Medicinal products and medical devices legislation

The legislation on therapeutic products comprises the Federal Act on Medicinal Products and Medical Devices (Therapeutic Products Act, TPA) and the associated Federal Council and Agency ordinances. It is regularly aligned to the state of scientific knowledge.

The Federal Act on Medicinal Products and Medical Devices (Therapeutic Products Act, TPA) governs the handling of therapeutic products (medicinal products and medical devices). It aims to protect the health of humans and animals by ensuring that only high-quality, safe and effective therapeutic products are brought onto the market. The Therapeutic Products Act came into force on 1 January 2002. The ordinances are currently being aligned following the revision of the Therapeutic Products Act.

Further information

Medicinal products & medical devices

Thanks to research and technological progress, the number of new drugs and medical devices is increasing all the time. To protect the health of people and animals, the federal authorities regulate the use of therapeutic products.

Current therapeutic products legislation projects

The therapeutic products legislation is continually developed further in order to stay abreast of societal, technological, political and economic developments. Several legislative projects are in progress.

Last modification 14.11.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Therapeutic Products Law Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-mensch-gesundheit/gesetzgebung-arzneimittel-medizinprodukte.html

Gesetzgebung Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte

Das Heilmittelrecht besteht aus dem Bundesgesetz über Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte (Heilmittelgesetz, HMG) und den zugehörigen Bundesrats- und Institutsverordnungen. Es wird regelmässig dem Stand von Wissenschaft und Technik angepasst.

Das Bundesgesetz über Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte (Heilmittelgesetz, HMG) regelt den Umgang mit Heilmitteln. Es soll zum Schutz der Gesundheit von Mensch und Tier gewährleisten, dass nur qualitativ hoch stehende, sichere und wirksame Heilmittel in Verkehr gebracht werden. Das Heilmittelgesetz trat am 1. Januar 2002 in Kraft. Derzeit finden die Verordnungsanpassungen im Nachgang zur Revision des Heilmittelgesetzes statt.

Weiterführende Themen

Medikamente & Medizinprodukte

Forschung und technologischer Fortschritt machen es möglich: Immer mehr neue medizinische Produkte entstehen. Dabei soll die Gesundheit von Mensch und Tier geschützt bleiben. Deshalb regelt der Bund den Umgang mit den Heilmitteln.

Aktuelle Rechtsetzungsprojekte Heilmittelrecht

Das Heilmittelgesetz wird kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt, um gesellschaftlichen, technischen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Entwicklungen Rechnung zu tragen. Aktuell laufen diverse Rechtsetzungsprojekte.

Letzte Änderung 17.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Heilmittelrecht
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-mensch-gesundheit/gesetzgebung-arzneimittel-medizinprodukte.html