Departmental research projects on the Human Research Act

As part of departmental research efforts into research involving humans, the FOPH commissions studies on specific issues. The findings of these studies form the basis of the evaluation of the law. An overview of the projects so far can be found below. 

Statistics and survey on the implementation of the Swiss Human Research Act (HRA)

This three-part departmental research project, commissioned by the FOPH in collaboration with swissethics, enables for the first time a comprehensive quantitative description of projects involving research on humans and the corresponding legal regulation. It was conducted on the basis of the BASEC electronic submission system, which has been in operation since the beginning of 2016.

Overarching report covering all three sub-projects (statistics, survey and jurisdictional inquiries)

In this section the most important results of all three sub-projects were examined and set in context with each other.

Overarching report on statistics, survey and jurisdictional inquiries (PDF, 1 MB, 15.04.2019)

Sub-project 1: Descriptive statistics on research within the scope of the Swiss Human Research Act

Research projects submitted to and approved by the cantonal ethics committees in 2016 and 2017, plus the processes used for approval and the times taken to process them, were described statistically on an aggregate basis and by various different characteristics. This was done using uniformly gathered structured data from BASEC, the ethics committee’s electronic system for submitting applications. This process will be repeated for the years 2018 to 2020 to provide statistics enabling a longer-term evaluation of the development of projects involving re-search on humans in Switzerland.

2016 statistics on projects involving research on humans (PDF, 1 MB, 18.04.2019)

2017 statistics on projects involving research on humans (PDF, 1 MB, 18.04.2019)  

Sub-project 2: Survey of researchers on implementation of the Human Research Act

All researchers who used BASEC in the year 2017 to submit a project involving research on humans for approval were questioned about their attitudes and their experience with the legal regulations and the e-forcement of these regulations by the authorities responsible (cantonal ethics committees and Swissmedic).

Survey Summary (PDF, 122 kB, 15.04.2019)

Main report on survey (PDF, 7 MB, 15.04.2019)

Complete report on all questions (PDF, 2 MB, 15.04.2019)

Questionnaire (PDF, 366 kB, 15.04.2019)

Additional evaluation of selected questions (PDF, 678 kB, 15.04.2019)

Further working materials (English and German) (PDF, 142 kB, 15.04.2019)

Sub-project 3: Characteristics of jurisdictional inquiries

A survey of researchers who had submitted so-called jurisdictional inquiries (clarifications of responsibility) via BASEC was conducted. Thanks to this survey and an analysis of the documents submitted in connection with jurisdictional inquiries, it was possible to identify demarcation problems and uncertainty experienced by researchers in dealing with the regulations on research involving humans.

Summary on jurisdictional inquiries (PDF, 118 kB, 15.04.2019)

Report on jurisdictional inquiries, including questionnaire (English) (PDF, 1 MB, 15.04.2019)

Costs of randomised clinical trials in Switzerland before and after enactment of the legislation on human research

A research team from the University of Basel was mandated by the FOPH to investigate the effects that the legislation on human research will have on the costs and workloads entailed by randomised clinical trials in Switzerland.
The individual cost components and time inputs required for planning and executing a clinical trial were listed in a standardised form. The result is a user-friendly tool that will assist clinical researchers in planning and carrying out their studies.
Despite intensive work, the study’s authors only succeeded to a very limited extent in allocating standard costs to the listed cost items and comparing the trial-preparation costs before and after enactment of the legislation on human research. This was attributed firstly to a lack of information about the clinical trials (especially with regard to industry-financed studies) and secondly to data-protection considerations.
The study’s authors found a discrepancy between the reported very high costs associated with randomised clinical trials on the one hand and the lack of transparent and valid evidence on the other. It is strongly recommended that tools be used to improve the planning and monitoring of costs and workloads involved in clinical trials.

