Requirements for high-quality radiation protection

In the area of radiation protection, the FOPH carries out monitoring, evaluation and research. This provides us with the necessary basis for optimising the population's radiation exposure. Our research activities focus on medical applications.

Radiation exposure of patients

Our focus is on monitoring and evaluating radiation exposure of patients during diagnostics and treatment. We regularly review the frequency of X-ray diagnostics and nuclear medicine examinations and associated radiation exposure. The results of these enquiries, which we publish, form the foundation for our supervisory priorities. New technologies using radiation are an additional ongoing challenge.

At the same time, we are further refining the concept of diagnostic reference levels (DRLs) in medicine. DRLs are derived from the distribution of radiation exposures used in the various examination techniques. They are an important benchmark for users (e.g. radiologists, nuclear medicine specialists, surgeons, etc.) in optimising their examinations. We also want to develop a strategy which sets dosage levels in relation to required image quality.

Environmental radioactivity and radon

We monitor environmental radioactivity and publish an annual report with measurement results and population exposure. Our research projects in this area aim to optimise the analytical methods for different radionuclides in biological samples (e.g. vertebral bones, teeth, urine) or in environmental samples (e.g. soil, grasses, sediment). The goal is to reduce costs, lower detection limits and reduce analysis times.

The development of scientific mapping tools enables us to make a better assessment of radon risk and its distribution in Switzerland. This allows us to specifically define and optimise the radon protection measures necessary for compliance with the reference value. We also want to promote an understanding among construction experts of the interaction between energy-saving and radon protection measures, with the goal of enabling synergies when it comes to improving indoor air quality.

Non-ionising radiation (NIR) and sound

One of our strategic research goals is to record exposure through NIR and sound. To this end, we initiate and support corresponding research projects. Our research activities aim to improve the as-yet incomplete scientific foundations particularly regarding technologies within the scope of the new Federal Act on Protection against Hazards Arising from Non-Ionising Radiation and Sound (NISSG). Aspects focussed on include cosmetic treatments with NIR and sound products (such as flashguns for hair removal or ultrasound devices for cosmetic use) and dazzle caused by laser pointers.

We also want to investigate and assess the effects of UV radiation and nocturnal light exposure in the non-occupational sphere. By way of example, in the case of sound and hearing, we want to investigate whether high noise levels at low frequencies affect hearing and whether temporary hearing problems are connected to permanent hearing impairments.

International cooperation

As part of the European project CONCERT (part of Horizon 2020), we promote participation of Swiss research institutes, thereby strengthening research topics in radiation protection. As a national authority, we collaborate in strategic monitoring in order to prioritise corresponding research activities. CONCERT’s research results aim to achieve optimised handling of ionising radiation and efficient implementation of national radiation protection legislation.

Last modification 08.02.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Consumer Protection Directorate
Radiation Protection Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 14
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/das-bag/ressortforschung-evaluation/forschung-im-bag/forschung-strahlenschutz.html

Grundlagen für einen hochstehenden Strahlenschutz

Im Strahlenschutz betreibt das BAG Monitoring, Evaluation und Forschung. So verfügen wir über die notwendigen Grundlagen, um die Strahlenexposition der Bevölkerung zu optimieren. In unseren Forschungsaktivitäten liegt der Fokus auf den medizinischen Anwendungen.

Strahlenexposition von Patient/innen

Wir konzentrieren uns auf das Monitoring und die Evaluation der Strahlenexposition in Diagnostik und Therapie bei Patientinnen und Patienten. Wir untersuchen regelmässig die Häufigkeit röntgendiagnostischer und nuklearmedizinischer Untersuchungen und die damit verbundenen Strahlenexpositionen und publizieren die Resultate. Sie bilden die Basis für unsere Aufsichtsschwerpunkte. Neue Technologien mit Strahlenanwendung sind eine zusätzliche permanente Herausforderung.

Gleichzeitig verfeinern wir das Konzept der Diagnostischen Referenzwerte (DRW) in der Medizin weiter. Die DRW werden aus den Verteilungen der verwendeten Strahlenexpositionen bei diversen Untersuchungtechniken abgeleitet. Sie sind eine wichtige Benchmark für Anwenderinnen und Anwender (z.B. für Radiologen, Nuklearmediziner, Operateure, etc.) in der Optimierung ihrer Untersuchungen. Zudem wollen wir eine Strategie erarbeiten, welche die Dosiswerte in Bezug zur erforderlichen Bildqualität setzt.

Umweltradioaktivität und Radon

Wir überwachen die Radioaktivität in der Umwelt und veröffentlichen jährlich einen Bericht mit den Messresultaten und der Exposition der Bevölkerung. Mit den Forschungsprojekte in diesem Bereich wollen wir die Analysemethoden für verschiedene Radionuklide in biologischen Proben (z. B. Wirbelknochen, Zähne, Urin) oder in Proben aus der Umwelt (z. B. Boden, Gräser, Sedimente) optimieren. Dadurch sollen Kosten reduziert, Nachweisgrenzen gesenkt und Analysezeiten verringert werden.

Die Entwicklung wissenschaftlicher «Mappingtools» ermöglicht uns, das Radonrisiko und dessen Verteilung in der Schweiz besser abzuschätzen. So können wir die notwendigen Radon-Schutzmassnahmen für die Einhaltung des Referenzwerts gezielt definieren und optimieren. Wir wollen zudem das Verständnis für das Zusammenspiel von Energiespar- und Radonschutzmassnahmen bei Baufachleuten fördern. Dies soll Synergien bei der Verbesserung der inneren Raumluftqualität erzielen.

Nichtionisierende Strahlung (NIS) und Schall

Eines unserer strategischen Forschungsziele ist es, Expositionen durch NIS und Schall zu erfassen. Dazu initiieren und begleiten wir entsprechende Forschungsprojekte. Durch unsere Forschungsaktivitäten wollen wir die noch lückenhaften wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen, insbesondere zu Technologien im Geltungsbereich des neuen «Bundesgesetzes über den Schutz vor Gefährdungen durch nichtionisierende Strahlung und Schall» (NISSG) verbessern. Im Fokus stehen u.a. kosmetische Behandlungen mit NIS- und Schall-Produkten (wie Blitzlampen zur Haarentfernung oder Ultraschallgeräte für kosmetische Anwendungen) und Blendungen durch Laserpointer.

Auch Effekte von UV-Strahlung und nächtlicher Lichtexpositionen im nicht-beruflichen Bereich wollen wir untersuchen und beurteilen. Beispielsweise wollen wir bei Schall und Gehör untersuchen, ob hohe Schallpegel bei niedrigen Frequenzen das Gehör beeinflussen und ob temporäre Hörprobleme mit bleibenden Hörschäden zusammenhängen.

Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Im Rahmen des europäischen Projekts CONCERT (Teil von Horizon 2020) fördern wir die Beteiligung von Schweizer Forschungsinstituten und stärken so Forschungthemen im Strahlenschutz. Als nationale Behörde wirken wir bei der strategischen Begleitung mit, um die entsprechenden Forschungsaktivitäten zu priorisieren. Die Forschungsergebnisse von CONCERT sollen zu einem optimierten Umgang mit ionisierender Strahlung und einer effizienten Umsetzung der nationalen Strahlenschutzgesetzgebung führen.

Letzte Änderung 08.02.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Verbraucherschutz
Abteilung Strahlenschutz
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 96 14
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/das-bag/ressortforschung-evaluation/forschung-im-bag/forschung-strahlenschutz.html