Health insurance: AFMP and EFTA Agreement

This section provides health-insurance information on the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons between Switzerland and the member states of the European Union (AFMP) and the Agreement instituting the European Free Trade Area (EFTA).  

Entry into force

The Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) between Switzerland and the European Union (EU) came into force on 1 June 2002. It grants Swiss and EU nationals the fundamental right of free choice of their place of work and domicile within the member states’ territory. An updated version of the EFTA Agreement also came into force on that date.

Adoption of European coordination law

When the AFMP and EFTA Agreement came into force, Switzerland adopted the European regulations on the coordination of social-security systems. On 1 May 2010, EEC regulations 1408/71 and 574/72 were replaced in all 27 EU member states by EC regulation 883/2004 (R 883/04) and by EC implementing regulation 987/2009 (R 987/09). Initially, these regulations did not apply to relations between Switzerland and the EU member states. They were adopted as part of the 3rd update of annex II to the AFMP, which came into force on 1 April 2012. Since 1 January 2016, (3rd update of appendix 2 of annex K to the EFTA Agreement) EC regulations 883/2004 and 987/2009 also apply within EFTA.

The AFMP has been extended to Croatia on 1 January 2017. The Regulations (CE) No 883/2004 and 987/2009 are therefore applicable to the relations between Switzerland and Croatia (see document below).

Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information (EESSI)

The new EU regulations provide for the replacement of the present E forms (currently in paper form) by a system of electronic data exchange between social-security institutions (Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information - EESSI). Implementation of this system is currently under way in Switzerland.

Further information

Workers posted abroad from Switzerland

In principle, workers posted abroad from Switzerland remain subject to compulsory health insurance in Switzerland.

Posted workers in Switzerland

Essentially, posted workers in Switzerland remain subject to the social security system of their home country.

Sectoral agreements with the EU

The coordination provisions guarantee cross-border insurance coverage between Switzerland and EU Member States.

EESSI

Electronic data interchange between social insurance carriers in EU Member States.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-versicherungen/gesetzgebung-krankenversicherung/internationale-sozialversicherungsabkommen/fza-und-efta-uebereinkommen.html

Krankenversicherung: FZA und EFTA-Übereinkommen

In dieser Rubrik finden Sie Informationen zum Personenfreizügigkeitsabkommen mit den Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union (FZA) und zum Übereinkommen zur Errichtung der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) in Bezug auf den Krankenversicherungsbereich. 

Inkrafttreten

Das Personenfreizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) zwischen der Schweiz und der Europäischen Union (EU) ist am 1. Juni 2002 in Kraft getreten. Dieses Abkommen ermöglicht Staatsangehörigen der Schweiz und der EU die Ausübung des Grundrechts, den Arbeits- und Wohnort innerhalb der Staatsgebiete der Vertragsparteien frei zu wählen. Das EFTA-Übereinkommen wurde ebenfalls zu diesem Datum aktualisiert.

Übernahme des europäischen Koordinationsrechts

Bei Inkrafttreten des FZA und des EFTA-Übereinkommens hat die Schweiz die europäischen Verordnungen zur Koordination der Sozialversicherungssysteme übernommen. Per 1. Mai 2010 wurden in den 27 EU-Mitgliedstaaten die Verordnungen (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 und Nr. 574/72 durch die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 883/2004 (VO 883/2004) sowie die Durchführungsverordnung (EG) Nr. 987/2009 (VO 987/2009) ersetzt. In den Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und den EU-Mitgliedstaaten fanden die neuen Verordnungen vorerst noch keine Anwendung. Sie wurden im Rahmen der 3. Aktualisierung des Anhangs II zum FZA übernommen, die am 1. April 2012 in Kraft getreten ist. Seit dem 1. Januar 2016 (3. Aktualisierung von Anlage 2 zu Anhang K des EFTA-Übereinkommens) gelten die Verordnungen (EG) Nr. 883/2004 und Nr. 987/2009 auch innerhalb der EFTA.

Das FZA wurde am 1. Januar 2017 auf Kroatien ausgedehnt. Ab diesem Datum sind die Verordnungen (EG) Nr. 883/2004 und Nr. 987/2009 deshalb in den Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und Kroatien anwendbar (siehe untenstehendes Dokument).

Elektronischer Datenaustausch EESSI

Die neuen EU-Verordnungen sehen vor, dass die E-Formulare (derzeit in Papierversion) durch ein System für den elektronischen Datenaustausch zwischen den Sozialversicherungseinrichtungen (Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information – EESSI) ersetzt werden. Das Verfahren zur Implementierung dieses Systems in der Schweiz läuft derzeit.

Weiterführende Themen

Krankenversicherung: Aus der Schweiz ins Ausland entsandte Arbeitnehmde

Ins Ausland entsandte Arbeitnehmende unterstehen grundsätzlich weiterhin der Krankenversicherungspflicht in der Schweiz.

Krankenversicherung: Entsandte Arbeitnehmende in die Schweiz

In die Schweiz entsandte Arbeitnehmende bleiben grundsätzlich dem Sozialversicherungsrecht des Herkunftslandes unterstellt.

Sektorielle Abkommen mit der EU

Die Koordinationsbestimmungen gewährleisten den grenzübergreifenden Sozialversicherungsschutz zwischen der Schweiz und den Mitgliedstaaten der EU.

EESSI

Elektronischer Datenaustausch zwischen den Sozialversicherungsträgern in den EU-Staaten.

Letzte Änderung 29.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Rechtliche Aufsicht KV
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-versicherungen/gesetzgebung-krankenversicherung/internationale-sozialversicherungsabkommen/fza-und-efta-uebereinkommen.html