Summary costs clinical trials (PDF, 162 kB, 31.01.2019)

Final report costs clinical trials (PDF, 1 MB, 31.01.2019)

What the general public know and think about human research and the rules governing it

On 7 March 2010, the Swiss population voted in favour of the constitutional article governing human research by a substantial majority of 77.2%. This indicates that the country’s citizens felt it was important to have national legislation to govern research on humans. However, surveys carried out after the referendum showed that some voters had a somewhat sketchy knowledge of the purpose and content of the legislation in question. This study reflects how much people in Switzerland know about human research and the laws governing it and what their attitudes are eight years down the line. It was carried out between March and May 2018. The aim was to discover how much Swiss citizens know about research involving humans in their country, whether they feel adequately protected by the current legislation, and whether they would be willing to take part in research projects.

Executive summary. What the general public know and think about human research and the rules governing it (PDF, 322 kB, 15.10.2018)

Bevölkerungsbefragung im Auftrag des BAG (only in German) (PDF, 482 kB, 15.10.2018)

The regulation of biobanks and health databases in Europe: A comparative law study

This report is a comparative law study on biobanks and health databases in Europe. It presents the legislation applicable in a number of European countries along with a range of international texts, such as the Taipei Declaration and the regulations of the European Union and the Council of Europe. A comparison is made by looking at topics related to the subject, such as biobank governance, participant protection, data protection and supervisory authorities. The main purpose of this study is to obtain an overview of the systems selected by the various countries, and of the advantages and disadvantages they entail.

The regulation of biobanks and health databases in Europe (only in french) (PDF, 1 MB, 02.10.2018)

Implementation of the requirements for further use of biological material and data

If data or biological material produced during the treatment of diseases or in research projects – i.e which is already available – is to be used for research purposes, certain requirements of the Human Research Act (HRA) must be observed. For example, persons from whom the data or samples originate must have agreed to their re-use, and research projects in which these data and projects are used must be approved by an ethics committee. The departmental research project investigated how researchers and licensing authorities implement the requirements of the HRA, how complex the implementation is, and what effects can be observed on re-use research.

Weiterverwendung von biologischem Material und Daten (only in German) (PDF, 1 MB, 12.07.2018)

Further Use of Biological Material and Data - Summary (PDF, 353 kB, 12.07.2018)

Linguistic analysis of “comprehensibility” in research involving humans

People may only be involved in a research project if, among other requirements, they have given their informed consent. For this consent to be valid, the information provided must be “comprehensible” (Article 16 of the Human Research Act, HRA). The formal requirement that all documents containing information for participants must be comprehensible is therefore a fundamentally significant aspect of research involving humans. This departmental research project takes a linguistic look at how the comprehensibility requirement is implemented by researchers and oversight authorities.
The project consists of the following modules:
1. On the basis of a report surveying the available research literature, a methodological approach or “comprehensibility model” was developed as the foundation for analysis conducted in the subsequent sub-projects.
2. By way of a case study, the comprehensibility of the Model of General Consent 2017/1 (general consent model) published by the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS) and swissethics was evaluated.
3. Ethics committees must check the comprehensibility of documentation provided to potential participants. The third module shows what concepts of comprehensibility this check is based on for three selected ethics committees.
4. Researchers must inform people who are considering taking part in a research project. The fourth sub-project investigates researchers’ concepts and procedures concerning information.

Summary Informed Consent in an Intelligible Form (PDF, 361 kB, 15.04.2019)

Verständlichkeitsstudie Informed Consent (only in German) (PDF, 4 MB, 01.09.2016)

Verständlichkeitsstudie Generalkonsent (only in German (PDF, 4 MB, 21.06.2018))

Verständlichkeit von schriftlicher Aufklärung: Auffassungen und Strategien von Ethikkommissionen (only in German) (PDF, 788 kB, 26.03.2019)

Informed Consent-Aufklärung aus Sicht der Forschenden (only in German) (PDF, 445 kB, 18.04.2019)

The intention is to use the findings from these four projects to develop measures to further improve comprehensibility.

