided they have equivalent insurance cover for treatment in Switzerland.

Workers from these contracting states posted in Switzerland – and their non-employed accompanying family members – are subject to Swiss health insurance. They may be released from this obligation upon request, provided their employer ensures equivalent insurance cover.

Agreements concluded with European countries

Switzerland previously had bilateral social-security agreements with most European countries. After the AFMP came into effect and EFTA Agreement was revised accordingly, these two agreements have superseded the bilateral agreements concluded with EU and EFTA member states. The previous agreements do however remain applicable to persons not covered by the AFMP or the EFTA Agreement, such as third-country nationals on work postings to Switzerland.

Additional information

The Federal Social Insurance Office (FSIO) also publishes an up-to-date list of all social-security agreements currently in force as well as information on the social-security agreements between Switzerland and a range of countries (notably Australia, Chile, Canada, the United States, Japan, Macedonia, the Philippines and Uruguay). See link below.

Further information

Workers posted abroad from Switzerland

In principle, workers posted abroad from Switzerland remain subject to compulsory health insurance in Switzerland.

Posted workers in Switzerland

Essentially, posted workers in Switzerland remain subject to the social security system of their home country.

Last modification 04.03.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-versicherungen/gesetzgebung-krankenversicherung/internationale-sozialversicherungsabkommen/weitere-abkommen.html

Krankenversicherung: Weitere Abkommen

In dieser Rubrik finden Sie Informationen zu weiteren von der Schweiz abgeschlossenen internationalen Sozialversicherungsabkommen.  

Bilaterale Sozialversicherungsabkommen

Die Schweiz hat mit zahlreichen Staaten Abkommen abgeschlossen, um die Sozialversicherungssituation der Versicherten zu regeln, die ihren Wohnsitz oder ihre Erwerbstätigkeit von der Schweiz in einen dieser Staaten verlegen und umgekehrt. Einige dieser Abkommen sind nicht auf die Krankenversicherung anwendbar. Sie haben im Krankenversicherungsbereich nur eine indirekte Wirkung, und zwar auf die Stellung der entsandten Arbeitnehmenden.

Abkommen mit Drittstaaten (ausserhalb der EU/EFTA)

Die Schweiz hat mit folgenden Staaten bilaterale Sozialversicherungsabkommen abgeschlossen: Australien, Kanada (inkl. Québec), Chile, China, Südkorea, Vereinigte Staaten, Ex-Jugoslawien*, Indien, Israel, Japan, Mazedonien, Montenegro, Philippinen, Republik San Marino, Serbien, Türkei und Uruguay (siehe Tabelle im Anhang).

* Seit dem Inkrafttreten der neuen Abkommen mit Serbien und Montenegro ist das Sozialversicherungsabkommen mit dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien nur noch auf Bosnien und Herzegowina anwendbar. Für den Kosovo gilt dieses Abkommen seit dem 1.4.2010 nicht mehr.

Neue Sozialversicherungsabkommen

Das Abkommen mit der Volksrepublik China ist am 19. Juni 2017 in Kraft getreten (SR 0.831.109.249.1). Es gilt für die Bereiche AHV und IV, auf die Krankenversicherung hat es nur eine indirekte Wirkung. Die Entsendedauer beträgt 6 Jahre.

Das Abkommen mit Serbien und das Abkommen mit Montenegro sind am 1. Januar 2019 in Kraft getreten. Beide Abkommen betreffen die Bereiche AHV und IV und haben nur eine indirekte Wirkung auf die Krankenversicherung. Die Entsendedauer beträgt 2 Jahre. Das Sozialversicherungsabkommen mit dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien ist nur noch auf Bosnien und Herzegowina anwendbar.

Bei entsandten Arbeitnehmenden und ihren nichterwerbstätigen begleitenden Familienangehörigen aus der Schweiz in diese Vertragsstaaten entspricht die Weiterdauer der Krankenversicherung in der Schweiz der Dauer der Entsendung nach dem jeweiligen Abkommen. Sind diese Personen im Land der vorübergehenden Tätigkeit obligatorisch krankenversichert, können sie auf Gesuch hin von der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz befreit werden, wenn sie für Behandlungen in der Schweiz über einen gleichwertigen Versicherungsschutz verfügen.

Aus diesen Vertragsstaaten in die Schweiz entsandte Arbeitnehmende und ihre nichterwerbstätigen begleitenden Familienangehörigen sind der Schweizer Krankenversicherung unterstellt. Sie können sich auf Gesuch davon befreien lassen, wenn der Arbeitgeber dafür sorgt, dass sie über einen gleichwertigen Versicherungsschutz verfügen.

Abkommen mit europäischen Ländern

In der Vergangenheit hatte die Schweiz mit den meisten europäischen Ländern bilaterale Sozialversicherungsabkommen abgeschlossen. Seit dem Inkrafttreten des FZA und der entsprechenden Revision des EFTA-Übereinkommens sind diese beiden Abkommen an die Stelle der bilateralen Abkommen mit den Mitgliedstaaten der EU und der EFTA getreten. Für Personen, die nicht in den persönlichen Geltungsbereich des FZA oder des EFTA-Übereinkommens fallen, z. B. Drittstaatsangehörige im Zusammenhang mit den Bestimmungen über die Entsendung, gelten jedoch weiterhin die früheren Abkommen.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Das Bundesamt für Sozialversicherungen (BSV) veröffentlicht auch eine aktuelle Liste der Sozialversicherungsabkommen sowie Informationen zu den Abkommen über soziale Sicherheit mit verschiedenen Ländern (insbesondere Australien, Chile, Kanada, Vereinigte Staaten, Japan, Mazedonien, Philippinen und Uruguay). Siehe untenstehenden Link.

Weiterführende Themen

Krankenversicherung: Aus der Schweiz ins Ausland entsandte Arbeitnehmde

Ins Ausland entsandte Arbeitnehmende unterstehen grundsätzlich weiterhin der Krankenversicherungspflicht in der Schweiz.

Krankenversicherung: Entsandte Arbeitnehmende in die Schweiz

In die Schweiz entsandte Arbeitnehmende bleiben grundsätzlich dem Sozialversicherungsrecht des Herkunftslandes unterstellt.

Letzte Änderung 05.02.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Rechtliche Aufsicht KV
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-versicherungen/gesetzgebung-krankenversicherung/internationale-sozialversicherungsabkommen/weitere-abkommen.html