Rules governing damages and liability in human research

Only shortly after the Human Research Act (HRA) came into force, a motion was submitted to parliament (the Swiss National Council) calling for an amendment of the law reversing the burden of proof in favour of trial participants (subjects). According to the motion, the onus should be on the sponsor of the study to prove that there is no connection between the research procedure and the impairment suffered, rather than on the subject to prove that there is a connection between the two.
To get a thorough overview of the legal situation and the practical relevance of liability issues, the FOPH commissioned asim (the Swiss Academy of Insurance Medicine) at University Hospital Basel to investigate the issues related to the liability regime in practice, and in particular to undertake an international comparison of the question of burden of proof.

Humanforschungsgesetz: Evaluation Haftungsregelung (only in German) (PDF, 337 kB, 10.01.2017)

Evaluation of Liability Regulation in the Swiss Human Research Act - Summary (PDF, 3 MB, 30.11.2015)

Update: Evaluation Haftungsregelung (only in German) (PDF, 300 kB, 09.08.2018)

Update: Evaluation of Liability Regulation - Summary (PDF, 781 kB, 09.08.2018)

Pilot study: categorisation of clinical trials

The Human Research Act (HRA) has entailed a number of changes, one of the most important of which is a system for categorising research projects (risk classification). This system closely follows the approach to categorising projects recommended by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and approved by that organisation in 2013. Before the HRA entered into force, the Clinical Trial Unit at the University of Bern conducted a scientific pilot study to test the categorisation approach.
Various countries and regions, including the European Union, are currently working on or implementing new rules for conducting clinical trials. They all take account of the system of categorisation recommended by the OECD. For this reason, the findings of the pilot study are attracting a great deal of international interest.

A pilot test of the new Swiss regulatory procedure for categorizing clinical trials per risk: A randomized controlled trial (PDF, 1 MB, 03.01.2017)

Enforcement by the supervisory authorities before the entry into force of the Human Research Act (HRA)

This departmental research project addresses the impact of the HRA on enforcement by the federal authorities cantonal ethics committees. The project takes the form of a before and after investigation.
INTERFACE Politikstudien Forschung Beratung GmbH examined the situation before the FRA entered into force by analysing data and documents and conducting guided interviews.
The investigation of the situation after entry into force is scheduled for 2017/18.

Analysis of the execution of th research Act (HRA) by the competent authorities before it enters into force – Summary (PDF, 104 kB, 03.01.2017)

Overview of research involving humans in Switzerland

There is still no comprehensive description of research involving humans in Switzerland in its qualitative and quantitative totality. For this reason the Büro für Arbeits- und Sozialpolitische Studien (BASS) research bureau has been commissioned to draw up an overview of human research in Switzerland.

Überblick über die Humanforschung (only in German) (PDF, 1 MB, 03.01.2017)

Legislation

Human research legislation

In Switzerland, research involving humans is governed by the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances. The legislation is primarily designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research.

Last modification 18.04.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/das-bag/ressortforschung-evaluation/forschung-im-bag/forschung-biomedizin/ressortforschungsprojekte-humanforschung.html

Ressortforschungsprojekte Humanforschung

Im Rahmen der sogenannten Ressortforschung im Bereich Humanforschung gibt das BAG Studien zu spezifischen Fragestellungen in Auftrag. Deren Ergebnisse bilden die Grundlage der Gesetzesevaluation. Nachfolgend findet sich eine Übersicht der bisherigen Projekte.

Qualität und Transparenz in der klinischen Forschung

Klar strukturierte und umfassende Studienprotokolle sind eine wesentliche Voraussetzung zur Gewährleistung der Qualität von klinischen Versuchen, insbesondere was die folgenden Aspekte betrifft:

  • Sicherheit und Wohlergehen von teilnehmenden Personen
  • Aussagekraft der gewonnenen Daten
  • Erfolgreiche Durchführung der Studien
  • Glaubwürdigkeit der Ergebnisse

Unvollständige Protokolle können schädliche Folgen für Patienten, Entscheidungsprozesse im Gesundheitswesen, die wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft und die Gesellschaft als Ganzes haben.
Das Ziel des Ressortforschungsprojektes war, bewilligte randomisierte klinische Versuche von 2012 und 2016 (vor und nach Inkraftsetzung des HFG) zu vergleichen. Dabei wurde untersucht, wie sich einerseits die internationale Richtlinie zu Inhalten der Protokolle («SPIRIT») und andererseits das Humanforschungsgesetz auf die Korrektheit und Vollständigkeit der Studienprotokolle auswirkte. Auch betrachtet wurde die Transparenz: es wurde überprüft, wie viele der untersuchten Studien vor deren Beginn in einem Register eingetragen wurden.

Zusammenfassung ASPIRE Bericht (PDF, 575 kB, 19.07.2019)

Full report - ASPIRE study (only in English) (PDF, 503 kB, 19.07.2019)

Statistik und Befragung zur Umsetzung des Schweizer Humanforschungsgesetzes (HFG)

Dieses dreiteilige Ressortforschungsprojekt, welches das BAG in Zusammenarbeit mit swissethics hat durchführen lassen, ermöglicht erstmals eine umfassende quantitative und qualitative Beschreibung der Humanforschungsprojekte und der entsprechenden gesetzlichen Regelungen. Als Basis diente das elektronischen Einreichungssystems BASEC, welches seit anfangs 2016 in Betrieb ist.

Übergreifender Bericht über alle drei Teilprojekte (Statistik, Befragung und Zuständigkeitsabklärungen)

In diesem Teil wurden die wichtigsten Ergebnisse der drei Teilprojekte gesamthaft betrachtet und in den Kontext zueinander gestellt.

Übergreifender Bericht Statistik - Befragung – Zuständigkeitsabklärungen (PDF, 687 kB, 20.06.2019)  

Teilprojekt 1: Beschreibende Statistik der Humanforschungsprojekte

Die in den Jahren 2016 und 2017 bei den kantonalen Ethikkommissionen eingereichten und bewilligten Forschungsprojekte sowie deren Bewilligungsprozesse und Bearbeitungszeiten wurden summarisch sowie nach verschiedenen Eigenschaften unterteilt statistisch beschrieben. Dazu wurden die gesamtschweizerisch einheitlich erfassten, strukturierten Daten des elektronischen Gesuchseinreichesystems der Ethikkommissionen (BASEC) benutzt. Die Statistik wird in den Jahren 2018 bis 2020 wiederholt und erlaubt so die längerfristige Beurteilung der Entwicklung der Humanforschungsprojekte in der Schweiz.

Statistik Humanforschungsprojekte 2016 (nur auf Englisch verfügbar) (PDF, 1 MB, 18.04.2019)

Statistik Humanforschungsprojekte 2017 (nur auf Englisch verfügbar) (PDF, 1 MB, 18.04.2019)

Teilprojekt 2: Befragung der Forschenden zu den Humanforschungsregelungen

Alle Forschenden, welche im Jahre 2017 über BASEC ein Humanforschungsprojekt zur Bewilligung eingereicht hatten, wurden zu Ihrer Einstellung und den Erfahrungen mit den gesetzlichen Regelungen und dem Vollzug durch die zuständigen Behörden (kantonale Ethikkommissionen und Swissmedic) befragt.

Zusammenfassung Befragung (PDF, 104 kB, 15.04.2019)

Hauptbericht Befragung (nur auf Englisch verfügbar) (PDF, 7 MB, 15.07.2019)

Vollständiger Report aller Fragen (nur auf Englisch verfügbar) (PDF, 689 kB, 15.07.2019)

Fragebogen (nur auf Englisch verfügbar) (PDF, 366 kB, 15.04.2019)

Zusätzliche Auswertung ausgewählter Fragen (nur auf Englisch verfügbar) (PDF, 678 kB, 15.04.2019)

Weiteres Arbeitsmaterial (Englisch und Deutsch) (PDF, 142 kB, 15.04.2019)

Teilprojekt 3: Charakteristika von Zuständigkeitsabklärungen

Es wurden Forschende befragt, welche über BASEC sogenannte «Zuständigkeitsabklärungen» bei den kantonalen Ethikkommissionen eingereicht hatten. Durch die Befragung der Forschenden und die Analyse der im Rahmen der Zuständigkeitsabklärungen eingereichten Dokumente konnten Abgrenzungsprobleme und Unsicherheiten der Forschenden im Umgang mit der Humanforschungsregelung identifiziert werden.

Zusammenfassung Zuständigkeitsabklärungen (PDF, 105 kB, 15.04.2019)

Bericht Zuständigkeitsabklärungen inkl. Fragebogen (nur auf Englisch verfügbar) (PDF, 1 MB, 15.04.2019)

Kosten im Zusammenhang mit randomisierten klinischen Versuchen in der Schweiz vor und nach HFG

Wie wirkt sich die Humanforschungsregelung auf die Kosten und Aufwände von randomisierten klinischen Versuchen in der Schweiz aus – dieser Frage widmete sich ein Forschungsteam der Universität Basel im Auftrag des BAG.
Die einzelnen Kostenkomponenten und Zeitaufwände, welche bei der Planung und Durchführung eines klinischen Versuchs anfallen, konnten standardisiert aufgelistet werden. Entstanden ist dabei ein benutzerfreundliches Tool, welches klinisch Forschende bei der Planung und Durchführung ihrer Studie unterstützen kann.
Trotz intensiver Bemühungen war es den Studienautoren nur sehr beschränkt möglich, den aufgelisteten Kostenpunkten Einheitskosten zuzuweisen und die Vorbereitungskosten vor und nach Inkraftsetzung der Humanforschungsregelungen zu vergleichen. Als Gründe hierfür werden ungenügende Informationen zu den klinischen Versuchen, insbesondere was industriefinanzierte Studien betrifft, sowie Datenschutzgründe vorgebracht.
Die Studienautoren stellen eine Diskrepanz zwischen den Berichten zu sehr hohen Kosten von randomisierten klinischen Versuchen und dem Mangel an transparenter und valider Evidenz zum Thema fest. Die Benutzung von Arbeitshilfen und Tools zur besseren Planung und Überwachung der Kosten und Aufwände von klinischen Versuchen wird dringend empfohlen.

Zusammenfassung Kosten klinische Studien (PDF, 168 kB, 31.01.2019)

Final report costs clinical trials (in Englisch) (PDF, 1 MB, 31.01.2019)

Publikation Speich et al 2019, PLOSone (in Englisch) (PDF, 639 kB, 16.05.2019)

Tabelle zur Planung und Überwachung der Kosten und Aufwände von klinischen Versuchen
(copyright B. Speich et al, 2019, PLOSone),  in Englisch

Wissensstand und Haltung der Allgemeinbevölkerung zur Humanforschung und deren Regelungen

Am 7. März 2010 hat die Schweizer Bevölkerung den Verfassungsartikel zur Forschung am Menschen mit einer deutlichen Mehrheit von 77,2% Ja-Stimmen angenommen. Den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern war es also wichtig, die Forschung am Menschen bundesweit zu regeln. Allerdings zeigten Umfragen im Nachgang zu dieser Abstimmung, dass das Wissen über Inhalt und Zweck dieser bundesweiten Regelungen nicht bei allen Stimmbürgern in ausreichendem Masse vorhanden war. Wie es aktuell, sprich acht Jahre nach der genannten Abstimmung, um den Wissensstand und die Einstellung der Bevölkerung über die Humanforschung und ihren gesetzlichen Regelungen steht, ist Inhalt dieser Studie. Von März bis Mai 2018 wurde die Bevölkerung zu ihrer Meinung dazu befragt. Ziel war herauszufinden, wie viel die Bürgerinnen und Bürger über die Forschung am Menschen in der Schweiz wissen, ob sie sich ausreichend durch die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen geschützt fühlen und ob sie bereit wären, an Forschungsprojekten teilzunehmen.

Zusammenfassung: Wissensstand und Haltung der Allgemeinbevölkerung zur Humanforschung und deren Regelungen (PDF, 264 kB, 15.10.2018)

Schlussbericht zur Bevölkerungsbefragung im Auftrag des BAG (PDF, 482 kB, 15.10.2018)

Reglementierung von Biobanken und Gesundheitsdatenbanken in Europa: rechtsvergleichende Studie

«Der Bericht ist eine rechtsvergleichende Studie zu Biobanken und Gesundheitsdatenbanken in Europa. Er erläutert die in bestimmten europäischen Staaten geltende Gesetzgebung und internationale Rechtstexte, wie die Erklärung von Taipei oder die Regelwerke der Europäischen Union und des Europarats. Um Vergleiche ziehen zu können, befasst er sich mit spezifischen Themen in diesem Bereich, so zum Beispiel mit der Governance von Biobanken, dem Teilnehmer- und Datenschutz oder mit den Aufsichtsbehörden. Das Hauptziel der Studie ist, einen Überblick über die von den verschiedenen Staaten gewählten Systeme sowie über deren Vor- und Nachteile zu erhalten.»

Reglementierung von Biobanken und Gesundheitsdatenbanken in Europa (Nur in Französisch) (PDF, 1 MB, 02.10.2018)

Umsetzung der Vorgaben zur Weiterverwendung von biologischem Material und Daten

Sollen Daten oder biologisches Material, welche bei der Behandlung von Krankheiten oder in Forschungsprojekten angefallen - also bereits vorhanden – sind, zu Forschungszwecken weiterverwendet werden, sind bestimmte Vorgaben des Humanforschungsgesetzes (HFG) zu beachten. So müssen beispielsweise Personen, von denen die Daten oder Proben stammen, dieser Weitverwendung zugestimmt haben und Forschungsprojekte, in denen diese Daten und Proben verwendet werden, müssen durch eine Ethikkommission bewilligt werden. Im Rahmen des Ressortforschungsprojekts wurde untersucht, wie Forschende und Bewilligungsbehörden die Vorgaben des HFG umsetzen, wie aufwändig die Umsetzung ist, und welche Auswirkungen auf die Weiterverwendungsforschung zu verzeichnen sind.

Weiterverwendung von biologischem Material und Daten (PDF, 1 MB, 12.07.2018)

Weiterverwendung von biologischem Material und Daten - Zusammenfassung (PDF, 357 kB, 12.07.2018)

Linguistische Analyse zur «Verständlichkeit» in der Humanforschung

Die aufgeklärte Einwilligung der angefragten Personen zählt zu den unumgänglichen Grundvoraussetzungen für deren Einbezug in die Forschung. Damit diese Einwilligung gültig sein kann, muss die Aufklärung «in verständlicher Form» (Art. 16 HFG) erfolgen. Die formale Anforderung, dass alle Informations- und Aufklärungsdokumente für die Teilnehmenden verständlich sein müssen, ist deshalb ein fundamental bedeutsamer Aspekt der Humanforschung. Das Ressortforschungsprojekt untersucht aus linguistischer Sicht, wie die Verständlichkeitsvorgabe von Forschenden und Prüfbehörden umgesetzt wird.
Das Projekt besteht aus folgenden Modulen:
1. Auf der Grundlage eines Übersichtsberichtes zur vorhandenen Forschungsliteratur wurde ein methodisches Konzept («Verständlichkeitsmodell») als Basis der Analysearbeit in den Folgeteilprojekten entwickelt.
2. Als Fallstudie wurde die «Vorlage Generalkonsent 2017/1» der SAMW und swissethics auf deren Verständlichkeit hin untersucht.
3. Ethikkommissionen müssen Aufklärungsdokumente auf ihre Verständlichkeit überprüfen. Das dritte Modul zeigt bei drei ausgewählten Ethikkommissionen, welche Verständlichkeitsauffassungen dieser Überprüfung zugrunde liegen,
4. Forschende müssen Personen, die sich überlegen, an einem Forschungsprojekt teilzunehmen, aufklären. Das vierte Teilprojekt untersucht die Konzepte und Vorgehensweisen von Forschenden bei der Aufklärung.   

Zusammenfassung Verständlichkeit Informed Consent (PDF, 302 kB, 15.04.2019)

Verständlichkeitsstudie Informed Consent (PDF, 4 MB, 01.09.2016)

Verständlichkeitsstudie Generalkonsent (PDF, 4 MB, 21.06.2018)

Verständlichkeit von schriftlicher Aufklärung: Auffassungen und Strategien von Ethikkommissionen (PDF, 788 kB, 26.03.2019)

Informed-Consent-Aufklärung aus Sicht der Forschenden (PDF, 445 kB, 18.04.2019)

Aus den Erkenntnissen dieser vier Projekte sollen nun in einem nächsten Schritt Massnahmen abgeleitet werden, die die Verständlichkeit weiter verbessern.     

Schadens- und Haftungsregeln in der Humanforschung

Bereits kurz nach Inkrafttreten des Humanforschungsgesetzes (HFG) wurde im Nationalrat eine Motion eingereicht, die eine Gesetzesanpassung mit einer Umkehr der Beweislast zugunsten der Versuchsperson forderte. Gemäss Motion sollte nicht mehr die Versuchsperson den Beweis für den Zusammenhang des Forschungsvorgehens mit der erlittenen Schädigung erbringen müssen, sondern der Studiensponsor hätte das Fehlen eines Zusammenhangs zwischen der Schädigung und der Forschungsintervention zu beweisen.
Um sich einen Überblick über die Rechtslage und die praktische Relevanz der Haftungsaspekte zu verschaffen, hat das BAG die asim (Swiss Academy of Insurance Medicine) am Universitätsspital Basel (USB) beauftragt, die Fragen der Haftungsregelung in der Praxis zu untersuchen und dabei insbesondere auch die Thematik der Beweislast in einem internationalen Vergleich zu betrachten.

Humanforschungsgesetz: Evaluation Haftungsregelung (PDF, 337 kB, 10.01.2017)

Humanforschungsgesetz: Evaluation Haftungsregelung - Zusammenfassung (PDF, 220 kB, 11.07.2017)

Update: Evaluation Haftungsregelung (PDF, 300 kB, 09.08.2018)

Update: Evaluation Haftungsregelung - Zusammenfassung (PDF, 104 kB, 09.08.2018)

Pilotstudie: Kategorisierung von klinischen Versuchen

Das Humanforschungsgesetz (HFG) brachte einige Änderungen mit sich. Eine der wichtigsten Neuerungen ist die Kategorisierung (Risikoeinstufung) von Forschungsprojekten. Diese Kategorisierung lehnt sich stark an das von der Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) empfohlene Kategorisierungskonzept aus dem Jahr 2013 an. Vor Inkrafttreten des HFG wurde das Konzept der Kategorisierung von der Clinical Trial Unit der Universität Bern mittels einer wissenschaftlichen Studie, einer sogenannten Pilotstudie, getestet.
Diverse Regionen und Länder – darunter die Europäische Union – erarbeiten oder führen zurzeit neue Vorschriften zur Durchführung klinischer Versuche ein. Sie alle berücksichtigen dabei das von der OECD empfohlene Kategorisierungskonzept. Die Erkenntnisse aus der Pilotstudie finden aus diesem Grund grosse internationale Beachtung.

A pilot test of the new Swiss regulatory procedure for categorizing clinical trials per risk (PDF, 1 MB, 03.01.2017)

Vollzug der Prüfbehörden vor Inkrafttreten des Humanforschungsgesetzes (HFG)

Dieses Ressortforschungsprojekt befasst sich mit den Auswirkungen des HFG auf den Vollzug durch die Behörden des Bundes und die kantonalen Ethikkommissionen. Das Projekt basiert auf einer Vorher-Nachher-Untersuchung.
Für die Vorher-Untersuchung wurde die Ist-Situation vor Inkrafttreten des HFG durch die INTERFACE Politikstudien Forschung Beratung GmbH erfasst. Hierzu wurden Daten und Dokumente analysiert und leitfadengestützte Interviews geführt.
Die Nachher-Untersuchung soll im 2017/18 durchgeführt werden.

Ist-Analyse des Vollzugs der Prüfbehörden vor Inkrafttreten des Humanforschungsgesetzes (PDF, 551 kB, 11.07.2017)

Ist-Analyse des Vollzugs der Prüfbehörden vor Inkrafttreten des Humanforschungsgesetzes - Zusammenfassung (PDF, 95 kB, 03.01.2017)

Überblick über die Humanforschung in der Schweiz

Die Humanforschung in der Schweiz ist in ihrer qualitativen und quantitativen Gesamtheit nur unvollständig beschrieben. Aus diesem Grund wurde das Büro für Arbeits- und Sozialpolitische Studien (BASS) beauftragt, einen Überblick über die Humanforschung in der Schweiz zu erarbeiten. 

Überblick über die Humanforschung in der Schweiz (PDF, 1 MB, 03.01.2017)

Gesetze

Gesetzgebung Forschung am Menschen

Das Humanforschungsgesetz und seine ausführenden Verordnungen regeln die Forschung am Menschen in der Schweiz. Hauptzweck der Gesetzgebung ist es, die Würde, Persönlichkeit und Gesundheit des Menschen in der Forschung zu schützen.

Kosten im Zusammenhang mit randomisierten klinischen Versuchen in der Schweiz vor und nach HFG

Wie wirkt sich die Humanforschungsregelung auf die Kosten und Aufwände von randomisierten klinischen Versuchen in der Schweiz aus – dieser Frage widmete sich ein Forschungsteam der Universität Basel im Auftrag des BAG.
Die einzelnen Kostenkomponenten und Zeitaufwände, welche bei der Planung und Durchführung eines klinischen Versuchs anfallen, konnten standardisiert aufgelistet werden. Entstanden ist dabei ein benutzerfreundliches Tool, welches klinisch Forschende bei der Planung und Durchführung ihrer Studie unterstützen kann.
Trotz intensiver Bemühungen war es den Studienautoren nur sehr beschränkt möglich, den aufgelisteten Kostenpunkten Einheitskosten zuzuweisen und die Vorbereitungskosten vor und nach Inkraftsetzung der Humanforschungsregelungen zu vergleichen. Als Gründe hierfür werden ungenügende Informationen zu den klinischen Versuchen, insbesondere was industriefinanzierte Studien betrifft, sowie Datenschutzgründe vorgebracht.
Die Studienautoren stellen eine Diskrepanz zwischen den Berichten zu sehr hohen Kosten von randomisierten klinischen Versuchen und dem Mangel an transparenter und valider Evidenz zum Thema fest. Die Benutzung von Arbeitshilfen und Tools zur besseren Planung und Überwachung der Kosten und Aufwände von klinischen Versuchen wird dringend empfohlen.

Zusammenfassung Kosten klinische Studien (PDF, 168 kB, 31.01.2019)

Final report costs clinical trials (nur in Englisch) (PDF, 1 MB, 31.01.2019)

Letzte Änderung 19.07.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Forschung am Menschen
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/das-bag/ressortforschung-evaluation/forschung-im-bag/forschung-biomedizin/ressortforschungsprojekte-humanforschung.html